We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in Carmel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edgemere Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edgemere Cottages
Save
You added Edgemere Cottages to your Saves list
San Antonio Avenue, between Thirteenth Avenue and Santa Lucia Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
Castle Pines, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great B&B in Carmel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We just got back from a week in Carmel at Edgemere Cottages. What a lovely place to spend a week! Our hosts Gretchen and Doug have a great location and they made us feel extremely welcome. We were a block from the beach and we could hear the waves every night. The breakfasts were wonderful. I've never had quiche as delicious as what we had. And our cottage, Devon, was perfect for two people. It was great having the kitchen in the cottage.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    12
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
38
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Carmel was the first stop in our tour of Northern California. We stayed at Edgemere in the Patio Room for 4 nights.

Pros:

- incredible hosts: Gretchen you are amazing and Doug you are great. Riffraff and Magenta (resident cats) you are simply adorable.

- excellent location: in a residential neighborhood, super charming and picturesque, and just 1 block away from one of the most beautiful beaches I've ever seen and a 10 minute walk from the Missio

- lovely room: spotless, equipped with everything you may need (I mostly appreciated the heater), super quiet and cozy, very confortable bed, nice and warm blankets... You don't hear noise from the streets and though the room is in the main house we didn't hear anything (TV, kitchen noise etc.). we could fully unwind there. 

- mouthwatering breakfast: homecooked, different every day, one of the best memories of my holiday, especially the strawberry French toast DELICIOUS not to mention the quiches and the muffins, all accompanied by coffee, tea, juice and fresh fruit...The dining room where breakfast is served had the warmth of the things that make a home feel really lived in, with lots of books, newspapers, and family things.

- parking: . Parking space is available directly in front of the house

- Riffraff and Magenta: adorable and purring tabby cats, always ready for some cuddling.

Cons:

Nothing I can think of, apart from the cold and humid weather that doesn't obviously depend on anyone!

Room Tip: The Patio Room was spotless clean, comfortable and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We fell in love with Carmel. It was the highlight of our trip and we ended up in Carmel by default, as all the accommodation in Monterey was booked (this was exceptionally fortunate for us).

Carmel was the most quaint village and made us feel like we were in a storybook. It has lots of trees, lots of cute cottages (many of which cost a few million dollars, as they have been specially made to look old) and lots of character.

We stayed in the Rosemont Cottage, as we were a family of 5. The cottage was very cute and Gretchen was the most delightful person. She was very helpful and friendly and made delicious breakfasts.

Our only regret was that we only had 2 nights here. We would rather have foregone staying in San Francisco and spent a week in Carmel.

Our girls loved the beach. Even though it was overcast and cold for swimming, the beach had things to explore. We saw lots of squirrels on the beach and were fortunate to see dolphins.

Thank you Gretchen for a wonderful stay and we would LOVE to come and spend a week in beautiful Carmel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I wanted that "cottage experience!" We rented the Rosemont and Patio Room (all that was available when I booked). My parents took the Rosemont room (so jealous) it was amazing! Very roomy, small kitchen, large bedroom, small living room -- it was perfect! My husband and I stayed in the Patio Room. Small but provided a good nights rest. The con is the "private bath" is disconnected from the room. You have to leave the room to go the bathroom. The other con is we did not know about the "no ac." This was a little different for us. The windows provided a great room temp but we did have to put up with late arrivals/luggage and talking for a short amount of time.

The inn keepers were amazing! Very friendly, accommodating and sweet. Loved visiting with the owner and hearing the history of the house.

A very walkable distance to the beach. The air smells of lavender -- amazing!
We will return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schmoelln, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

what a lovely place to stay in Carmel, in a quiet street and less than 5 minutes to a beautiful beach (with the chance to see some dolphins). Gretchen, the owner, is very friendly and helpful. One day we wanted to go to the beach and she gave us beach chairs and towels. We stayed in the patio room which was spacious and very clean. You don't hear noise from the streets and though the room is in the main house we didn't hear anything (TV, kitchen noise etc.). we could fully relax there. Parking space is available directly in front of the house. Breakfast was very good as well, dozens of different teas, fresh fruit every morning. I'd love to stay there again :)

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

What a nice stay. Three nites of quiet comfort. Gretchen, Doug and Makala are gracious hosts. Their cottages are like little turn- key homes. They served our lovely breakfasts in our cottage. Gretchen makes great quiches but her passion is baking so our muffins and the likes were really tasty. All was very clean yet had the warmth of the things that make a home feel lived in. There is all you need in the kitchen to cook. Books and lovely chotskeys (you know what I mean) that Gretchen's mom collected lend to the ambiance. The home is on a very large lot for Carmel and is 50 or so yards to the beach. The home has been in their family for many years. Our two small pooches loved it too. Thanks Gretchen. Vic and Barbara.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had our first stop at Carmel on our South West US tour and stayed 4 nights at Edgemere. A very good first stop. Gretchen is a very friendly person. The breakfast is delicious in a very cosy breakfast room. Location is perfect, just a stroll to the beach and away from the busy centre. we stayed in the patio room, comfortable and having a private garden to relax. Definite a place to come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgemere Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgemere Cottages

Address: San Antonio Avenue, between Thirteenth Avenue and Santa Lucia Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgemere Cottages is a small, romantic, pet-friendly, family-owned B&B located a half-block from Carmel Beach, on the grounds of a historic Carmel home built in the 1920s and now surrounded by lovely gardens. We provide a delicious, home-made breakfast cooked fresh every morning and served in our dining room. Our recently remodeled and updated cottages are private and secluded and feature kitchenettes, high-definition TVs and DVDs and some have real wood-burning fireplaces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edgemere Cottages Hotel Carmel
Carmel Cottages

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgemere Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.