We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming but not dog friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Normandy Inn

Save Saved
You added Normandy Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Normandy Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   Ocean Ave. between Monte Verde St. and Casanova St., Carmel, CA 93923   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Charming but not dog friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The Normandy Inn is quaint and in a great location. We only stayed one night, but found it to be very charming and comfortable. The location is perfect. You can easily walk to the beach as well as all the shops and restaurants.
The only things I found to be a turn off were, there are signs everywhere saying no dogs. I realize they do not allow pets but why do they need signs on every gate and in the office saying no dogs? Carmel is very dog friendly and although I respect their right to not allow pets at their Inn, I think it comes across as very cold and a little rude.
Next was a tip cup in the breakfast room. I have worked in the service industry for 12 years and I understand wanting to be tipped. However, this is not a full service restaurant. In fact, it's all self service. Seeing a tip cup on the counter seemed tacky and desperate like they aren't paying their staff enough.
Overall, our brief stay was comfortable and affordable!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    120
    39
    20
    12
See reviews for
39
179
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Carmel by the Sea is a lovely town and the Normandy Inn is centrally located between downtown and the ocean. Everything in Carmel is within an easy walking distance. Nice breakfast, free parking, coffee/tea and sherry available in the afternoon before a fire. You couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: We enjoyed Room 320, it is on the second floor with a view of the pool and if you stretch, you can s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgehampton
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Normandy Inn is a charming, funky kind of property almost in the center of town on Ocean Avenue. The rooms are a little dated in that the shower heads are low and the furnature is mostly made of wood, but everything is clean and comfortable. The hotel goes this way and that, up and down stairs - which is part of its unpredictable charm, and all of this wraps around a center parking lot, which is limited in size, meaning parking can be an issue. We had to park on the street and that was limited to one that allowed parking 24 hours a day. Lucky for us a space was easily obtained but I can imagine this could be a challenge on a nice summer evening. The innkeepers here were all very helpful and friendly, and breakfast, which is self-served homemade muffins, cereal, fruit, juice and coffee, is put out for the Inn's parons in it's own breakfast room. This worked VERY well. A note of caution - we drove up to Carmel from Southern California and programmed our GPS the best we could since Carmel doesn't use numbers on their streets. The address we used confused our GPS and we got lost in a residential area on streets with no lights. Calling the front desk got us back on track, but not without some angst. We still say it's worth the challenge and would stay here again. Note: It's a VERY short drive to the entrance to Pebble Beach's 17-mile drive!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Great location centrally located by a short walk from beach and center of town. Wonderful value for the money. We left our iPhone charger in room and they sent back to us, got it next day. We will certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corner Brook, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We had 2 nights here in mid-December when Carmel was resplendent in Christmas lights and oodles of charm. We loved the town and thoroughly enjoyed the Normandy Inn. It is an older property, as evidenced by the bathroom shower head which was at the 5 foot level. But the property shows signs of updating which is important. The room was large, well laid out and with all the amenities necessary for comfort. The small heater was a huge benefit when the temperatures were close to freezing.

The included breakfast was offered in the small breakfast room, but it was cold there that time of the year, so we took breakfast to our room. There was sufficient choice to be more than adequate for breakfast.

Parking was free and easy, although in high season it might be tight. Many rooms were empty when we visited.

The whole atmosphere of the property is European, and that works well in Carmel where the entire town seems to have been lifted out of England in Victorian times. "Charming" is the word which comes quickly to mind.

Would we stay there again. Definitely! It was priced well, maintained with care and had friendly staff. What more could one ask?

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This was a great place to stay because you can walk everywhere. They even have a parking lot.
The rooms need to be updated but they are adequate because of the location. You are only 3 blocks from the beach and 3 blocks from the center of shopping in Carmel, Ca.

They serve coffee and breakfast in the morning as well as wine in the evening Staff is extremely nice and accommodating.

Room Tip: Try and stay away from pool Rooms have a musty smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

An incredible little spot in Carmel...with a convenient location right on the main drag.

Rooms were clean, staff was attentive, and our only regret was that we only had one night there.

Fireplace in the room was an awesome added touch.

We will definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to Normandy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Inn

Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Carmel
Normandy Hotel
Normandy Inn Carmel
Address: Ocean Ave. between Monte Verde St. and Casanova St., Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#16 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Normandy Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Normandy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Normandy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.