We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Carmel Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carmel Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Junipero Ave& 5th Ave, PO Box 1295, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We really enjoyed this place and are surprised by the poor rating. Our room was super clean and the antique wooden furniture made it very nostalgic. It was a great location at the top of the hill, to work your way down through the boutique stores and eventually beach. We loved it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    25
    22
    11
    12
See reviews for
17
32
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Good value for Carmel, the first impression of the building is that it's old, but when you get inside, its very beautiful. The staff was nice upon check in, however our room was still not ready at their 4:00pm check in time. It was ready shortly after but it was annoying.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Can't be better located, just off of downtown but quiet enough not to be bothered by noise other than the ubiquitous seagulls. But there was nothing special about the place-- overpriced for a summer weekend, but so is every other place in Carmel. Room was clean but small and looked into the windows of the next building only a few feet away. It did have a small refrigerator but no dresser or drawers for clothes. Couldn't get the TV controls to work right between the two remotes. Breakfast was functional. Parking lot seemed to fit most everyone, which is a big plus in Carmel. If you're there to spend the day in the town, it's fine. If you're planning to hole up in your room for a few days, I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Based on previous reviews, I didn't expect to be terribly impressed, but the price was wonderful so we gave it a try. I must say, I was pleseantly surprised! The country/antique style was a little over the top, but it added to the charm of the place. The room was clean, all staff were friendly, helpful and informative. The location was perfect! We will definitely come back for our next visit to Carmel. My only complaint were the noisy seaguls that start around 4am, but, that's not exactly anyone's fault.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

My sister, husband, daughter, and myself wanted to spend the night in Carmel. Since this was the cheapest hotel in downtown Carmel, I knew it would be not the greatest. The room was a bit floral '80's like. The bathroom was brand new very nice, I even think the floor was heated. We liked the separate bedroom and daubed and trundle in the living room. The room came with a tv and fridge. The only thing I can complain about is the thin walls. We heard a lot of jumping and what not from the room above. Breakfast was breads, no eggs of bacon or pancakes/waffles.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located within easy walking distance of lots of shops and restaurants. It's a nice clean little place but stuck in the 80's decor-wise. Lots of flowery fabrics. Very worn and patched carpet in room one where we stayed, but newly remodeled bathroom was spotless and shiny clean. Our room, right by the pool, was very quiet but I fear that might not be the case had the pool been open. Walls very thin and noise comes right thru. However, if a reasonable price is your goal in pricey Carmel, this hotel can be a good choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Affordable, walking distance to the main town, shops, and restaurants. But the rooms smell and unfortunately, we found a couple of BUGS on the bed. When we told the front desk about the bugs and that we couldn't stay there, he and his wife raised their voice at us and said we won't be able to find another hotel in town so we better drive back to LA. Good thing we found people in Carmel to tell us where we can stay... There were at least 5 other inns/hotels within a block. Same price, much cleaner, smells better, and waaaaaay better customer service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciasca, General Manager at Carmel Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay
a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service
to all of our guests at reasonable prices.
We want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are handled properly. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're doing wrong and how we can improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Inn & Suites

Address: Junipero Ave& 5th Ave, PO Box 1295, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carmel Inn & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two story Inn with modern guest amenities in rooms and suites; situated in the business district, near shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Carmel Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Inn And Suites
Carmel Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.