We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value in Carmel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Carmel Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Casa de Carmel Inn to your Saves list
Casa de Carmel Inn
Monte Verde Street, at Ocean Avenue south 2 doors, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 29 Carmel B&B and Inns
Bay Area
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great Value in Carmel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Casa de Carmel is a great value for downtown Carmel. The rooms aren't huge, but they don't feel cramped. The staff is really friendly. Limited off-street parking is available which is a plus, but can also be a bit challenging when a lot of big SUVs that should be parking on the street try to use the lot. The breakfast basket is great -- juice, fruit, hard boiled eggs, pastries, yogurt -- and far better than what is given at more expensive properties. The glass of wine and the lovely back patio made for a nice happy hour, and the bottled water in the fridge in the room is very much appreciated. The only complaint is that the hot water is really hot and you have to watch that when you get in the shower.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    15
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
29
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

No, it's not the swankiest place to stay in Carmel, but if you're looking to travel to Carmel on a budget this is the place to stay. Staff is very friendly and accomodating should you need to arrive late. Favorite part of our stay? Having a breakfast basket delivered to our room every morning, with a knock at our door, filled with fresh pastries from a local bakery! Got this hotel at 20% during the Film Festival, for $150 a night. Bathrooms could use a face-lift, due to how old the place is, but it is very clean. I would definitely stay here again if planning another "low budget" trip to Carmel. Within walking distance of all of the best shops, restaurants, and beach!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here a couple of times and have always enjoyed it. A few years ago we enjoyed it much more then recently, and I think it's because the rooms were quite new then. Now they are "tired" and look a bit abused (need new paint, floors, tile in the bathroom, etc.). I also notice that the floors always seem a bit gritty. Given that the hotel is just a few blocks from the beach this makes sense, but it can be a bit annoying if you're not expecting it. For the most part the hotel is quiet, just like the rest of Carmel in the evening, but I did notice that I could hear our neighbors TV on all night both nights that we stayed there. On this last visit we were also somewhat disappointed that we were promised room 1 when we made the reservation via phone and then when we arrived we were told that the guests in that room had "stayed over" and that we would have to take room 3 instead. Room 3 is smaller and darker, so we were a bit bummed out and their only solution was to give us a room at their sister hotel that would cost US over two times the amount per night. Overall, we'd stay here again for value and location, but hope that they consider updating the rooms and delivering room requests that they promise to their guests.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We arrived in Carmel not having booked accommodation and were very lucky to find a vacancy at Casa de Carmel. The room was clean and very comfortable , the complementary bottle of local wine was very much appreciated.
Our two nights in Carmel were made special by the accommodation, we both would recommend staying to anyone preferring not to stay in the bustle of Monterrey.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I and my DH stayed here during the Poodle day events and found it to be quite comfortable. The room was larger than to be expected in Carmel, clean and inviting. The only complaint I would have would be that the mattress was a bit stiff and also was a type of paisley print which in these days of all the horrific news stories of critters in the beds was a bit frightening (can't see buggies in the print) but no worries, we came home with no unexpected guests.

The staff is beyond considerate and accommodating!

The breakfast baskets were made up of fresh pastries, fruit, yogurt,and eggs. I would recommend this establishment without a doubt!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We are very happy with the accomodation, the staff and the location of this quaint facility. The cost was ideal for anyone on a budget and the off road parking outside allowed us to leave the car and explore Carmel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The photos of this place made us look forward to staying. I must say here that I was hesitant because I'm not really a fan of 'quaint' (can mean eclectic or just plain weird according to the owners individual taste in decorating!), or 'Inns' (can be small and kind of friendly to the point of intrusive). Well, I was right to be hesitant. Despite the photos, the Inn also has a sister Inn across the road so it was a bit confusing where we were to check in. We did, in a small space where there was room for a chair that was taken by a man who looked quite comfortably and lengthily ensconsed taking up the happy hour drinks session in that tiny space at the reception.

Over to the room, upstairs with the bags to the far end passing in front of the other rooms with rolling baggage along the timber landing (note to self to try to be extra quiet leaving early the next morning). Room decorated in a mishmash of furniture styles and looking a little worn and patched. The carpets (one over the other atop something else pretty lumpy looking) looked like they could do with a good clean. The bathroom was a real squeeze and the less said the better. The sherry on offer was unnecessary (but very quaint..) but in all fairness, the bed was comfortable (at least I think so, we'd been driving all day and I may have slept well on a sack of patatoes!) and the owner had provided us the night before with a bunch of breakfast items (minus the pastries) that would ordinarily be provided at 8am be which time we'd be long gone. They were very welcome and included fruit, juice, yoghurt, water. All items we made use of on our next day of 10 hours driving.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de Carmel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Carmel Inn

Address: Monte Verde Street, at Ocean Avenue south 2 doors, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the famous artisan village of Carmel-by-the-Sea you will find this classic country-style bed and breakfast inn. Each guest room is individually appointed with distinctive furnishings creating an enchanted ambiance of romance and comfort. All rooms have a private bath, television, telephone ... and our signature sherry. A light breakfast is included in room rate as well as complimentary wine and cheese reception every afternoon, free WiFi and parking. Coffee makers, tea, iron and ironing board, mini fridge, hair dryers, Gilchrist & Soames bath Amenities are in every room.Casa de Carmel is great for romantic getaways, honeymoons, families with children, vacations with friends, personal retreats, and business travelers alike. Downstairs rooms are wheelchair accessible and pet friendly rooms are available. The location of this Carmel-by-the-Sea bed and breakfast inn is perfect for easy access to Carmel beach, the finest restaurants, unique shops and well-known art galleries. The majestic Big Sur is just a short drive south and the opulent Pebble Beach is adjacent to the north. The Tor House and Monterey Bay Aquarium are just minutes away as is the wine region of Carmel Valley and Point Lobos State Reserve, where Ansel Adams took many famous photos. We welcome your visit to Casa de Carmel - an extraordinary travel experience you will remember ... and aspire to relive often! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Casa de Carmel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Carmel Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Carmel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.