We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Normandy Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Normandy Inn to your Saves list
Normandy Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   Ocean Ave. between Monte Verde St. and Casanova St., Carmel, CA 93923   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“French charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

It was excellent experience - very decent price for the location, charming place with personal touch of the owner, clean nicely decorated rooms - just charming!
Fresh simple breakfast in the nice breakfast room filled with french music - it makes your morning
special and romantic...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    151
    51
    24
    13
See reviews for
51
232
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Have stayed at the Normandy Inn many times; always a great getaway. Quaint, very well maintained buildings. Some rooms with fireplaces. The lobby has a fireplace and the adjoining library is a quiet place to read or have coffee. WiFi is available in the lobby and library. Within walking distance of the Carmel shops and art galleries as well as Carmel Beach with its glorious sunsets. Staff is always very helpful and the rooms are kept very clean. Grounds are beautifully maintained with flowers and hanging baskets everywhere.

Room Tip: The "vanity" rooms have a small extra room with a built in dressing table, extra sink and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed in a duplex cottage, which was built in the 1920's. I enjoyed the unique architecture and clean room. However, the walls are thin and we were at the mercy of the inhabitants of the adjoining room. Unfortunately, they were very noisy but the management was helpful. Like everyone else, we headed for the beach to watch the sunset, and it was only a few blocks down a rather steep street to the white sand beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

After staying one night at a chain hotel in Carmel, we cancelled the remaining two nights there and booked a night at the Normandy Inn. We stayed in one of the cottages and it was huge. There were three bedrooms, two full bathrooms, a very large living room and an attached dining area, a kitchen, and a back patio. The continental breakfast was good, though I recommend that you get there early. Location was fabulous. The property gardens were attractive and nicely kept. Parking was wonderful compared to the cramped spaces at the chain hotel. I plan to come back some day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Normandy Inn is an old building that is well maintained, lots of foliage and flowers, steps going up and steps going down. Room 319 was very basic, yet clean, probably recently painted, nice windows and shades, the bathroom long and narrow and also well maintained. The swimming pool was right outside the room. Water was clear, heated, no one was swimming. Too bad, it looked nice. WiFi was only in the lobby, not in the rooms. Continental breakfast was just as basic as the room. Very limited selection, small dining area, but clean and neat. The hotel is right on the edge of downtown shopping and restaurants. It's also on a slope so exercise walking 'up' to the shops is a built in feature. Price was reasonable and on par with other lodging. The Normandy did not impress me as a romantic destination, but rather a travel and goofing off destination. I would recommend the Normandy.

Room Tip: WiFi in lobby only, not in rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

One of the nicest places I have ever stayed at. Everything was great. Bed was super comfortable. Close to the beach and shopping. Room very large and very clean. I didnt make a reservation and happened upon it and it was the cheapest room of my whole 2 week vacation and the nicest.

Room Tip: Ask for the cottages. about 10 a day more bet huge and well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My friends and I stayed at the Normandy Inn and were very happy with the hotel and its location. Some reviews say the rooms need updating, but I think they are quite fine. Carmel is not about new and fancy - it's cozy and charming and so is the Normandy Inn.

The rooms were very clean, the breakfast was quite good, and the Inn is in walking distance to the ocean, shops, and restaurants.

This hotel does not allow animals (most hotels in Carmel are very pet friendly) - since one of my friends has allergies to pets, this was the perfect choice.

Room Tip: For a quiet room ask for a room on the 2nd floor in the back of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Normandy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Inn

Address: Ocean Ave. between Monte Verde St. and Casanova St., Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Normandy Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TravelClick so you can book your Normandy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Carmel
Normandy Inn Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Normandy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.