We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Normandy Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Normandy Inn to your Saves list
Normandy Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   Ocean Ave. between Monte Verde St. and Casanova St., Carmel, CA 93923   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stopped in Carmel for a night on our trip on the California 1 and I got a good deal as a AAA member.
It is right in the center of Carmel by the sea, very nice and clean room, no air conditioning, but the temperature goes low at night so there was no need.
Typical breakfast in the morning, and parking inside included: considering the prices in Carmel it was a good combination of price and quality.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marconap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Jose, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stumbled upon this little French style place, the front desk manager (mike?) was very kind and professional, the bad weather was totally made up by the warm rooms and lovely little cottage. Rooms are bit old but very clean, lines are top notch, absolutely loved the pillow. A dream weeken.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minstrely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Loved staying here again. Normandy is such a cute property rooms are nicely appointed. The grounds are landscaped beautifully and very reasonable prices for Carmel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Just wish the property would allow dogs in this very very pet friendly resort village. You can't be The Normandy Inn or Carmel By The Sea for Charm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Normandy Inn was the perfect get away inn for me. The location really can't be beat - you are within walking distance to all the charming shops and restaurants in this most pleasant town, including just 3 blocks from the beach (be aware of a very steep hill).
While the Inn is old, they have done an adequate job of maintaining it so that you have everything you need in the bright rooms with plantation shutters. The pool is delightful, breakfast just ok, but to me location is everything.
Try the Merlot Bistro next door for a nice, relatively inexpensive dinner.
I was fortunate to stay right after a big event and just prior to Labor Day and got a super Senior rate.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vickie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Directly on the main road leading to the beach and restaurants. The Normandy Inn was a nice place to stay. The room was very clean and quiet. This was one of 7 places we stayed at on a trip throughout California. The Normandy Inn was a very relaxing hotel/bed and breakfast feeling place. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank endlessummer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed 3 days at the Normandy inn. It's like a bed and breakfast. We stayed in a suite. It stands individually. No neighboring walls but we can hear people walking by as the walls are thin and we are next to the lobby. Clean room and bathroom. The comforter on the bed is very thin for this climate. We had the heater on and still used both blankets. Very uncomfortable pillows so if you are particular bring your own. We had a little kitchenette with microwave and a empty mini fridge so we stored our stuff in it. The breakfast is adequate. Bagels and cream cheese, instant oatmeal, cereal, hard boiled eggs and fruit. You serve yourself. There's also coffee and tea. The design of the place is rambling. You go up the stairs then down then up again. But with all the flowers around its charming. The best part is the location. Right between shopping and the beach. You can walk to both. There isn't room service in case you want to order in. Also parking very limited. We had to search for parking on the street. Overall I'm pleased because the town is so beautiful that we just came back in to sleep

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here en route down south. Carmel is nothing that spectacular but this place is super quaint, especially the receptionist with her cat mr Tuffy! Go there for something quirky and fun.
The rooms are clean and the beds are really comfy, and generally a safe pair of hands to stay at.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLRjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#17 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,392 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#6 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#2 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Inn

Address: Ocean Ave. between Monte Verde St. and Casanova St., Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#15 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Normandy Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into a corner of Carmel-by-the-Sea and surrounded by blooming flower gardens The Normandy Inn is a beautiful experience. The historic Normandy Inn exudes Old World European charm and is located just three blocks from the white-sand Carmel Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelClick and Travelocity so you can book your Normandy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Carmel
Normandy Inn Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing