We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting stale” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Normandy Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Normandy Inn to your Saves list
Normandy Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   Ocean Ave. between Monte Verde St. and Casanova St., Carmel, CA 93923   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Nevada City, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Getting stale”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here many times in the past, and have always had a pleasant stay. This time when I called to make a reservation, I was treated with a rather snooty approach to my request to stay in one of the cottages, instead of the main building. After giving my name and reassuring the person on the other end of the line that, we were return customers, I was given a reservation. The rooms in the main building have paper thin walls, making a good nights sleep a bit of a gamble. The cottages are a better accommodation for the price. When we got there I was given the entry card for cottage 205. upon opening the door we were amazed to find that this unit appears not to have been updated in a very long while. The bedspread was not only ugly, but had a very unpleasant odor to it. The bed was not the very plush feather bed that we remembered from unit 201. Nor were the linens the previously much touted fine thread count quality that was once the standard at this inn. To say the least, we were getting somewhat disappointed. After a great evening on the town, we settled in for a good nights sleep. [ After first unplugging the very noisy empty mini fridge ] In the morning we decided to go to the continental breakfast. I was looking forward to having a bear claw, or one of the delicious fruit pastries that I remembered from the previous year. We were treated to a bowl of hard boiled eggs, and a plate of somewhat stale bagels and buns. The Normandy Inn appears to be a mere shell of it's former self. In my opinion, it is not worth the $190 per night.
You can find much better value for your money in Carmel. I am giving the Normandy a three star rating, purely for sentimental reasons.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    138
    48
    24
    13
See reviews for
45
216
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We sighted quite a few b nb's before deciding on Normandy Inn. Their rooms are a good size with lots of good natural light and a very decent size bathroom. Breakfast room is good with a self serve style buffet of breads, muffins, fruit, cereals, yoghurt and hard boiled eggs.
Can't fault the main street location and still very quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shreveport,La
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

As anyone who has read my reviews knows that my wife and I always stay with Sandra and her wonderful staff at the Normandy Inn in Carmel. We have been staying at The Normandy Inn for the last 10 plus years. You can read my past reviews and you would know the many reasons why we continue to stay in this beautiful Inn.
Location for restaurants-shopping-the beach and access to the uncomparable beauty of the Big Sur Coast are just a few.
The staff will go out of their way to make your stay a wonderful experience and help in anyway they can.
Cannot wait to return to The Normandy Inn and wonderful Carmel.
Larry and Anne
Shreveport La.

Room Tip: Get a fireplace room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

we walked into this place booked a room, went straight in the room was great, nice and clean, good value, good location. would stay here again. even had a car space inside for us. and free WiFi. couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

It is a simple, but honest/comfortable hotel. It is not a resort, but it is clean. Its architecture and furniture remind us France. Its location is very near from the beach and from "downtown" Carmel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We always enjoy going to Carmel. We went there on our honeymoon the first time. We arrrived late because a family member put limberg chesse in the carbenator. The people at the Inn were very gracious and got us a reservation for dinner at the Mission Ranch Inn for dinner. It was after 10:30 and the Mission Ranch waited for us, and even gave us bottle of champagne. This year was our 50th Annivary, we stayed at the Normandy Inn and thay got us in to the Misssion Ranch for our annivary dinner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night on a weekend in mid-March.
Pros: The place was quite charming. The decor was beautiful with entrance area decked with flowers. The service was very satisfactory. The staff helped us with finding out the nearby restaurants and things to do based on our interest. The room was decorated in french-style, clean and spacious. The breakfast had a decent spread. The location was awesome, right on Ocean Ave close to all the good restaurants and beach.
Con: Limited parking available inside the hotel. You have option of parking on the street.

Overall a great place to spend a relaxed weekend away from the hustle bustle of the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Normandy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Inn

Address: Ocean Ave. between Monte Verde St. and Casanova St., Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Normandy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Normandy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Carmel
Normandy Inn Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Normandy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.