We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, horrible beds!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Carmel Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Junipero Ave& 5th Ave, PO Box 1295, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
San Jose, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, horrible beds!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I like a firm mattress, but I've never slept on a more uncomfortable bed in my life. The pillows are just as bad. The room was clean, and the location is excellent. The bathroom appeared to be recently renovated, but the other annoyance is there is no shelf or ledge of any kind in the shower. There's a little table outside of the shower, but reaching out for soap and shampoo is inconvenient. The free WiFi was a nice bonus. I was happy we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciasca, Front Office Manager at Carmel Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay
a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service
to all of our guests at reasonable prices. Consequently, it's disappointing to learn that you were unhappy. Please accept our apology. We want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're
doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    28
    24
    13
    14
See reviews for
20
36
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

At first sight Carmel Inn and Suites is looking very cosy and pittoresque. We booked a night at this place and liked it very much! The beds were soft, which I like, and the rooms spacy and fresh. A good sign is when even the remote control to the TV is clean. The staff was very helpful and when we needed another towel we got one right away.
Location was perfect, we went out to a place to eat and got directions and a rebate from the motel for 10% percent on the food - very friendly and helpful!
The morning after a nice breakfest was served in a room with view of the trees outside.
Unfortunately I left my newly bought jacket in the room when me and my friends left the motel. I found out where it was too late and I contacted the motel asking for the jacket first when I was back in my home country of Sweden. The staff managed to send me the jacket free of charge! Such a nice gesture and I'm forever grateful for their generosity! The jacket meant a lot to me and big thanks to the staff for taking care of their customers - even those who just stayed one night. I'm definately coming back to this place!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississauga, ontario
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed two nights in this location. Rooms were very clean, spacious, quiet and met our needs. Breakfast was delivered to the room each morning in a basket...cute. Location is great, we could walk to everything in town including restaurants which were great. Carmel is a gorgeous boutique town, high end stores, great places to eat with moderate to high prices and the streets are lined with wonderful flowers and greenery...lovely to walk around. The people are friendly and helpful and we would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Good location, short walk to Ocean Avenue. Now for the rest of the story!

It is not AAA 3 star, sign must be old. Bathroom is not inviting, wall paper torn and pealing off. Shower/tub had 4 inches of water in it after my shower. King size bed was very uncomfortable. Room was small. Very steep stairs to 2nd floor, no elevator. No heat and the television did not work..

The parking lot is small, thus you must park in extremely small stalls. Very difficult to enter and exit your vehicle if someone is parked next to you. I was concerned about door damage. I would park on the street if you have similar concerns. It is also difficult to enter and exit lot.

We requested a ground floor unit, but they denied that we had made such a request. Oh Well! It is expensive relative to the quality of the unit. We stayed 1 night. Shop around........you can do better.

Room Tip: I really don't think there is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciasca, Director of Sales at Carmel Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
It's disappointing to learn that your stay was unsatisfied and the necessary action has been taken. We strive our very best to accommodate each and every guest that their stay is comfortable. Yes, the hotel do not have an elevator and the parking is tight which is limited. Guests can always park on the street where there are ample of parking spaces. Also guests can always request while making reservation to confirm about their basic necessities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Even if the off season, Carmel seems to know how to charge for hotel rooms! This seemed to be one of the cheaper ones in the main part of town on a turn-up and see rate.

Certainly what you see is what you get and the rooms were well appointed, perhaps with slightly eccentric decoration and furniture but certainly clean, comfortable and warm!

To put it in context, the room was cheaper than a meal for two in one of Carmel's restaurants. Included breakfast was the typical 'continental style' and fine to get you going for the day.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

The location of the Inn is quite great and the climate actually over there is too cold. I saw in the review that people were complaining about the ACs. Actually ACs are not required there at all. Compared to the other hotels, the price is reasonable. Also, you get nice breakfast as well.

Room Tip: Recommend people to go there as the other places around Carmel are quite expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayarea
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012 via mobile

If you wait until 1 or 2 weeks before stay they offer good discounts which makes it worth it. If you book more than 1 room and want to pay separately be careful. Even if you tell him upfront they will still charge the one card and then it has to be reversed and only one person is apparently allowed to do this. And it will credit 13 days later.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciasca, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
We are extremely sorry for your situation and be assured that is not our normal procedure. During that time we were organizing our staff and only managers and supervisors have access to make any necessary changes fast. Unfortunately they were unavailable to the property at that time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Inn & Suites

Address: Junipero Ave& 5th Ave, PO Box 1295, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carmel Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two story Inn with modern guest amenities in rooms and suites; situated in the business district, near shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Carmel Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Inn And Suites
Carmel Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.