We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Carmel Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Junipero Ave& 5th Ave, PO Box 1295, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Fresno, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Restful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We enjoyed the neat, clean room that was decorated very nicely. The location was super as it was within walking distance to ever so many wonderful places to explore! We checked in at 3 P.M. as the room was ready. No problems and the price is right! We'll be back!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    28
    24
    13
    14
See reviews for
20
36
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel was budget friendly for a little get away. The room was nice, decorated with antiques...just not really my style. The bed wasn't very comfortable though. The walls are very thin and we could hear everything going on in the rooms next to us. And we had lovely neighbors who decided to have a huge argument for over an hour late at night...so not much sleep was had for me :-/

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We really enjoyed this place and are surprised by the poor rating. Our room was super clean and the antique wooden furniture made it very nostalgic. It was a great location at the top of the hill, to work your way down through the boutique stores and eventually beach. We loved it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Good value for Carmel, the first impression of the building is that it's old, but when you get inside, its very beautiful. The staff was nice upon check in, however our room was still not ready at their 4:00pm check in time. It was ready shortly after but it was annoying.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Can't be better located, just off of downtown but quiet enough not to be bothered by noise other than the ubiquitous seagulls. But there was nothing special about the place-- overpriced for a summer weekend, but so is every other place in Carmel. Room was clean but small and looked into the windows of the next building only a few feet away. It did have a small refrigerator but no dresser or drawers for clothes. Couldn't get the TV controls to work right between the two remotes. Breakfast was functional. Parking lot seemed to fit most everyone, which is a big plus in Carmel. If you're there to spend the day in the town, it's fine. If you're planning to hole up in your room for a few days, I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Based on previous reviews, I didn't expect to be terribly impressed, but the price was wonderful so we gave it a try. I must say, I was pleseantly surprised! The country/antique style was a little over the top, but it added to the charm of the place. The room was clean, all staff were friendly, helpful and informative. The location was perfect! We will definitely come back for our next visit to Carmel. My only complaint were the noisy seaguls that start around 4am, but, that's not exactly anyone's fault.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

My sister, husband, daughter, and myself wanted to spend the night in Carmel. Since this was the cheapest hotel in downtown Carmel, I knew it would be not the greatest. The room was a bit floral '80's like. The bathroom was brand new very nice, I even think the floor was heated. We liked the separate bedroom and daubed and trundle in the living room. The room came with a tv and fridge. The only thing I can complain about is the thin walls. We heard a lot of jumping and what not from the room above. Breakfast was breads, no eggs of bacon or pancakes/waffles.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Inn & Suites

Address: Junipero Ave& 5th Ave, PO Box 1295, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carmel Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two story Inn with modern guest amenities in rooms and suites; situated in the business district, near shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Carmel Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Inn And Suites
Carmel Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.