We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect March Honeymoon :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Carmel Inn

Save Saved
You added Casa de Carmel Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa de Carmel Inn
Monte Verde Street, at Ocean Avenue south 2 doors, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
Riverside, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect March Honeymoon :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

After much searching and deliberating, my husband and I decided to book at Casa de Carmel for our honeymoon. We stayed a total of 5 nights at this charming B&B. We were thrilled with the service and friendly staff. We arrived after the office closed our first night, but the front desk left the key for us under the mat along with a little welcome letter. The delivered breakfast of yogurt, fruit, pastries, hard-boiled egg, and juice was a perfect way to start the day. This place is right in the heart of Carmel and everything is in within walking distance. We walked to the beach every morning :) The maid service was great, the complimentary sherry in the room was tasty, and the staff even left us a bottle of wine in our room in honor of our special occasion!

All in all, it was a lovely little place and great value for two young newlyweds! We will be back!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    15
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
28
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manaus, Amazonas, Brazil
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

me and my wife only stayed one night but was a big surprise. The guy at the front desk ( Ali, Thank you) was perfect, showing us where to go at night, best places to have a drink, best restaurants, etc... When we came back, he offered us a glass of wine and we just set at a small but beatifull and romantic garden getting warmed aroud the fire. ALI printed us a few tips that he wrote with spots to visit in our way to big sur. When he was closing his shift, he whent to the back to say buy (refused $50 as tip...) and refill the glasses.
Last surprise: knowing that we should lieve at 7:00 am (before start serving breakfast...) he provided us fruits, juices, yogurt, milk, etc... leaving a beautifull basket of food for the next day at our room.
about the room: charming, romantic, clean, perfect!
We have to say again: Thank You Ali! We will be back next year for 4 or 5 days visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Nice room and nice, knowledgeable staff. We had a grat stay..too bad we only stayed one night...everything is within walking distance. The breakfast was great and the variety was completely surprising.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you are looking for a place in Carmel where you are treated like royalty, look no further! Ali could not do enough for us; showing us to our room, serving wine at Happy Hour, helping us find parking for our over sized truck, giving us a printout of his favorite spots along Highway 1 and Big Sur... The room was quaint but very clean and had all the amenities you could want. Thank you for such a enjoyable vacation, for us and our Yorkie!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Casa de Carmel is a great value for downtown Carmel. The rooms aren't huge, but they don't feel cramped. The staff is really friendly. Limited off-street parking is available which is a plus, but can also be a bit challenging when a lot of big SUVs that should be parking on the street try to use the lot. The breakfast basket is great -- juice, fruit, hard boiled eggs, pastries, yogurt -- and far better than what is given at more expensive properties. The glass of wine and the lovely back patio made for a nice happy hour, and the bottled water in the fridge in the room is very much appreciated. The only complaint is that the hot water is really hot and you have to watch that when you get in the shower.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

No, it's not the swankiest place to stay in Carmel, but if you're looking to travel to Carmel on a budget this is the place to stay. Staff is very friendly and accomodating should you need to arrive late. Favorite part of our stay? Having a breakfast basket delivered to our room every morning, with a knock at our door, filled with fresh pastries from a local bakery! Got this hotel at 20% during the Film Festival, for $150 a night. Bathrooms could use a face-lift, due to how old the place is, but it is very clean. I would definitely stay here again if planning another "low budget" trip to Carmel. Within walking distance of all of the best shops, restaurants, and beach!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here a couple of times and have always enjoyed it. A few years ago we enjoyed it much more then recently, and I think it's because the rooms were quite new then. Now they are "tired" and look a bit abused (need new paint, floors, tile in the bathroom, etc.). I also notice that the floors always seem a bit gritty. Given that the hotel is just a few blocks from the beach this makes sense, but it can be a bit annoying if you're not expecting it. For the most part the hotel is quiet, just like the rest of Carmel in the evening, but I did notice that I could hear our neighbors TV on all night both nights that we stayed there. On this last visit we were also somewhat disappointed that we were promised room 1 when we made the reservation via phone and then when we arrived we were told that the guests in that room had "stayed over" and that we would have to take room 3 instead. Room 3 is smaller and darker, so we were a bit bummed out and their only solution was to give us a room at their sister hotel that would cost US over two times the amount per night. Overall, we'd stay here again for value and location, but hope that they consider updating the rooms and delivering room requests that they promise to their guests.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa de Carmel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Carmel Inn

Address: Monte Verde Street, at Ocean Avenue south 2 doors, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the famous artisan village of Carmel-by-the-Sea you will find this classic country-style bed and breakfast inn. Each guest room is individually appointed with distinctive furnishings creating an enchanted ambiance of romance and comfort. All rooms have a private bath, television, telephone ... and our signature sherry. A light breakfast is included in room rate as well as complimentary wine and cheese reception every afternoon, free WiFi and parking. Coffee makers, tea, iron and ironing board, mini fridge, hair dryers, Gilchrist & Soames bath Amenities are in every room.Casa de Carmel is great for romantic getaways, honeymoons, families with children, vacations with friends, personal retreats, and business travelers alike. Downstairs rooms are wheelchair accessible and pet friendly rooms are available. The location of this Carmel-by-the-Sea bed and breakfast inn is perfect for easy access to Carmel beach, the finest restaurants, unique shops and well-known art galleries. The majestic Big Sur is just a short drive south and the opulent Pebble Beach is adjacent to the north. The Tor House and Monterey Bay Aquarium are just minutes away as is the wine region of Carmel Valley and Point Lobos State Reserve, where Ansel Adams took many famous photos. We welcome your visit to Casa de Carmel - an extraordinary travel experience you will remember ... and aspire to relive often! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Casa de Carmel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Carmel Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Carmel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.