We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Lodge to your Saves list
Carmel Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   San Carlos at 5th Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921-0951   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Beecher, Illinois
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed one night in this older, but well maintained lodge. Our room was small but the bed was comfortable. It was a tight squeeze in the bathroom, but everything worked well. Breakfast was very simple, but was tasty. Parking is provided in a lot in the back of the hotel. This place is close to town; easy to walk to the town and the beach. The staff was helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelLodgeGM, General Manager at Carmel Lodge, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear TravelLover1977...

Thanks so much for the lovely review. You hit all the high points -- I think you should be writing for our website! Hope to see you again soon. :-)

Best,
Carmel Lodge
831-624-1255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    18
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
14
33
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Lowest rate in Carmel. My room was generous in size and comfortable. It could use a new coat of paint and the bathroom is dated but in perfect working order. The bed was really great. The breakfast was simple and a fine way to start the day. Free parking, free Wi-Fi. The Carmel Lodge is just a couple of blocks from the center street in town and just one block from the Hogs Breath. Though I didn't have a dog, those pups that were on premise seemed happy. As with any hotel/motel, your experience will greatly depend on if you are lucky enough to have quiet neighbors.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelLodgeGM, General Manager at Carmel Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear SonomaNative,
Thank you for the honest review. I will be sure to get a fresh coat of paint in that room, thanks for the heads up. Thank you for staying with us and we'll see you on your next trip to Carmel!
Sincerely,
Carmel Lodge
831.624.1255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California, USA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We couldn't ask for a better location. It's conveniently located right in the city. Just park your car and head out to the nearest pub. The hotel offer a cozy fireplace and little amenities like coffee maker, pet friendly accomodations. They also provide continental breakfast in the lobby. We enjoyed our stay here and we plan to stay here again. Just because they also welcomed our dog, Joni Mitchell.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelLodgeGM, General Manager at Carmel Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Ms. Mitchell,
What a wonderful review, thank you! We strive to make Carmel Lodge enjoyable for everyone, including all of our furry friends! We look forward to seeing back in Carmel soon.
Sincerely,
Carmel Lodge
831.624-1255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel. When I saw it was 21 on tripadvisor I was concerned. After visiting, I realized that there a lot of very spoiled people out there. The room we stayed in was lovely. NO it is not the most current design but it was clean and attractive and the bed was wonderful. The breakfast was quiet adequate. This is one of the least inexpensive hotels in Carmel. If you want a fancy breakfast, and modern rooms and refrigerators in the rooms, pay more money and stay some where else. This hotel is quiet nice for the price. The staff was also really friendly and the location was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelLodgeGM, General Manager at Carmel Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear momadark,
Thank you so very much for the kind review. We truly appreciate all of our great guests that come and enjoy Carmel Lodge and all of the wonderful things about this area. Hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Carmel Lodge
831.624-1255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The best thing about Carmel Lodge is its location- it's right in the middle of Carmel. But other than that its nothing to write home about. It needs a complete makeover- it's old and needs a big spruce up. The rooms are basic- no tea or coffee making facilities or fridge. The rooms are clean, though, and we had one with a little balcony which was nice. The prices are good too- very reasonable. Just wish they'd give this place some tender loving care.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelLodgeGM, General Manager at Carmel Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear hotranga,
You're so correct, our location is absolutely superb and yes, a bit of sprucing up is in order. The good news is that it has already commenced and by the time you come back to Carmel and stay with us again you will see some of the upgrades. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Sincerely,
Carmel Lodge
831.624.1255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We have been staying here for years and enjoying every minute of it. It is all about location,
friendly staff, lovely rooms (we always stay in room 30), and good parking. We wouldn't stay
anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelLodgeGM, General Manager at Carmel Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Barbara J,
Awesome review! Thank you soooo much, it really does mean a lot to us to hear nice feedback.
See you soon!
Sincerely,
Carmel Lodge
831-624-1255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here one night which was fine. The bed was comfy and I didn't hear the neighbors except when they were outside our door yelling to their friends (really? come on) at midnight. They could go through and replace the fixtures in the bathroom for very little cost and it would make a huge difference. A lot of dirty spots and paint chipping. I will stay somewhere else next time because this was almost 300.00 for one night with our dog..ouch!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelLodgeGM, General Manager at Carmel Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear jujubee47,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. My apologies to you that your stay with us was not perfect. We have started upgrading the property and the next time you're in Carmel please stop in and take a look at some of the rooms. I think that you will be impressed at the changes.
Thanks again and hopefully you'll give us one more try.
Sincerely,
Carmel Lodge
831-624-1255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Lodge

Address: San Carlos at 5th Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921-0951
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmel Lodge has 38 guest rooms and is conveniently located in downtown Carmel- by-the-Sea and is just steps from fabulous restaurants, art galleries and boutique shopping. Carmel Lodge offers their guests complimentary parking in the private lot, complimentary continental breakfast served to the room, and complimentary WiFi. The inn is only a half-mile from the white sands of Carmel Beach where the water is crisp and cool and the beach is clean and beautiful, and dogs can frolic off-leash. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Carmel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.