We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and OK...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea

Save Saved
You added Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   NE 5th & Mission, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #27 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cheap and OK...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

After extensive research this was the cheapest we could find. Location great, decor very old and needs update.Walls very thin so can hear toilet flushes etc. No plug in sink but guy on desk very pleasant and provided one. Breakfast fine. Liked the basket delivery. For anyone visiting now ( we are leaving today) it is very cold and has been cloudy the whole time. Had to buy a coat. Go to Carmel Valley, 15 mins drive, where it is sunny and hot. Wear shorts amd T shirt. We went for a great walk in Garland Ranch regional Park and then on to a cafe called Toast in the village for lunch. Fantastic food then sat in the community park to enjoy sun at last. If you fancy a swim there is an outdoor pool and beds. Although Carmel is stunning the weather lets it down.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    32
    24
    6
    12
See reviews for
15
49
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Wonderful location on 5th and Mission right in downtown Carmel by the Sea. I can't say enough positive things about this bed and breakfast place. Looking around this is probably the best value around at $125 for a 2 double suite. Like Jane S mentioned, high lodging and city tax of close to $20 so total comes to $145 but can't avoid it in this ritzy town of Carmel by the Sea. Other places were at the low $200 so nothing to complain here.

The room has a balcony which is nice and also comes with a microwave and fridge. The beds were comfortable for a double bed. My dad may not be used to sleeping on a double bed since he fell off in the middle of the night. The bathroom was nice with all granite flooring and walls in the shower (no bathtub). Breakfast was a basket filled with fruit punch, milk, cereal in a bowl, bananas, and granola bars.

We were able to check in an hour early and then walk to the beach within minutes. A bit of a hike to Carmel point where you can see the Frank Lloyd Wright house so we did it early the next day. Overall, a great experience and would not hesitate to come back. Just book early since the rooms tend to fill up quickly. There was only one 2 double room left just before July 4th and completely booked the next day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Although our room was small and the decor could do with an update, the location was perfect and it was great value for money in an expensive and exclusive town. Would definitely stay if we visited Carmel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed in Carmel for one-night during Big Sur Marathon weekend in April. It is a little hotel/motel, quite close to the beach and very close to the main street. I walked several times to the beach.

The hotel was neat and clean. The breakfast basket was nice - nothing extraordinary but just enough to start your early morning. Parking and wi-fi were free. Overall, it was good for a one-night stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Carmel is a place you cannot miss on your visit to California, even if it is for just one day as I did. Already knowing Carmel was a very expensive town, I was worried I couldn’t find accommodations at a reasonable price. It is a very small town, so location is not essential as you are within walking distance from, well, anything!. There are plenty of restaurants, art galleries, high end clothing stores, and not one starbucks or McDonalds!!
Let me tell you the Clarion Hotel surpassed my expectations regarding location and quality. For under $100, the place is clean, great bed, TV, beautifully decorated, well located and offers free internet and a free breakfast basket! Of course there are much better places around, but I wouldn’t hesitate to book this place again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights here and apart from the colour of the ceiling the room was very good. there was plenty of room to get around.
Your continental breakfast was dropped outside your room in the morning in a basket. This was a good idea because you could sit in your room and eat your breakfast at leisure.
The hotel is located in Carmel town and easy to get to all shops and resturaunts.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We liked this little hotel/motel for its throw back to another time. Its reasonably priced and comfortable in a bohemian kind of way. Its probably the least fancy hotel in town and the furniture looks like its from an upscale garage sale, but it all works here for us. The location is very good for walking aroung the town. The front desk people were very nice and the free breakfast was good but basic - although it does get delivered to you at 8.30 each day. The real highlight is the town, the beach (just head down the hill 10 min) and the area. Budget ideas? Well, we got this hotel on hotwire. We got groupons for bike rentals in Monteray (awesome - all along the waterfront bike path) and we had a picnic on the beach here and on the fantastic drive to Big Sur. If you are driving to Big Sur, you can skip the (pay) drive on 17 mile drive. You can walk the beach right to the famous Pebble beach golf course. Although you will be very close to the course on the beach (I threw a couple golf balls back from the beach) you cant see much of it because its elevated from the beach. There is a way up from the beach but there was a friendly guard on duty.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea

Address: NE 5th & Mission, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea Hotel Carmel
Clarion Carmel
Carmel Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.