We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful small Inn in downtown, pets allowed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Carmel Inn

Save Saved
You added Casa de Carmel Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa de Carmel Inn
Monte Verde Street, at Ocean Avenue south 2 doors, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful small Inn in downtown, pets allowed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

My wife and I spent our Thanksgiving holiday here with our dog. From the time that I called to check on availability the Inn manager, Leora Sanchez, was extremely helpful and pleasant to work with. She helped us choose between this property and their sister property located across the street. Both are small Inn's with unique character.

Our room was very nice and comfortable. The hotel allows dogs, but you wouldn't know it as they do a very good job of cleaning and keeping the room in great condition. We enjoyed the room, and with at dutch door, we could open the top part for a nice breeze, and keep our dog contained in the room. They allow guests of the Casa de Carmel to use the patio of the Monte Verde Inn, so if you have an upstairs room, you have a nice place to sit outside and relax.

The location of the hotel is perfect, it's right off of the main street (Ocean), at the southern end of the shopping area, and a very close walk down to the main beach. They serve a light breakfast, pastry, yogurt, fruit and juice for breakfast. It was almost like they knew when we were awake as we never had to wait for them to place the tray by our door, even though we had a different schedule each of the two mornings.

Great location, nice rooms, wonderful staff, all around an fantastic visit.

Room Tip: As for a downstairs room so you get a small table and two chairs to sit on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    15
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
29
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Arrived late at night but this place is easy to find. Greeted by a really helpful receptionist who gave me a lovely room-very clean and comfortable with a modern bathroom. Good continental breakfast. The only slight downside is noise from the road but that's just during the day; it was very peaceful through the night.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piermont, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Quaint,small B&B,on two properties across from each other. Park and walk to stores and all restaurants in downtown Camel,a small village. Some street traffic can be heard from room,since Inn is located on a downtown side street. Very personable ,informative Innkeeper,who clearly loves her job. Rooms exactly as pictured on site,immaculate and homey.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed for one night. The place is close to the beach and somewhat in the middle of everything. Had parking, although limited. Also had free WIFI. Checked in and the guy was very nice. The room I got was upstairs and was OK. Not spacious but not small either. Had small fridge and there were 2 bottles of water.

The main complain was noise. The wall soundproofing was bad. I could hear conversations from neighbors, even with the TV (LCD) on high volume. And it got quite noisy early in the morning (neighbors, maintenance crews).

Didn't try the breakfast basket. It had 2 oranges, some pastries, 2 yogurts, and one bottle of grape juice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed at this property for a two day getaway because of its closeness to Carmel Beach and for the (limited) parking provided. I was in a spacious upstairs corner room, however, was disappointed that the property was more like a motel. The room did not smell fresh despite my keeping the windows open all day and night. I suspect that pets may have previously been there. The furnishings were worn and tired-looking. I had a difficult time sleeping as the room did not feel or smell clean.

Although the morning breakfast basket delivery was a nice touch, the roll had no taste and the fruit was unripe. I could not find one quality item worth eating.

My two nights were prepaid (at a price worthy of a nice B&B but not here), otherwise I would have checked out after the first night. My stay was a disappointment as I ended up spending as much time as possible at the beach just to avoid going back to the room.

Sorry for this late review but I just joined TripAdvisor. I hope the room has been renovated since my stay, but I still would not go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

After much searching and deliberating, my husband and I decided to book at Casa de Carmel for our honeymoon. We stayed a total of 5 nights at this charming B&B. We were thrilled with the service and friendly staff. We arrived after the office closed our first night, but the front desk left the key for us under the mat along with a little welcome letter. The delivered breakfast of yogurt, fruit, pastries, hard-boiled egg, and juice was a perfect way to start the day. This place is right in the heart of Carmel and everything is in within walking distance. We walked to the beach every morning :) The maid service was great, the complimentary sherry in the room was tasty, and the staff even left us a bottle of wine in our room in honor of our special occasion!

All in all, it was a lovely little place and great value for two young newlyweds! We will be back!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manaus, Amazonas, Brazil
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

me and my wife only stayed one night but was a big surprise. The guy at the front desk ( Ali, Thank you) was perfect, showing us where to go at night, best places to have a drink, best restaurants, etc... When we came back, he offered us a glass of wine and we just set at a small but beatifull and romantic garden getting warmed aroud the fire. ALI printed us a few tips that he wrote with spots to visit in our way to big sur. When he was closing his shift, he whent to the back to say buy (refused $50 as tip...) and refill the glasses.
Last surprise: knowing that we should lieve at 7:00 am (before start serving breakfast...) he provided us fruits, juices, yogurt, milk, etc... leaving a beautifull basket of food for the next day at our room.
about the room: charming, romantic, clean, perfect!
We have to say again: Thank You Ali! We will be back next year for 4 or 5 days visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de Carmel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Carmel Inn

Address: Monte Verde Street, at Ocean Avenue south 2 doors, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the famous artisan village of Carmel-by-the-Sea you will find this classic country-style bed and breakfast inn. Each guest room is individually appointed with distinctive furnishings creating an enchanted ambiance of romance and comfort. All rooms have a private bath, television, telephone ... and our signature sherry. A light breakfast is included in room rate as well as complimentary wine and cheese reception every afternoon, free WiFi and parking. Coffee makers, tea, iron and ironing board, mini fridge, hair dryers, Gilchrist & Soames bath Amenities are in every room.Casa de Carmel is great for romantic getaways, honeymoons, families with children, vacations with friends, personal retreats, and business travelers alike. Downstairs rooms are wheelchair accessible and pet friendly rooms are available. The location of this Carmel-by-the-Sea bed and breakfast inn is perfect for easy access to Carmel beach, the finest restaurants, unique shops and well-known art galleries. The majestic Big Sur is just a short drive south and the opulent Pebble Beach is adjacent to the north. The Tor House and Monterey Bay Aquarium are just minutes away as is the wine region of Carmel Valley and Point Lobos State Reserve, where Ansel Adams took many famous photos. We welcome your visit to Casa de Carmel - an extraordinary travel experience you will remember ... and aspire to relive often! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Casa de Carmel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Carmel Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Carmel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.