We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pacific Highway 1 stopover” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Lodge to your Saves list
Carmel Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   San Carlos at 5th Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921-0951   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Alexandria, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pacific Highway 1 stopover”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Reception staff very friendly and helpful. First impressions are very good as the rooms are massive, however as others have said it is a bit tired now and needs some work. I turned our shower on and could not turn it off!!! To be fair, the maid came within 5 minutes and managed to temporarily fix it and it was properly fixed by the time we came back from our day of walking around Carmel. Good central location worked for me and the bed was both massive and comfortable. You could do a lot worse than stay here

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelLodgeGM, General Manager at Carmel Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Ian_Roper,
Many thanks for the nice review. Sorry about shower not turning off easily. I have made sure that all of the fixtures have been checked and that issue shouldn't happen again. Hopefully you had a lovely trip in the states and got some good beach time in while you were here. Next time you're visiting the area please come back and stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Carmel Lodge
831.624.1255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    18
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
14
33
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Everything in Carmel is expensive. When you go there, you expect things to be nice. This motel is tired. It gives the impression it hasn't been remodeled in years, Our shower door wouldn't close all the way. The continental breakfast is lame. A packaged sweet roll and a bagel that you have to take to your room. The outside railing needs paint. It is very convenient to the downtown shopping area and offers free parking. The room was very small. There was an empty swimming pool next to the parking lot that I'm not sure was connected to the motel, but we looked into it whenever we left the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We werre told that this hotel/motel had just got done with a renovation. Well then they forgot to do a lot of rooms. Very noisey and no A/C just a desk fan. More noise if you open windows. There was not even a sofa in our room. There were webs in the corners and paint peeling from water damage. Was going to use pool good thing as there was no water in the pool. The room is nothing more than a square box that they put a bed in not welcoming at all. One chair to set on and if you wanted to watch TV you had to set on the bed. Bathroom only cleaned so so. The only good thing was the front desk people or person was nice and wifi. For the amount of money I could have stayed somewhere a lot nicer. I will not use again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hulett
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was a nice clean comfortable hotel. Seemed more like an apartment than a hotel room. Open the window and get the ocean breezes. Very quiet great for sleeping in or an afternoon nap. Will definitely stay here again. Just walk down town or to the beach. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Front Desk was friendly when we arrived and gave us Room Four.
Really noisy in the morning as you are next to Reception.
Wow, really tired interior. Only one lamp in room and I think the lamp on the nightstand had a brother but must have broken and not replaced. We were here for one night so was somewhere to sleep but couldn't imagine any longer.
There are plenty of nice places in Carmel, skip this one and go to Casa Verde which was fully booked hence ending up here.
I will say that it was very clean though which gave it 2 stars.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I usually always check Trip Advisor before booking a room at a motel I've never stayed at. Read all the horrible reviews here and my wife and I headed to the Carmel Lodge with much trepidation. All for naught because our room was spotless and very well furnished. The bed was so comfortable we checked the brand and plan to buy one from that manufacturer. Carmel Lodge has free parking which is great because you don't need to drive anywhere....you are right near EVERYTHING in Carmel by foot. Management was nice and attentive to our minimal needs. I'm starting to think Trip Advisor is dominated by peope who always complain just for sport. BY ALL MEANS STAY THERE!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent a weekend there the end of June and must say we were very disappointed. We reserved a King Deluxe - it wasn't. Tried to stick us with one next to the office and what a dump. We then requested a second floor room over looking 5th street. The balcony pation was nice and saved the day. Room was old and run down. Bathroon was small and outdated. The photos on the website must have been taked 20 years ago. The pool and the restaurant were both closed. We expected more for $189 a night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Lodge

Address: San Carlos at 5th Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921-0951
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmel Lodge has 38 guest rooms and is conveniently located in downtown Carmel- by-the-Sea and is just steps from fabulous restaurants, art galleries and boutique shopping. Carmel Lodge offers their guests complimentary parking in the private lot, complimentary continental breakfast served to the room, and complimentary WiFi. The inn is only a half-mile from the white sands of Carmel Beach where the water is crisp and cool and the beach is clean and beautiful, and dogs can frolic off-leash. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carmel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.