We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Carmel Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Junipero Ave& 5th Ave, PO Box 1295, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
San Diego
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

We stayed at this Inn during the 2010 U.S. Open at Pebble Beach; prices were very reasonable at $332 per night Wed-Sun and $176 Mon. We had switched to this hotel after two dismal overpriced nights at the Vagabond Inn in Monterey. What a difference! Carmel Inn is located near the main center of Carmel...the Plaza shopping center (at Junipero and Ocean)...its a three block walk to get there and everything is walkable in Carmel. Lots of good restaurants; the beach is about ten blocks away from the Plaza. Carmel is a friendly, people and walking oriented town; art and specialty shops are everywhere; the beach is dog friendly.

The hotel is clean and quiet; comfortable king bed; lots of lights; comfortable chairs; comfortable pull out full size bed from the living room couch; good but small frig that can freeze ice. Only negative was the poor quality cereals at the free continental breakfast room; and there was occasional traffic noise as the police and fire stations are two blocks north on Junipero. The day manager, Gagin, was very friendly and responsive.

Two blocks away is a market where you can buy a newspaper and get food and beverages. Big Sur coastline is just south of Carmel; Julia Pfeiffer Burns State Park 40 miles south has a charming 1 mile long flat trail leading to a spectacular small waterfall; also stop at the Bixby Bridge on the dirt road behind the bridge to get a spectacular picture of the 1930's bridge and the Pacific.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    28
    25
    13
    14
See reviews for
20
36
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wmbg, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Gagan was very accommodating throughout our 4 night stay and really made us feel welcome

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

The hotel was clean and convenient but for the price that we payed - $175 through "Hotwire Hotdeal" was more like a "Coldwire Bad Deal" or "Hotwire Ripoff". When I bid and saw the hotel we were given, I checked the less than stellar reviews on Tripadvisor, then sent an email to support & customer care(less) at Hotwire, I was met with deaf ears. This hotel would be fine if you were paying around $85-$90. Basically there are better choices.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

We had two rooms. We called front desk multiple times after making our reservations online to request 2nd floor rooms. Multiple calls were never answered. When we arrived I mentioned no one was anwering calls and was told they were busy. Our bathroom was a disaster...rain damage in the ceiling over the shower had drywall partially finished; wallpaper which had gotten wet was stained; mold was in the shower. During the night, the walls were so thin, when the kids in the next room started whining about gong to bed for over an half an hour, we could hear them like they were in the next room. Our other room had a TV that would not work. We called the front desk. No answer. We walked down to the office and could hear the phone ringing (we were still trying) when we walked in. Again we mentioned no one was answering the phone to which we got no answer. When the front desk person came and tried to turn on the TV she found she could not get it to work either. She said she would send someone to fix it. No one ever came. Worse than an old motel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARMEL
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

i stayed here during my trip to carmel and i had a very pleasant experience. the price was good and the room was comfortable. i was content.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

We stayed in Rm # 32 which was so small the bed had to be pushed against the wall to get into the bathroom - it literally was a porch converted into a sleeping room. To take a shower, one person had to hold the door closed while the other person showered!!!!! The room was so cramped and small that the TV had to be placed in the closet which left no room for hanging clothes. This may be a nice place, but our experience was terrible and we would never stay there again. When we complained about the shower the response was that no one else had complained so they did not think there was a problem. Our advice is to stay away from this place

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

We stayed at the Camel Inn and Suites as it was a Father's Day Gift from our son. While the location was very convenient, this establishment needs some serious attention and renovation. We arrived early, knowing our room would not be ready, but wanted to confirm our reservation and then grab a bite to eat. The young man behind the desk said: "Do you know what time it is? Your room won't be ready until 3PM." The comment and tone, we felt, were unprofessional, rude, and unnecessary. The room was listed as a King-Suite. While it appeared clean, it had a musty odor and having a microwave atop a small refrigerator did not make it a suite. Very tight quarters, and the bathroom was even tinier. The Carmel Inn had a pool, but was not open due to repairs. The whole inn, in our opinion, needed repair. So, I would say that the three diamond rating fell short by a couple of diamonds!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Inn & Suites

Address: Junipero Ave& 5th Ave, PO Box 1295, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carmel Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two story Inn with modern guest amenities in rooms and suites; situated in the business district, near shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Carmel Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Inn And Suites
Carmel Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.