We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - in the 60's” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Lodge

Save Saved
You added Carmel Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carmel Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   San Carlos at 5th Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921-0951   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel - in the 60's”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent a weekend there the end of June and must say we were very disappointed. We reserved a King Deluxe - it wasn't. Tried to stick us with one next to the office and what a dump. We then requested a second floor room over looking 5th street. The balcony pation was nice and saved the day. Room was old and run down. Bathroon was small and outdated. The photos on the website must have been taked 20 years ago. The pool and the restaurant were both closed. We expected more for $189 a night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    42
    44
    25
    17
See reviews for
38
75
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Unfortunately I have been a long time supporter of Carmel Lodge. However for the last 5 years they have been saying they are in the process of remodeling. NOT SO! The rooms I had were horrible. Dirty chairs in the King deluxe and worn facilities. The cheapest tissue boxes no cover, towels below any standard I have seen recently in 3 star plus hotels, rooms that needed painting 10 years ago, pillows that are of the lowest quality, no planting in the planters and marginal friendliness at the front desk, bugs in the florescent light fixtures in the back hall.

The only salvaging features were the friendly housekeepers and the location. My recommendation find something else.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

If this place were anywhere else in the US, it would be rated one star and cost $59.00. For over $200 a night, I expect much more value. The rooms, woodwork and furniture are old, chipped and in disrepair. It was the smallest bathroom and shower I've ever encountered. The pink tile tells me it has not been updated since the 1960's. No, it is not charming, just tired. The inside of the shower was clean enough, but the shower door was moldy. Bathroom fixtures are chipped and rusted brass. Sheets were soft and worn thin; pillows are spongy and thick. The duvet cover is taupe color heavy fabric and seems dirty. Most modern day hotels use duvet covers that are washed for each new guest. The free continental breakfast consisted of good coffee, bagels, apples and oranges. Guests hover over the tiny buffet table in the lobby to get their food, and then stand outside to eat and drink. Pool was empty of water and we were told that they are remodeling. I see that they are making very few piecemeal cosmetic improvements. Two new chairs were in our room, but they reeked of jute smell and made the whole room stink. Sadly, this motel screams that they do not care enough about their guests to close the place for a time to remodel and get it done right. The best part of this hotel was the free wi-fi, good coffee and location.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room along Fifth Street. The balcony rooms along San Carlos Street give you a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Tx
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Convenient, yes. Price, ok. Parking and WiFi included.
Strange smell in room. Cleaning products? Cannot ventilate. No fan. Rather noisy if guests are visiting in the parking lot,
so open windows not practical.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelLodgeGM, General Manager at Carmel Lodge, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear SuSuPlano_Tx,
Thank you for your review. I will be looking into the cleaning product smell that you noted, sorry about that. Again, thank you for your review and next time let's get you into a quieter room.
Sincerely,
Carmel Lodge
831-624-1255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold River, CA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Let's start with the positive: Friendly staff, free parking and wifi. This old motel is two blocks from the main street in Carmel, so once you park your car, you can explore Carmel on foot. Now the negative: We had a midweek, one night stay that cost about $200.00 (plus $35 for a small dog.) For that much money, we got a room that was perhaps 15 feet by 12 feet with a tiny bathroom. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean, but the walls were dirty and in need of paint. The duvet on the bed needs cleaning. The TV is an older tube style. Aside from the bed, there is a cabinet for the TV, a chair and round table the needs to be moved to access the closet. In other words, the room was old, dingy, and cramped. While clean, the bathroom is so small you hit your knees on the door while sitting on the toilet. The sink is free standing and there is no place to set items except the floor. I've paid more for hotel rooms and realize Carmel is pricey. But if they're able to charge $200 for essentially a large dingy closet, why not upgrade the TV, paint the walls, and improve the facilities? Breakfast of bagels, cream cheese, coffee, and orange juice is served in the lobby, but you have to carry it back to your room to eat it.
Again, the folks working there were absolutely friendly. However, whoever owns this motel needs to pour a lot more money into the property to upgrade it before I'd ever recommend anyone to stay there. To me, a fair price for this room would be far south of $100...probably in the $60's or $70's....which matches the years the place probably had fresh paint.

Room Tip: Get one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelLodgeGM, General Manager at Carmel Lodge, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Mikeandcris,
Thank you for the review and the kind words regarding our staff. We work hard to make our guests feel comfortable, so many thanks for pointing that out. I'm sorry that the price seemed high. Summertime in Carmel does push the rates up at all of the establishments around town, so apologies about that. The winter rates are lower and the weather is absolutely great...most of the time. The good news is that we are in the midst of doing lovely upgrades to the entire property and rooms. Carmel Lodge has some amazing character and I feel that once the remodel and upgrades are finished all the positives will greatly outweigh any negatives. Again, thank you for your comments and review and we hope that the next time you're in Carmel you stop in and say "Hi" and check out all of the great changes that are happening!
Most Sincerely,
Carmel Lodge
831-624-1255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Carmel Lodge is within easy walking distance to many restaurants and shops. If you're ambitious, you can even walk several blocks to the beach. Carmel Lodge is in a great location.

The room was clean but we felt cramped. The bathroom is in serious need of renovation. For example, the walls were covered in pink tile, there's very little space to store toiletries, and I bumped my head on the showerhead. The room had an old style TV. The bed was firm but comfortable. Our upstairs room had a nice balcony. The complimentary internet was appreciated.

Continental breakfast is included which was a good thing since there is no in-room coffee maker or fridge. I give this hotel high marks for location, but other than that, it's pretty much pretty average.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the second floor with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelLodgeGM, General Manager at Carmel Lodge, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear MRO_13,
Thank you for the taking the time to write a review, we greatly appreciate it. I'm so glad that you had a nice time here at Carmel Lodge. Currently we are working on ways to improve the overall feel of the property and hopefully next time you'll see the improvements. I like the balconies as well; it gives those rooms an open feel. Thanks again and see you next time!
Sincerely,
Carmel Lodge
831-624-1255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We were a large family group staying here for one night on our Hwy 1 experience. Carmel and Monterey is absolutly worth a visit. The hotel was as expected. Rooms are large and ok equiped, but they could all benefit from renovation. The kids was not tempted to try the pool, which was rather cool and not cleaned recently.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelLodgeGM, General Manager at Carmel Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Papa Traveling,
Thank you for the review. Next time you're in Carmel please come back and stay with us again.
By then our rooms should be looking great due to all the wonderful upgrades happening!
Thanks again.
Sincerely,
Carmel Lodge
831-624-1255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carmel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Lodge

Address: San Carlos at 5th Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921-0951
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmel Lodge has 38 guest rooms and is conveniently located in downtown Carmel- by-the-Sea and is just steps from fabulous restaurants, art galleries and boutique shopping. Carmel Lodge offers their guests complimentary parking in the private lot, complimentary continental breakfast served to the room, and complimentary WiFi. The inn is only a half-mile from the white sands of Carmel Beach where the water is crisp and cool and the beach is clean and beautiful, and dogs can frolic off-leash. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Carmel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;