We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable little hotel on Ocean Avenue in Carmel, Ca” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Normandy Inn

Save Saved
You added Normandy Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Normandy Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   Ocean Ave. between Monte Verde St. and Casanova St., Carmel, CA 93923   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 21 hotels in Carmel
San Mateo, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Adorable little hotel on Ocean Avenue in Carmel, Ca”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This was a great place to stay because you can walk everywhere. They even have a parking lot.
The rooms need to be updated but they are adequate because of the location. You are only 3 blocks from the beach and 3 blocks from the center of shopping in Carmel, Ca.

They serve coffee and breakfast in the morning as well as wine in the evening Staff is extremely nice and accommodating.

Room Tip: Try and stay away from pool Rooms have a musty smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    130
    43
    24
    12
See reviews for
42
200
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

An incredible little spot in Carmel...with a convenient location right on the main drag.

Rooms were clean, staff was attentive, and our only regret was that we only had one night there.

Fireplace in the room was an awesome added touch.

We will definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I have been coming here for years. This last trip was a big disappointment. The room was very moldy. I had allergic symptoms including night sweats, sneezing, sleep disturbance and stuffy nose. The walls are paper thin, you can hear your neighbor coughing, snoring and if your neighbors tv is on you may as well turn yours on without sound. We booked the special two months in advance and received rooms over the garbage. At 6:00AM, the garbage trucks came and we were up with them. The decor is worn in the rooms and the lobby. The bathroom is old and worn. The maids didn't replace used glasses with clean ones. The internet was very slow. This used to be a charming place, not too expensive. At $170 per night for the standard room with all of the issues, especially the mold, it is not worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
placerville,ca
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This lovely Inn is in a wonderful location, just three blocks from the beach and one block from all the unique shops and restaurants. It is located on the main road of the Village "Ocean Ave." and it couldn't be in a better spot. I think it is one of the most charming Inns in the area. Uniquely built and decorated with old world charm. We chose a room upstairs with a fireplace near the breakfast room. We accessed it by a spiral staircase (cute), where hanging baskets of flowers lined the walkway to our room (beautiful!). The room wasn't big, nor the bathroom, but they were charming and cozy, well decorated and spotless! There are hanging flowers everywhere, and the grounds are just lovely! There is a pool but we didn't use it due to the time of year we stayed here, but it was sparkling clean and tempting! My husband and I will be coming back here...I think often:)

Room Tip: We will be trying other rooms when we come back, just for fun. But the room we stayed in this time w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We spent one night and it was perfect for what we needed. Definietly an older property and rather higglty pigglty but that is part of the charm. We had a second floor room which meant lugging heavy suitcases up the stairs but the sun poured in our windows and it was very quiet. The location is perfect for strolling the streets and walking to the beach. Would Definietly reccomend.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

I gave this hotel 2 stars because of its location and the pretty flowers on site. The front desk staff was robotic. She recited and didn't look at me once, let alone smile. Time to retire! There is a reason that management does not supply photos of the bathrooms - looks like they haven't been updated since the seventies. The beds are too soft and they need new sheets! Breakfast was ok. I wouldn't stay there again... :-(

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This motel was was everything we expected. The grounds have many flowers and the place is simply charming. The front desk staff was helpful and sent us to a good restaurant for lunch, not overpriced and good food.

Parking can be a problem if you have a larger vehicle but again the front desk came to our rescue. There appeared to be plenty of street parking. Everything is a hike due to Carmel's hilly location. It should be fine if you're in reasonably good shape.

We enjoyed the library with the perks of sherry, fresh coffee and cookies. The continental breakfast was another plus and there were plenty of choices: bananas, apples, hard boiled eggs, bagels, pastry, juice. The room had a coffee maker but we didn't use it.

There was a very small pool and I believe it was heated, but never saw anyone using it. I would definitely recommend the Normandy Inn.

One thing about Carmel is that the town shuts down early, about 7 pm. No street lighting.
However, restaurants were still open but not the shops.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Normandy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Inn

Address: Ocean Ave. between Monte Verde St. and Casanova St., Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Normandy Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Travelocity so you can book your Normandy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Carmel
Normandy Inn Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Normandy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;