We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   NE 5th & Mission, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #25 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
Walnut Creek, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for an extended weekend with my husband and two children. It was clean and comfortable. The location can't be beat, it is just steps from great restaurants, shops and galleries. It is exactly what we expected for the money we were paying. The little breakfast baskets in the morning were fine to get us fueled in the morning before heading out to the many wonderful sites this area has to offer! We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmeloaks, Manager at Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We're glad that you've enjoyed your stay and we want to thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    39
    29
    7
    13
See reviews for
17
60
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The hotel itself is a bit outdated, but it is very clean, safe and quiet. The room very large with plenty of space and the bathroom was clean with an ample shower.

The location cannot be beat. It is right in downtown Carmel, walking distance to everything. We parked the car and didn't have to move it until we left. The breakfast was simple cereal and pastries delivered in a basket to your door every morning.

If you are looking for a clean, basic place to sleep in Carmel, this is it. Spend your money on food and the rest of you vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmeloaks, Manager at Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We're glad that you've enjoyed your stay and we want to thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We got a great deal on hotwire so this is one of those "you get what you pay for" experiences. The hotel is located on a "corner" with no real address so get good directions because your GPS won't be able to find it. It's walking distance to great shops and art galleries. Small town feel. Good for walking around and exploring.

The room was small with dated decor but they made the best use of space. The walls in our room were painted a bright sunny yellow but in an awful sponge painted technique. It was really wierd and looked like stained walls. Not pleasant to look at.

The front desk closes at 8:00 p.m. but there is a phone if you need to reach someone after hours. Breakfast is served in a picnic basket at your doorstep which was cute. Raisin bran, milk, danish, bananas, granola bars.

Overall it was fine but I probably would only stay here for a good deal under $80 a night.



It had everything you need in a basic room, but truly nothing special.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I booked two rooms for a three night stay over the holidays, one queen and one king. Without a doubt, and as many previous reviewers have already commented, the establishment is dated and the property is not bashful of showing its dated details. Just look at the property sign near the entrance to the parking lot - it's missing letters! With that said, the rooms are pretty decent for what it's worth. It is like an amped up Motel 6 room at the heart of Carmel. The rates are about $95.00/night + taxes, which is hard to beat. Remember, you're in Carmel, not in Twentynine Palms. The bathroom appears to have been updated with full granite counter and shower stall, which is an eye opener and also a stark contrast to the rest of the room. The armoire opens up to a flatscreen television set and a mini fridge, perfect accommodation for simple travelers like us. Second floor rooms are also equipped with a balcony with a table for two for some fine wine at night. I also appreciate how the staff leaves a basket filled with pastry, fruits, cereals, mini orange juice and milk cartons between 8:30am to 9:00am every morning. The entire property is very small; there is a small lobby just big enough to check guests in and out and no space for breakfast like in other properties or bed & breakfasts in and around Carmel. Despite the small size of the property, the Clarion Collection makes the effort to provide a morning's breakfast to their guests. While the cold breakfast isn't the greatest, it's the effort that counts. In my eyes, this place deserves a 4-star rating. It doesn't get a complete 5 star because of several small annoyances. For one, our room (#315) did not have a waste basket for trash. I though this was odd and accepted it as part of the room feat, but on the 3rd day, a waste basket magically appeared! Another annoyance is the digital fireplace heater (which was very cool) did not work in my parents' room down in #301. Again, just minor annoyances. We're simple travelers and tend to overlook a lot of minor issues as long as the overall stay is satisfactory.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor if you'd like a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

GOOD LOCATION BUT NOT WORTH THE PRICE
If location and price are both essential Clarion (aka Carmel Oaks) is well situated in downtown Carmel, close to the ocean. Prices are not budget although the hotel condition is. Lowest price rooms are about $90-100/night and for weekends $140-150 plus Carmel’s hefty 12%. Based on our two experiences at Clarion, we suggest the nearby Comfort Inn or for good price/value but a bit farther away, the Carmel Village Inn. The most affordable comfortable and convenient motels/hotels in this area are in Monterey, a 10 minute drive.
PLUSES:
-Location
-Among the moderately priced motels in Carmel.

MINUSES:
-Rooms are small and not well maintained.
-No microwave
-Wifi unreliable. Keep dropping so repeated logins necessary.
-TV not viewable from sleeping area in the units we have stayed in.
-Cold breakfast basket that arrived between 8:30and 9:00am: contents milk, orange juice, packaged roll, banana, candy bar.
-Room coffee almost undrinkable.
-At 2pm we had to ask for maid service even after being away 9-1:45.
-No 24 hour staffing of service desk. And staff is minimally friendly.
-Very limited parking

Room Tip: Second floor rooms might be slightly quieter and a few have a distant ocean view if you have very go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciasca, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for your concern and staying with us. Our suites are larger rooms and of course those rooms has TV by the sitting area. Our all rooms do have refrigerator but microwave is available at the club house area. Some rooms do have microwave and the guest can specifically request accordingly. Our hotel hours has always been from 8 am til 9 pm and our staff do mention when checking in to the hotel. Our housekeeping do concern the guest privacy and they do not disturb when there is a sign. We thank you for your business and hope you will stay with us again the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here for our second time last weekend since we were in Carmel for a friend's wedding. The first time was a one night stint as part of a road trip from Ventura county to Nor Cal. In general Carmel is super cute and full of great restaurants and shopping (actual shopping or just the window varietal), Most places here are B&B's and many have a 2 night minimum and the price is at least $200 per night. We were able to get a suite for $149 per night. Now, this place definitely needs a refresh. It feels a little dated and the furniture is a little bit old. However, everything is clean, which is the most important thing to me. Our suite had the normal bedroom plus a separate sitting area with a coffee table and work desk, but the kicker was a separate kitchen in a separate "room" with a fridge, microwave, sink. We have an 8 month old so it was ideal since we could set up her crib in there and still have our separate area without bothering her while she was sleeping.

Not only is there a lot of space given what you are paying, the town is so small that you are literally in walking distance to everything. The location is great! Good spot - Casanova - is across the street and the Hog's Breath Inn (one of the very few drinking spots that stays open late) is one very short block down. They also deliver a breakfast basket in the morning with cereal, milk, juice, pastry.

So, if you are looking for luxury this isn't your spot. But if you are looking for something comfortable for a good value I would 100% recommend this place. And the next time we come to Carmel I would definitely stay again - the true sign of the quality of a hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the king suite. King suite has a separate kitchen area that is not available in the queen su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homeless
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I found ourselves here later one night (10pm-ish). We had intended to stay in Big Sur, but amateur travelers that we are, we didn't think EVERYTHING would be booked on a Sunday night in October. So we kept driving to Carmel and sought lodging counsel from our GPS. We called Clarion's 800# and got one of the last two rooms of the night. The room was great! Clean, spacious, pleasant decor. As part of the room rate, we received an unexpected basket on our doorstep in the morning. Bananas, cereal, milk, orange juice, granola bar and a cinnamon role. A lovely touch! We highly recommend this Clarion.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea

Address: NE 5th & Mission, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea Hotel Carmel
Clarion Carmel
Carmel Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.