We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edgemere Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edgemere Cottages
Save Saved
You added Edgemere Cottages to your Saves list
San Antonio Avenue, between Thirteenth Avenue and Santa Lucia Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
Schmoelln, Germany
1 review
“lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

what a lovely place to stay in Carmel, in a quiet street and less than 5 minutes to a beautiful beach (with the chance to see some dolphins). Gretchen, the owner, is very friendly and helpful. One day we wanted to go to the beach and she gave us beach chairs and towels. We stayed in the patio room which was spacious and very clean. You don't hear noise from the streets and though the room is in the main house we didn't hear anything (TV, kitchen noise etc.). we could fully relax there. Parking space is available directly in front of the house. Breakfast was very good as well, dozens of different teas, fresh fruit every morning. I'd love to stay there again :)

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    12
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
35
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

What a nice stay. Three nites of quiet comfort. Gretchen, Doug and Makala are gracious hosts. Their cottages are like little turn- key homes. They served our lovely breakfasts in our cottage. Gretchen makes great quiches but her passion is baking so our muffins and the likes were really tasty. All was very clean yet had the warmth of the things that make a home feel lived in. There is all you need in the kitchen to cook. Books and lovely chotskeys (you know what I mean) that Gretchen's mom collected lend to the ambiance. The home is on a very large lot for Carmel and is 50 or so yards to the beach. The home has been in their family for many years. Our two small pooches loved it too. Thanks Gretchen. Vic and Barbara.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had our first stop at Carmel on our South West US tour and stayed 4 nights at Edgemere. A very good first stop. Gretchen is a very friendly person. The breakfast is delicious in a very cosy breakfast room. Location is perfect, just a stroll to the beach and away from the busy centre. we stayed in the patio room, comfortable and having a private garden to relax. Definite a place to come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

You are one block from the ocean so it's easy to walk the beach during the day or relax to the waves at night. Our cottage, the Devon, was spacious, well appointed and charming. It had a large bathroom and there's a full kitchen if you want to use it. (The cold pack in the freezer is mine.) Breakfast was enjoyable and over our three nights at Edgemere we met a number of interesting and sociable people at breakfast. Your hosts, Gretchen and Doug, are friendly and helpful, too. I recommend this spot unreservedly.

Room Tip: The Devon had a better design and flow to the cottage than the one to its left. The largest cottage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We can't wait to go back. Friendly owners make guests feel welcome. The beach is so close it is convenient for an early morning walk or run before breakfast. You can hear the waves and smell the salt air. The rooms have been redone with lovely wood floors, excellent fireplaces, and all amenities for a wonderfully relaxing stay. We had a small kitchen, sitting area, two tvs, dutch doors for fresh air and comfortable beds. We will return as often as possible.

Room Tip: Just plan ahead because this B&B is booked far in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The location was great. A block from the beach and 10-15 min to the center of town on foot. The cottages themselves were cute, but extremely functional. The best part was the warm welcome from Gretchen, who was very outgoing and generous with her time. We really felt welcome there and would be happy to go back if we visited the area again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Devon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I visit Carmel at least 5 times per year and I keep coming back to Edgemere. It's a quaint and defines what an English Cottage experience can be. The innkeepers treat me like family and the breakfast is exquisite. Now, Edgemere is not really within walking distance of the village, but it's one block away from a secluded beach. Real wood burning fireplaces (remember those??), hummingbirds in your window....Quiet and welcoming, if you want to unwind and get away, Edgemere will not disappoint!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgemere Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgemere Cottages

Address: San Antonio Avenue, between Thirteenth Avenue and Santa Lucia Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgemere Cottages is a small, romantic, pet-friendly, family-owned B&B located a half-block from Carmel Beach, on the grounds of a historic Carmel home built in the 1920s and now surrounded by lovely gardens. We provide a delicious, home-made breakfast cooked fresh every morning and served in our dining room. Our recently remodeled and updated cottages are private and secluded and feature kitchenettes, high-definition TVs and DVDs and some have real wood-burning fireplaces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edgemere Cottages Hotel Carmel
Carmel Cottages

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgemere Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.