We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value - worth checking out!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Normandy Inn

Save Saved
You added Normandy Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Normandy Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   Ocean Ave. between Monte Verde St. and Casanova St., Carmel, CA 93923   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Fairfield, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great value - worth checking out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Normandy Inn was the perfect get away inn for me. The location really can't be beat - you are within walking distance to all the charming shops and restaurants in this most pleasant town, including just 3 blocks from the beach (be aware of a very steep hill).
While the Inn is old, they have done an adequate job of maintaining it so that you have everything you need in the bright rooms with plantation shutters. The pool is delightful, breakfast just ok, but to me location is everything.
Try the Merlot Bistro next door for a nice, relatively inexpensive dinner.
I was fortunate to stay right after a big event and just prior to Labor Day and got a super Senior rate.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    130
    44
    24
    12
See reviews for
43
201
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Directly on the main road leading to the beach and restaurants. The Normandy Inn was a nice place to stay. The room was very clean and quiet. This was one of 7 places we stayed at on a trip throughout California. The Normandy Inn was a very relaxing hotel/bed and breakfast feeling place. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 days at the Normandy inn. It's like a bed and breakfast. We stayed in a suite. It stands individually. No neighboring walls but we can hear people walking by as the walls are thin and we are next to the lobby. Clean room and bathroom. The comforter on the bed is very thin for this climate. We had the heater on and still used both blankets. Very uncomfortable pillows so if you are particular bring your own. We had a little kitchenette with microwave and a empty mini fridge so we stored our stuff in it. The breakfast is adequate. Bagels and cream cheese, instant oatmeal, cereal, hard boiled eggs and fruit. You serve yourself. There's also coffee and tea. The design of the place is rambling. You go up the stairs then down then up again. But with all the flowers around its charming. The best part is the location. Right between shopping and the beach. You can walk to both. There isn't room service in case you want to order in. Also parking very limited. We had to search for parking on the street. Overall I'm pleased because the town is so beautiful that we just came back in to sleep

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here en route down south. Carmel is nothing that spectacular but this place is super quaint, especially the receptionist with her cat mr Tuffy! Go there for something quirky and fun.
The rooms are clean and the beds are really comfy, and generally a safe pair of hands to stay at.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here for first time upon recommendation of wife's brother - who has stayed here 5 or 6 times. We would definitely return. We had a cottage with fireplace - The Normandy is well located on the main street in the center of town - close to the beach, restaurants and (wine) bars. We did not take advantage of the comp breakfast buffet but it looked pretty good - seating limited though. All in all we really liked it and will go back the next time we return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Country, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Great hotel in the middle of Carmel-by-the-Sea. We stayed in one of the cottages and were not disappointed. We enjoyed a very comfortable king-size bed with pillow-top and extremely cozy pillows. The cottage has a full kitchen and a wonderful separate eating area. We also enjoyed a fireplace each night with provided logs. Only negative was the tiny bathroom but we are willing to over-look that as we completely enjoyed the rest of the cottage. Fabulous!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Good location, just 4 short blocks from the beach on central Ocean avenue.
Parking is rather small can't accommodate all cars.
Staff is friendly and helpful.
Breakfast is continental, don't expect anything.
Complementary Coffee and Sherry is always in reception area to comfort you.
Room with small siting area and desk was nice and clean.
Swing pool was closed due to renovation.
Overpriced? - Yes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Normandy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Inn

Address: Ocean Ave. between Monte Verde St. and Casanova St., Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Normandy Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Normandy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Carmel
Normandy Inn Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Normandy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.