We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What can be said that was good.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Lodge

Save Saved
You added Carmel Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carmel Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   San Carlos at 5th Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921-0951   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Bend, Oregon, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What can be said that was good.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We werre told that this hotel/motel had just got done with a renovation. Well then they forgot to do a lot of rooms. Very noisey and no A/C just a desk fan. More noise if you open windows. There was not even a sofa in our room. There were webs in the corners and paint peeling from water damage. Was going to use pool good thing as there was no water in the pool. The room is nothing more than a square box that they put a bed in not welcoming at all. One chair to set on and if you wanted to watch TV you had to set on the bed. Bathroom only cleaned so so. The only good thing was the front desk people or person was nice and wifi. For the amount of money I could have stayed somewhere a lot nicer. I will not use again.

Room Tip: No A/C and rooms make you feel closed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    45
    47
    25
    17
See reviews for
40
79
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hulett
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was a nice clean comfortable hotel. Seemed more like an apartment than a hotel room. Open the window and get the ocean breezes. Very quiet great for sleeping in or an afternoon nap. Will definitely stay here again. Just walk down town or to the beach. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Front Desk was friendly when we arrived and gave us Room Four.
Really noisy in the morning as you are next to Reception.
Wow, really tired interior. Only one lamp in room and I think the lamp on the nightstand had a brother but must have broken and not replaced. We were here for one night so was somewhere to sleep but couldn't imagine any longer.
There are plenty of nice places in Carmel, skip this one and go to Casa Verde which was fully booked hence ending up here.
I will say that it was very clean though which gave it 2 stars.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I usually always check Trip Advisor before booking a room at a motel I've never stayed at. Read all the horrible reviews here and my wife and I headed to the Carmel Lodge with much trepidation. All for naught because our room was spotless and very well furnished. The bed was so comfortable we checked the brand and plan to buy one from that manufacturer. Carmel Lodge has free parking which is great because you don't need to drive anywhere....you are right near EVERYTHING in Carmel by foot. Management was nice and attentive to our minimal needs. I'm starting to think Trip Advisor is dominated by peope who always complain just for sport. BY ALL MEANS STAY THERE!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent a weekend there the end of June and must say we were very disappointed. We reserved a King Deluxe - it wasn't. Tried to stick us with one next to the office and what a dump. We then requested a second floor room over looking 5th street. The balcony pation was nice and saved the day. Room was old and run down. Bathroon was small and outdated. The photos on the website must have been taked 20 years ago. The pool and the restaurant were both closed. We expected more for $189 a night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Unfortunately I have been a long time supporter of Carmel Lodge. However for the last 5 years they have been saying they are in the process of remodeling. NOT SO! The rooms I had were horrible. Dirty chairs in the King deluxe and worn facilities. The cheapest tissue boxes no cover, towels below any standard I have seen recently in 3 star plus hotels, rooms that needed painting 10 years ago, pillows that are of the lowest quality, no planting in the planters and marginal friendliness at the front desk, bugs in the florescent light fixtures in the back hall.

The only salvaging features were the friendly housekeepers and the location. My recommendation find something else.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

If this place were anywhere else in the US, it would be rated one star and cost $59.00. For over $200 a night, I expect much more value. The rooms, woodwork and furniture are old, chipped and in disrepair. It was the smallest bathroom and shower I've ever encountered. The pink tile tells me it has not been updated since the 1960's. No, it is not charming, just tired. The inside of the shower was clean enough, but the shower door was moldy. Bathroom fixtures are chipped and rusted brass. Sheets were soft and worn thin; pillows are spongy and thick. The duvet cover is taupe color heavy fabric and seems dirty. Most modern day hotels use duvet covers that are washed for each new guest. The free continental breakfast consisted of good coffee, bagels, apples and oranges. Guests hover over the tiny buffet table in the lobby to get their food, and then stand outside to eat and drink. Pool was empty of water and we were told that they are remodeling. I see that they are making very few piecemeal cosmetic improvements. Two new chairs were in our room, but they reeked of jute smell and made the whole room stink. Sadly, this motel screams that they do not care enough about their guests to close the place for a time to remodel and get it done right. The best part of this hotel was the free wi-fi, good coffee and location.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room along Fifth Street. The balcony rooms along San Carlos Street give you a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Lodge

Address: San Carlos at 5th Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921-0951
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmel Lodge has 38 guest rooms and is conveniently located in downtown Carmel- by-the-Sea and is just steps from fabulous restaurants, art galleries and boutique shopping. Carmel Lodge offers their guests complimentary parking in the private lot, complimentary continental breakfast served to the room, and complimentary WiFi. The inn is only a half-mile from the white sands of Carmel Beach where the water is crisp and cool and the beach is clean and beautiful, and dogs can frolic off-leash. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Carmel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.