We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Normandy Inn

Save Saved
You added Normandy Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Normandy Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   Ocean Ave. between Monte Verde St. and Casanova St., Carmel, CA 93923   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Very Nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here for first time upon recommendation of wife's brother - who has stayed here 5 or 6 times. We would definitely return. We had a cottage with fireplace - The Normandy is well located on the main street in the center of town - close to the beach, restaurants and (wine) bars. We did not take advantage of the comp breakfast buffet but it looked pretty good - seating limited though. All in all we really liked it and will go back the next time we return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    130
    44
    24
    12
See reviews for
43
201
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canyon Country, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Great hotel in the middle of Carmel-by-the-Sea. We stayed in one of the cottages and were not disappointed. We enjoyed a very comfortable king-size bed with pillow-top and extremely cozy pillows. The cottage has a full kitchen and a wonderful separate eating area. We also enjoyed a fireplace each night with provided logs. Only negative was the tiny bathroom but we are willing to over-look that as we completely enjoyed the rest of the cottage. Fabulous!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Good location, just 4 short blocks from the beach on central Ocean avenue.
Parking is rather small can't accommodate all cars.
Staff is friendly and helpful.
Breakfast is continental, don't expect anything.
Complementary Coffee and Sherry is always in reception area to comfort you.
Room with small siting area and desk was nice and clean.
Swing pool was closed due to renovation.
Overpriced? - Yes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Don't expect anything very nice. Lumpy pillows, no comforters in duvets, no modern flat screen TV, and a stated queen bed that is actually only a double. Bugs in bed. Dirty doors that stick to your hands when you touch them. Shower heads placed for short people. Low grade linens that smell like bleach. Sparse furniture in a "3 bedroom" common area that is uncomfortable and impractical. Unmatched flatware and random dishes. Really low class. Overpriced even for overpriced Carmel. But GREAT location. Don't bother.

Room Tip: Pay extra and go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

If you decide to stay in Carmel, this is a pretty good choice, with several caveats. First, the Normandy, as you might suspect, tries to capture a French look, but the rooms themselves are ordinary as ordinary can be. Second, you need to know that if you have any troubles walking you will find the Normandy a challenge. I guess in an effort to seem more European, the place is built in levels. To get to our room, we had to walk out of the office, down a few steps, then up a flight of stairs--out and down in order to go up. Heck, you will find Carmel as a whole a challenge. The town is built on an incline (or decline, depending on the direction you're coming from)--it is a steep incline/decline, very steep. In fact, from the Normandy, the Carmel beach is a straight shot down the road--way, way, way down the road. It's a very steep hill. And then, to get to the water, you have to go down a steep hill (dune?) of sand. Not so bad going down there, but the walk back is steep, steep, steep. And as others have said, I think, their breakfast was not impressive at all. Finally, my wife, who dealt with the staff more than I did, tells me they were snobby. To be completely honest, we didn't find Carmel to be very interesting and wished we'd had just driven the extra 20 minutes up to Monterey and stayed there.

Room Tip: Tip to travelers: stay in Monterey instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennings, La.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Initially, I wasn't blown away by this inn. Walls are paper thin. Heard every conversation from the next room. However the location and staff soon won me over. We could walk anywhere we needed to go. The setting is beautiful. The breakfast is not much to write home about. We generally walked down the street to Carmel Bakery for breakfast. Will get a cottage if we go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a very nice small Inn located on the main street of Carmel. The rooms are large and the bathroom although not huge is more than adequate. Bed was comfortable and the room had space to lounge. Located within walking distance of all the downtown shops, local beach and a nice walk to Pebble Beach. A big plus is parking, although the spaces are as small as a European hotel and take some cautious maneuvering, it makes life much easier, as parking is a premium. Breakfast was good and in a small but bright room. Most of the guest appeared to be older. This Inn was not cheap but very affordable for the area. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Normandy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Inn

Address: Ocean Ave. between Monte Verde St. and Casanova St., Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Normandy Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Normandy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Carmel
Normandy Inn Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Normandy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.