We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Normandy Inn

Save Saved
You added Normandy Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Normandy Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   Ocean Ave. between Monte Verde St. and Casanova St., Carmel, CA 93923   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 21 hotels in Carmel
USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

After staying one night at a chain hotel in Carmel, we cancelled the remaining two nights there and booked a night at the Normandy Inn. We stayed in one of the cottages and it was huge. There were three bedrooms, two full bathrooms, a very large living room and an attached dining area, a kitchen, and a back patio. The continental breakfast was good, though I recommend that you get there early. Location was fabulous. The property gardens were attractive and nicely kept. Parking was wonderful compared to the cramped spaces at the chain hotel. I plan to come back some day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    130
    43
    24
    12
See reviews for
42
199
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Normandy Inn is an old building that is well maintained, lots of foliage and flowers, steps going up and steps going down. Room 319 was very basic, yet clean, probably recently painted, nice windows and shades, the bathroom long and narrow and also well maintained. The swimming pool was right outside the room. Water was clear, heated, no one was swimming. Too bad, it looked nice. WiFi was only in the lobby, not in the rooms. Continental breakfast was just as basic as the room. Very limited selection, small dining area, but clean and neat. The hotel is right on the edge of downtown shopping and restaurants. It's also on a slope so exercise walking 'up' to the shops is a built in feature. Price was reasonable and on par with other lodging. The Normandy did not impress me as a romantic destination, but rather a travel and goofing off destination. I would recommend the Normandy.

Room Tip: WiFi in lobby only, not in rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

One of the nicest places I have ever stayed at. Everything was great. Bed was super comfortable. Close to the beach and shopping. Room very large and very clean. I didnt make a reservation and happened upon it and it was the cheapest room of my whole 2 week vacation and the nicest.

Room Tip: Ask for the cottages. about 10 a day more bet huge and well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My friends and I stayed at the Normandy Inn and were very happy with the hotel and its location. Some reviews say the rooms need updating, but I think they are quite fine. Carmel is not about new and fancy - it's cozy and charming and so is the Normandy Inn.

The rooms were very clean, the breakfast was quite good, and the Inn is in walking distance to the ocean, shops, and restaurants.

This hotel does not allow animals (most hotels in Carmel are very pet friendly) - since one of my friends has allergies to pets, this was the perfect choice.

Room Tip: For a quiet room ask for a room on the 2nd floor in the back of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Arrived in carmel and just came across this lovely place by chance. We were greeted by a very helpful lady in reception who gladly showed us one of many bungaloes situated all on one level in Ocean street. We were four, so we took two. They were spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Free breakfast and sherry in the evening made for a lovely stay and i can highly recommend the place.

Room Tip: Take seperate chalets as opposed to the building with two floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Three of us stayed in the Normandy Inn for a night. One thing I have to say right off the bat, is that I thought it was very backward and strange that this hotel states on their website that they don't answer emails, and that you must call them to book.
The buildings are very prettily painted, and the gardens are well kept. The location couldn't be better - right on the main street of Carmel - close to the beach and to the shops.
The price for the room isn't too bad, but the room we stayed in badly needed updating. The size of the room was great! It had a kitchen area with refrigerator, microwave and was fitted out with utensils, dishes and pots. There was a table for eating, then a living room with a sofa bed and television. There was a separate bedroom with a queen size bed. The bathroom was very oddly laid out with a dressing table area when you first walked in (nice to have) then the toilet, and crammed next to the toilet was the sink. I always felt like I would drop one of my items into the toilet! Then the shower after the sink. It was a long, narrow bathroom and was inside the bedroom, so that whomever slept on the sofa bed in the living room had to come into the bedroom to use the bathroom - - not very private.
The bedroom needed many more outlets. There was an oddly placed outlet right inside the bedroom door, high up on the wall where you'd normally find the light switch, but it wasn't near a table or a mirror so that it could be used. There were mirrored closet doors, but no outlet near the mirror and very poor lighting in the bedroom so that you couldn't really use the mirrors to get ready in the morning. (i.e. - use a hair dryer or put on your make up) Every good hotel should have a mirror, outside of the bathroom, with very good lighting RIGHT ABOVE the mirror, so that more than one person can get ready at the same time in the morning. Some updating of the rooms could make this hotel much nicer.
Continental breakfast was included, but it was very limited in choice. It was like a breakfast you'd get at a Comfort Inn - only dry cereal, toast, a few pastries, juice, coffee, and a bowl of whole oranges and apples. It would be nice if they had cut up fruit salad, as many hotels do, and a few more food choices.
The staff was neither nasty nor friendly - they just did their job. They were very matter of fact and didn't smile much or make one feel very welcome. But as I say, they weren't mean in any way either. They just attended to business.

Room Tip: Ask if they have any updated rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stopped in Carmel for a night on our trip on the California 1 and I got a good deal as a AAA member.
It is right in the center of Carmel by the sea, very nice and clean room, no air conditioning, but the temperature goes low at night so there was no need.
Typical breakfast in the morning, and parking inside included: considering the prices in Carmel it was a good combination of price and quality.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Normandy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Inn

Address: Ocean Ave. between Monte Verde St. and Casanova St., Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Normandy Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Travelocity so you can book your Normandy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Carmel
Normandy Inn Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Normandy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.