We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but that's it” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   NE 5th & Mission, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #24 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location but that's it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The beds are old and horrible. I would never stay there again. They are still in the 80's. The hotel is old. The service was ok. And the location is ok too.

Stayed June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    40
    30
    8
    13
See reviews for
18
63
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

The hubs and I stayed this here Memorial Day Weekend (Saturday & Sunday nights), and thought it was decent - definitely not luxury but it worked great for us. The bathroom/ shower looked to be recently updated, the bed was comfy, the room was large - we had a Queen bed and there was a separate area with couch, desk, and armoire/ TV. Sure the TV is old school (no flat screen here), but at least they had DirecTV. Also beware of the mini-fridge; our champagne exploded from being frozen after a few hours in it, ha!

The breakfast baskets they deliver every morning are a nice touch - they had orange juice, milk, cereal, bananas, granola bars, and pastries.

Love that this place is centrally located to shops and restaurants, and about a 10 minute walk to the beach.

Also! They have their own parking lot which is a huge plus.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here once in 2008 and again, June 2012. We found the service and accommodations to be consistent both times. If you're looking for luxury, this would not be the place for you. If you're looking for a great location (2 blocks from Ocean Street) close to all the shops (Carmel Plaza) and restaurants, a decent place to hang out (rooms have balconies) and clean up (the bathroom was remodeled nicely) for a reasonable price, then this is the place.

It is not fancy, but it is clean. The parking is free. The complimentary basket of goodies is a quaint touch ! There's also a coffee maker and refrigerator in the room. There are many places that do not offer these amenities, so again, for the price and for being in Carmel By The Sea, you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

Very average, tired property. Still in the 60's. WiFi basically doesn't work. Small heater, inadequate in the cold. Basket breakfast outside the door at 8 am. There are many, better choices in this area

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmeloaks, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your stay didn't go as you have thought. We strive our very best to provide an excellent service in beautiful Carmel. Our concierge staff are mostly available to assist any guest during normal business hours. It's disappointing to learn your computer didn't access the internet and it could have been your computer settings. Our staff always tell the time to the guest during check in for the breakfast basket and sometimes it doesn't work for the early risers. But the guest can request the special arrangement for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Our weekend visit to Carmel was aided by the very nice accomadations provide by The Clarion CollectionCarmel.
The Staff was very helpful and the room was very large for the area and had a sitting area and a kitchen that included a microwave, refrigerator sink and table and chairs.
Each morning a basket was sitting outside our door with a selection of breakfast goodies.
We will be back to Carmel very soon and be staying at this Clarion site again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

The staff could not find out reservation (did not matter because there were not a lot of people staying there) and when they did were completely inflexible and argumentative to the point where we did not feel welcomed nor safe. Our children did not feel safe especially after the aggressive nature of the staff and ownership.
We then asked for our rooms to be side by each and despite it being a sparsely occupied Hotel we were refused for no good reason.

One star is a generous rating

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmeloaks, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
We are writing to the following review that any guest will be surprised when the hotel cannot find the reservation. Sometimes mistakes do happen such as wrong dates, different name, etc. In this case the hotel have never received the reservation. The guest have made the reservation which they could not remember but little bit certain that it was through the third party and that can be hotels.com, expedia.com, etc. The guest had no confirmation number as well. Now the hotel staff did tried their best to explain the guest about what have happened and never said they will never accommodate. But the guest do not like to pay since they think it was already paid. Well, the hotel staff clearly stated that if there would be any problems we will be more than happy to reverse the charges. Also the guest wanted the rooms next to each other but that day the types of the room were not available next to each other. The front desk staff cannot give away someone's room too so the guest needs to understand sometimes. We have recommended the guest that try calling the hotel directly so they know they are talking straight to the hotel staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

A friend and I stayed here for one night while we stopped in Carmel and I think a quick, casual stay is the best type of stay here. If I was looking for romance, luxury, modernity--I would look elsewhere. First off--look for a sign that says "Carmel Oaks", Clarion is tiny on the sign and easy to miss. We drove by a couple of times before we realized we were missing it. The motel is old and needs some updating--namely new furniture, a new TV, phone, etc etc. Why have sat TV only to show it on a tiny old fashioned TV? Also, a fresh coat of paint would do wonders. Our room had a bizarre faux finish, including on the ceiling, that looked like someone had sprayed blood all over the place. Just re-do everything in a crisp white or cream and you add instant improvement. The bathroom had been redone recently and was fine.

Despite my criticisms, the room was clean and well kept--just old fashioned. Oh and the walls are thin!

The location is great--right in the center of town and a great base for walking everywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea

Address: NE 5th & Mission, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea Hotel Carmel
Clarion Carmel
Carmel Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.