We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Normandy Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Normandy Inn to your Saves list
Normandy Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   Ocean Ave. between Monte Verde St. and Casanova St., Carmel, CA 93923   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We've been staying here for many years. Excellent location. Close to shops, restaurants and beach. We love to walk the neighborhood. The rooms are always very clean and the beds are comfortable. Free wifi. Limited breakfast but sufficient in quaint BFK room. The prices are always the best.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cardiff
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Driving between San Francisco and Las Vegas, we made a stop at Carmel-on-Sea without making a prior booking in an hotel. We saw the Normandy Inn and thought how pretty it looked and it was! We were made very welcome and shown the room first and we thought it was great! It was like a small bungalow. Spotlessly clean. Breakfast was even included in the rate which was great. It was a cold buffet with hard boiled eggs, bagels, muffins, toast, rolls and made a welcome change from the huge but tasty American style breakfast! It is about a 5 minute walk from the ocean. Highly recommended and would like to have stayed longer.

Room Tip: A bungalow at the back is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyalLady9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here at the Normandy Inn. Check in was quick, friendly and efficient.

We booked a premium fireplace room and it was fantastic! Rm 102 is a corner room with windows facing Ocean Ave and right next to the breakfast room. Noise was NOT an issue for us at all. The room was very spacious w/ king bed (comfy!), high wood ceilings, wood burning fireplace (wood provided everyday), 2 small sitting areas, small yet clean bathroom w/ shower only, and a separate dressing room w/ sink, large vanity, coffee maker and small fridge. We LOVED this room. Very cozy, cottage feel and lovely to return to in the evenings.

It was very convenient to be next to the breakfast room. We found the selection more than adequate and fresh, although the same food was served each day.

Our friends were in room 318, basic king, and compared to ours, I do not recommend. They regretted their choice.

We met Sandy, the manager, our last evening there, and she was very friendly and welcoming.

The location of the Normandy was perfect!! Only a couple of blocks to the beach and a block to restaurants and the rest of the "action". Carmel does roll up their sidewalks early! Streets were empty by 8-830pm.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Rm 102--premium fireplace room was excellent. You will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klpsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We spent a night in this inn last summer while touring on the mythical Highway One and we loved this charming place, located in the middle of Carmel. We arrived late at night and were warmly welcomed. The staff on the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Our room, a queen standard, located on the second floor was big enough and very clean, breakfast was correct. We recommend this inn and if we go back to Carmel, we will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isabelle66France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stopped off here for the one night on the way from SF to LA late October. Arrived at 4pm. check in was fine, we arrived on the Sunday. We didn't pre book. The rate we got was the same as online. The staff were very helpfull. Overall a good hotel. We got a taxi for e few dollars to the Ranch which Clint Eastwood used to own, and often calls into. Would highly recommend it. Great atmosphere, good food and surroundings.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank summercreekvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This was our second stay at the Normandy Inn. The Inn is right at the center of town, so you can walk everywhere. All of the rooms are different, no "cookie cutter's". The room was a good size, with a fireplace. The bed was very comfortable. The staff were all very friendly. They offer a continental breakfast, but we went out to breakfast each morning. I highly recommend the Normandy Inn, especially for the price (Carmel can be expensive)! Carmel beach is a must visit (one of the best beaches in the USA).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddy021807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal,canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

excellent location if you are staying 1 or 2 nights. Breakfast very good in the breakfast room. The inn is more like a motel but very clean. If you arrive at night maybe hard to find but the inn is on the main st. Carmel has a policy of no lights or street numbers. Best to arrive before dark.
Room very comfortable , very little closet space . Service is excellent and friendly and no problem with parking. Lots of excellent restaurants minutes away.. .

Room Tip: quieter on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy2524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#17 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,392 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#6 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#2 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Inn

Address: Ocean Ave. between Monte Verde St. and Casanova St., Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#15 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Normandy Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into a corner of Carmel-by-the-Sea and surrounded by blooming flower gardens The Normandy Inn is a beautiful experience. The historic Normandy Inn exudes Old World European charm and is located just three blocks from the white-sand Carmel Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Odigeo, Priceline, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Normandy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Carmel
Normandy Inn Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing