We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edgemere Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edgemere Cottages
San Antonio Avenue, between Thirteenth Avenue and Santa Lucia Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
Albany, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quaint and quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

My wife found this charming inn and we booked it for two nights right after Christmas. Our room had a nice kitchenette, gas fireplace, Wi-Fi, etc. Owner is most gracious, cooked great breakfasts, and even loaned passes to Monterey Bay Aquarium (saved us $70), which is a nice amenity! Would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    12
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
35
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Carmel is one of those towns that's a rare find. Edgemere is truly a hidden gem in this town, a treasure that only exists in a Tolkien novel. Fortunately for Audrey and I, we get to experience the shire in Carmel. Run by Gretchen and Doug, this wonderful home has enough warmth for all the hobbits, dwarfs and elves of this world. Even for one from Singapore like me. To me, it's the shire. You must be there to experience it. Worth the distance, worth the journey and worth every penny. Gretchen, thanks for everything.

Cheers

Wilfred and Audrey

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Edgemere Cottages provided just what we wanted in a B&B in Carmel. We were on a quiet street but close enough to the beach to hear and smell the ocean with the windows open. Gretchen was a great host. Breakfast was relaxed and casual with good conversation and great food. We enjoyed wandering through the gardens and relaxing in the great weather. The cottage was very clean and very comfortable.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Devon Cottage with a gas fireplace and a neat small kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Edgemere Cottages is a charming little B&B in the heart of Carmel. Just one street over from the ocean, you can open the windows and hear it all night long. The home is owned by a charming woman that was raised in Carmel. Breakfast was delicious and the location was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed here on our honeymoon last month for one night. Next time we will definitely be staying for a weekend at least.


Pros:

- Super friendly hosts while not overbearing.

- Cottage was awesome. We were upgraded to a wonderful room with more space than we could possibly use. It had everything we could ever need including a fireplace, full kitchen and separate sitting area.

- Great attention to details. This is something that is often overlooked by even many 5 stars establishments. Room contained a flashlight (no street lights in town), magazines and books, an array of toiletries (lotion, cotton balls, Q-tips, several types of soap, tissues etc), a bowl of mints and even a laptop pillow. The kitchen was stocked with everything you could need to cook a meal and the fridge contained milk upon arrival.

- Nice breakfast.

- Very reasonable prices when compared to the area.

Cons:

We did not have any complaints to speak of. The only thing that could possibly be an issue for some people might be the 15 min walk to the center of town. The cottages are very close to the ocean though. This did not bother us at all as we enjoyed touring the town streets.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were upgraded to Picadilly Cottage, a gorgeous and comfortable cottage.
Very short walk to Carmel beach.
Lovely streets to wander through and easy walking distance to local shops & restaurants.loved the walk home in the dark as Carmel has no street lights!
Gretchen cooked a delicious breakfast and joined in conversation with us and our fellow guests, she had lots of knowledge about the region.
Would definitely stay there again - lots of character.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford -upon -Avon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is a wonderful and memorable place to stay. Beautiful accommodation with so many character features in the room. Home cooked breakfasts are out of this world (strawberry french toast was the most delicious breakfast I have ever had) and owners could not have done more to help us plan our stay. I can not imagine a nicer place to stay. We stayed here with our two children and they loved it to. Great location, near beach and town. Make sure you stay here if you can!

Room Tip: All room looked amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgemere Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgemere Cottages

Address: San Antonio Avenue, between Thirteenth Avenue and Santa Lucia Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgemere Cottages is a small, romantic, pet-friendly, family-owned B&B located a half-block from Carmel Beach, on the grounds of a historic Carmel home built in the 1920s and now surrounded by lovely gardens. We provide a delicious, home-made breakfast cooked fresh every morning and served in our dining room. Our recently remodeled and updated cottages are private and secluded and feature kitchenettes, high-definition TVs and DVDs and some have real wood-burning fireplaces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edgemere Cottages Hotel Carmel
Carmel Cottages

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgemere Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Edgemere Cottages to your Saves list