We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for Carmel town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   NE 5th & Mission, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #26 of 29 Carmel B&B and Inns
Rotherham
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Ideal for Carmel town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights here and apart from the colour of the ceiling the room was very good. there was plenty of room to get around.
Your continental breakfast was dropped outside your room in the morning in a basket. This was a good idea because you could sit in your room and eat your breakfast at leisure.
The hotel is located in Carmel town and easy to get to all shops and resturaunts.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    33
    26
    7
    13
See reviews for
17
52
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver, canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We liked this little hotel/motel for its throw back to another time. Its reasonably priced and comfortable in a bohemian kind of way. Its probably the least fancy hotel in town and the furniture looks like its from an upscale garage sale, but it all works here for us. The location is very good for walking aroung the town. The front desk people were very nice and the free breakfast was good but basic - although it does get delivered to you at 8.30 each day. The real highlight is the town, the beach (just head down the hill 10 min) and the area. Budget ideas? Well, we got this hotel on hotwire. We got groupons for bike rentals in Monteray (awesome - all along the waterfront bike path) and we had a picnic on the beach here and on the fantastic drive to Big Sur. If you are driving to Big Sur, you can skip the (pay) drive on 17 mile drive. You can walk the beach right to the famous Pebble beach golf course. Although you will be very close to the course on the beach (I threw a couple golf balls back from the beach) you cant see much of it because its elevated from the beach. There is a way up from the beach but there was a friendly guard on duty.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Do not book this room without carefully looking at the Carmel Oaks Inn website. The walls are a loud mustard gold that looks like glue was left on the walls after wallpaper was removed. The furniture was painted over rather than updated. If you are looking for a relaxing stay in Carmel, this is not the place. I will say that the staff was pleasant and the room was clean, but it does NOT look like the pictures on the choice hotels site. And Coice/Clarion customer relations says it off like it's a "nice marbled look." I regret booking this room through Choice Hotels. It would be different if they had the right pictures on their site, but they're not and Choice has opted to not take responsibility. In fact they said "The description says it's a boutique hotel so the pictures may not match."

Room Tip: Don't book through Choice. Call the hotel directly and find out if they have their own website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmeloaks, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
We're concerned about the problems you've experienced at our hotel during your recent visit. We're writing to thank you for taking the time to share. We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. Consequently, it's disappointing to learn that you're unhappy.
Please accept our sincere apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The inn is conveniently located a block away from the heart of downtown, although it was a little difficult to find at first as we arrived late at night and there were no street lights and no property numbers, just "cross-street names". We looped around the block a couple of times before finally spotting this place.

The inn itself is a little old, but it is decently clean, quiet and somewhat safe. I liked the location very much as it was within walking distance to some great restaurants in the neighbourhood.

The decor in the room was rather interesting, and they served us breakfast in a small basket that was left outside your room door every morning. The food was average though - some granola bar, milk, orange juice, bananas, but there's a good brunch place just 2 minutes walk away :)

Overall, for the price I paid (on hotwire), it was a decent deal. I'd stay here again, if only for the wonderful location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for an extended weekend with my husband and two children. It was clean and comfortable. The location can't be beat, it is just steps from great restaurants, shops and galleries. It is exactly what we expected for the money we were paying. The little breakfast baskets in the morning were fine to get us fueled in the morning before heading out to the many wonderful sites this area has to offer! We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmeloaks, Manager at Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We're glad that you've enjoyed your stay and we want to thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The hotel itself is a bit outdated, but it is very clean, safe and quiet. The room very large with plenty of space and the bathroom was clean with an ample shower.

The location cannot be beat. It is right in downtown Carmel, walking distance to everything. We parked the car and didn't have to move it until we left. The breakfast was simple cereal and pastries delivered in a basket to your door every morning.

If you are looking for a clean, basic place to sleep in Carmel, this is it. Spend your money on food and the rest of you vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmeloaks, Manager at Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We're glad that you've enjoyed your stay and we want to thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We got a great deal on hotwire so this is one of those "you get what you pay for" experiences. The hotel is located on a "corner" with no real address so get good directions because your GPS won't be able to find it. It's walking distance to great shops and art galleries. Small town feel. Good for walking around and exploring.

The room was small with dated decor but they made the best use of space. The walls in our room were painted a bright sunny yellow but in an awful sponge painted technique. It was really wierd and looked like stained walls. Not pleasant to look at.

The front desk closes at 8:00 p.m. but there is a phone if you need to reach someone after hours. Breakfast is served in a picnic basket at your doorstep which was cute. Raisin bran, milk, danish, bananas, granola bars.

Overall it was fine but I probably would only stay here for a good deal under $80 a night.



It had everything you need in a basic room, but truly nothing special.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea

Address: NE 5th & Mission, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea Hotel Carmel
Clarion Carmel
Carmel Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.