We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea

Save Saved
You added Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   NE 5th & Mission, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #27 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
los angeles, ca
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great value, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here for our second time last weekend since we were in Carmel for a friend's wedding. The first time was a one night stint as part of a road trip from Ventura county to Nor Cal. In general Carmel is super cute and full of great restaurants and shopping (actual shopping or just the window varietal), Most places here are B&B's and many have a 2 night minimum and the price is at least $200 per night. We were able to get a suite for $149 per night. Now, this place definitely needs a refresh. It feels a little dated and the furniture is a little bit old. However, everything is clean, which is the most important thing to me. Our suite had the normal bedroom plus a separate sitting area with a coffee table and work desk, but the kicker was a separate kitchen in a separate "room" with a fridge, microwave, sink. We have an 8 month old so it was ideal since we could set up her crib in there and still have our separate area without bothering her while she was sleeping.

Not only is there a lot of space given what you are paying, the town is so small that you are literally in walking distance to everything. The location is great! Good spot - Casanova - is across the street and the Hog's Breath Inn (one of the very few drinking spots that stays open late) is one very short block down. They also deliver a breakfast basket in the morning with cereal, milk, juice, pastry.

So, if you are looking for luxury this isn't your spot. But if you are looking for something comfortable for a good value I would 100% recommend this place. And the next time we come to Carmel I would definitely stay again - the true sign of the quality of a hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the king suite. King suite has a separate kitchen area that is not available in the queen su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    31
    22
    6
    11
See reviews for
14
46
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Homeless
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I found ourselves here later one night (10pm-ish). We had intended to stay in Big Sur, but amateur travelers that we are, we didn't think EVERYTHING would be booked on a Sunday night in October. So we kept driving to Carmel and sought lodging counsel from our GPS. We called Clarion's 800# and got one of the last two rooms of the night. The room was great! Clean, spacious, pleasant decor. As part of the room rate, we received an unexpected basket on our doorstep in the morning. Bananas, cereal, milk, orange juice, granola bar and a cinnamon role. A lovely touch! We highly recommend this Clarion.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suisun City, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Booked a room here for a last minute weekend get away. Honestly I was a little nervous after reading some of the reviews and seeing some of the pictures. But, they had rooms and a good price.

After arriving, all of my concerns quickly went away. Staff at check in was welcoming and quick. The room was clean and you could tell it was recently updated and the bed was comfortable. A nice little breakfast basket was delivered each morning. It was a good "snack" to get to get to lunch time.

We had a little issue with our heater. We let the front desk know and they looked at it right there and had it fixed by the time we returned to our room. We would stay here again,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Initially we were looking to book one of the higher priced hotels/B&B's in Carmel but decided for the price we really wouldn't be making enough use of the room as we would be out and about so we opted for the cheapest option which was the Clarion Carmel (£50).

I expected to find a slightly run down, musty smoke smelling place which we were willing to accept given the price compared to other hotels etc in the area but we were wrong to judge.

On arrival the girl on reception greeted us with such a happy face that you couldn't help feeling excited about something, she was great, had us checked in immediately and told us all about the area where to go for shopping and restaurants etc.

We made our way to the room and were surprised to walk into a lovely, fresh soap and flowers aroma. The room was a good size, much bigger than we were expecting. The decor was quite floral, very cutesy with little knick knacks around the room like small pottery pots that they had put little candy sweets in. The bed (most importantly) was a very comfy double, the bed covers felt and looked clean.

The bath room had a lovely shower and some very useful and thoughtful amenities including the usual shampoo, moisturiser and also sachets of toothpaste and make up removers.

8am Breakfast Basket Arrived with Orange Juice, Cereal, Cinnamon Horns, Bananas, Milk, Chocolate Chew Bar, Peanut Butter Bar and Milk and a US Today Newspaper.

The hotel was a 1-2 minute walk to Ocean Avenue.

This hotel is amazing value, you can't beat it for location and price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciasca, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for choosing Clarion Carmel Oaks Inn for your recent stay in CITY. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your time and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My husband and I just returned from CA-we stayed at the Clarion Collection for 2 nights. Great location-within a block walk to restaurants and shopping and the gorgeous beach is a few blocks away! Staff was pleasant during check-in (they even let us park there after we checked out-a plus in Carmel!). All the rooms are accessed via an exterior "corridor" (carpeted on the 2nd floor), which they were vacuuming at 5:35 am on one of the days. I must note they do not have ceiling fans or a/c and you cannot leave your window open at night because it is too noisy from guests returning to their rooms etc. Rooms are clean and breakfast basket is decent. A good value for a place to sleep and shower.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

The rooms have been upgraded recently and they did a decent job. The rooms were clean, bed was comfortable, and the location convenient. The staff when booking was not that helpful. Breakfast was a basket delivered, cereal, milk, oj, apple, granola bars and sweet bun. Nothing fancy but fine.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The beds are old and horrible. I would never stay there again. They are still in the 80's. The hotel is old. The service was ok. And the location is ok too.

Stayed June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea

Address: NE 5th & Mission, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea Hotel Carmel
Clarion Carmel
Carmel Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.