We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated, overpriced one-star motel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Lodge to your Saves list
Carmel Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   San Carlos at 5th Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921-0951   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off in May, Sun-Thurs
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overrated, overpriced one-star motel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

If this place were anywhere else in the US, it would be rated one star and cost $59.00. For over $200 a night, I expect much more value. The rooms, woodwork and furniture are old, chipped and in disrepair. It was the smallest bathroom and shower I've ever encountered. The pink tile tells me it has not been updated since the 1960's. No, it is not charming, just tired. The inside of the shower was clean enough, but the shower door was moldy. Bathroom fixtures are chipped and rusted brass. Sheets were soft and worn thin; pillows are spongy and thick. The duvet cover is taupe color heavy fabric and seems dirty. Most modern day hotels use duvet covers that are washed for each new guest. The free continental breakfast consisted of good coffee, bagels, apples and oranges. Guests hover over the tiny buffet table in the lobby to get their food, and then stand outside to eat and drink. Pool was empty of water and we were told that they are remodeling. I see that they are making very few piecemeal cosmetic improvements. Two new chairs were in our room, but they reeked of jute smell and made the whole room stink. Sadly, this motel screams that they do not care enough about their guests to close the place for a time to remodel and get it done right. The best part of this hotel was the free wi-fi, good coffee and location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    31
    31
    9
    5
See reviews for
19
55
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Tx
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Convenient, yes. Price, ok. Parking and WiFi included.
Strange smell in room. Cleaning products? Cannot ventilate. No fan. Rather noisy if guests are visiting in the parking lot,
so open windows not practical.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelLodgeGM, General Manager at Carmel Lodge, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear SuSuPlano_Tx,
Thank you for your review. I will be looking into the cleaning product smell that you noted, sorry about that. Again, thank you for your review and next time let's get you into a quieter room.
Sincerely,
Carmel Lodge
831-624-1255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold River, CA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Let's start with the positive: Friendly staff, free parking and wifi. This old motel is two blocks from the main street in Carmel, so once you park your car, you can explore Carmel on foot. Now the negative: We had a midweek, one night stay that cost about $200.00 (plus $35 for a small dog.) For that much money, we got a room that was perhaps 15 feet by 12 feet with a tiny bathroom. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean, but the walls were dirty and in need of paint. The duvet on the bed needs cleaning. The TV is an older tube style. Aside from the bed, there is a cabinet for the TV, a chair and round table the needs to be moved to access the closet. In other words, the room was old, dingy, and cramped. While clean, the bathroom is so small you hit your knees on the door while sitting on the toilet. The sink is free standing and there is no place to set items except the floor. I've paid more for hotel rooms and realize Carmel is pricey. But if they're able to charge $200 for essentially a large dingy closet, why not upgrade the TV, paint the walls, and improve the facilities? Breakfast of bagels, cream cheese, coffee, and orange juice is served in the lobby, but you have to carry it back to your room to eat it.
Again, the folks working there were absolutely friendly. However, whoever owns this motel needs to pour a lot more money into the property to upgrade it before I'd ever recommend anyone to stay there. To me, a fair price for this room would be far south of $100...probably in the $60's or $70's....which matches the years the place probably had fresh paint.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelLodgeGM, General Manager at Carmel Lodge, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Mikeandcris,
Thank you for the review and the kind words regarding our staff. We work hard to make our guests feel comfortable, so many thanks for pointing that out. I'm sorry that the price seemed high. Summertime in Carmel does push the rates up at all of the establishments around town, so apologies about that. The winter rates are lower and the weather is absolutely great...most of the time. The good news is that we are in the midst of doing lovely upgrades to the entire property and rooms. Carmel Lodge has some amazing character and I feel that once the remodel and upgrades are finished all the positives will greatly outweigh any negatives. Again, thank you for your comments and review and we hope that the next time you're in Carmel you stop in and say "Hi" and check out all of the great changes that are happening!
Most Sincerely,
Carmel Lodge
831-624-1255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Carmel Lodge is within easy walking distance to many restaurants and shops. If you're ambitious, you can even walk several blocks to the beach. Carmel Lodge is in a great location.

The room was clean but we felt cramped. The bathroom is in serious need of renovation. For example, the walls were covered in pink tile, there's very little space to store toiletries, and I bumped my head on the showerhead. The room had an old style TV. The bed was firm but comfortable. Our upstairs room had a nice balcony. The complimentary internet was appreciated.

Continental breakfast is included which was a good thing since there is no in-room coffee maker or fridge. I give this hotel high marks for location, but other than that, it's pretty much pretty average.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelLodgeGM, General Manager at Carmel Lodge, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear MRO_13,
Thank you for the taking the time to write a review, we greatly appreciate it. I'm so glad that you had a nice time here at Carmel Lodge. Currently we are working on ways to improve the overall feel of the property and hopefully next time you'll see the improvements. I like the balconies as well; it gives those rooms an open feel. Thanks again and see you next time!
Sincerely,
Carmel Lodge
831-624-1255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We were a large family group staying here for one night on our Hwy 1 experience. Carmel and Monterey is absolutly worth a visit. The hotel was as expected. Rooms are large and ok equiped, but they could all benefit from renovation. The kids was not tempted to try the pool, which was rather cool and not cleaned recently.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelLodgeGM, General Manager at Carmel Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Papa Traveling,
Thank you for the review. Next time you're in Carmel please come back and stay with us again.
By then our rooms should be looking great due to all the wonderful upgrades happening!
Thanks again.
Sincerely,
Carmel Lodge
831-624-1255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
u.k.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The carmel lodge is a comfortable old style hotel. situated right in the middle of the charming town. It is surrounded by several other identical style hotels. VERY GOOD STANDARD OF COMFORT. ROOM FURNISHINGS ETC. We had a balcony overlooking the quiet street, which GAVE US SO MUCH MORE SPACE. We were able to have drinks out there of an evening,
Everything in carmel is within 5 minutes walking distance. several restaurants nearer than that.
Free parking on site. Breakfast in with the room rate. This was served in the lobby. Juice, tea, coffee and chocolate. cereals bagels pastries. yoghurts and fruit. We took this up to our room and enjoyed it on the balcony. reception staff very friendly and helpful. great place for aquick stopover or longer. We stayed 3 nights.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelLodgeGM, General Manager at Carmel Lodge, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Littlepatsy,
What a wonderful review, thank you! We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Sincerely,
Carmel Lodge
831.624.1255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed for 1 night. Cost $176 after TAX and I would probably still be writing that it wasn't good value for money if that price was halved. I'm not sure if the price reflects other accom in Carmel but maybe it's just an expensive place to stay?

Our room was okay but very much just a basic motel. breakfast was poor but the Staff were nice.

The pool wasn't open but didn't look up to much

All in all, if its the cheapest place you can find and that's all that matters then its clean and comfortable enough so go for it, otherwise I guess better places await your custom.

As for location I think anywhere in Carmel is suitable as the place is so small

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelLodgeGM, General Manager at Carmel Lodge, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear CptChunderpants,
Thank you for the review, they are always appreciated. Also, thank you for the compliment regarding the staff being nice, this is very important to us. You are so very correct regarding Carmel being a bit expensive, especially in the summer. What one must always remember is that Carmel by the Sea is a one-of-a-kind village and is walking distance to everything in town. This area is unique in that nature out ways development and there are no high rise hotels or massive sprawling resorts therefore the small inns and hotels need to accommodate a lot of guests and do it with limited space. Again, thank you for the review and hopefully next time you're in town you'll give us another try.
Sincerely,
Jeremy Barrett
831.624.1255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Lodge

Address: San Carlos at 5th Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921-0951
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmel Lodge has 38 guest rooms, is conveniently located in downtown Carmel- by-the-Sea and is just steps from famed Ocean Avenue's fabulous restaurants, art galleries and boutique shopping. Carmel Lodge offers their guests complimentary parking in the private lot, complimentary continental breakfast served to the room, and complimentary WiFi. The inn is only a half-mile from the white sands of Carmel Beach where the water is crisp and cool and the beach is clean and beautiful, and dogs can frolic off-leash. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Carmel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.