We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Our Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Fireplace Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Fireplace Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Fireplace Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   San Carlos St. at 4th, P.O. Box 4082, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
San Jose, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Perfect for Our Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The staff here was outstanding and made us feel very welcome. The lady that greeted us even showed us to our room. I was there with a friend and our two small dogs. The dogs got a welcome treat and a clean, ironed sheet to lay over the bed so that they could sleep on the bed (mine didn't). The room was the perfect size for us with two separate beds in two separate areas. We had some chairs to sit and chat in front of the fireplace and to enjoy our complimentary wine and chocolate (a Social Living deal - may not normally be included). We had in-room coffee, a little frig, and a microwave. The place is just quaint and homey. We really enjoyed our stay and would return again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    57
    27
    20
    9
See reviews for
31
78
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have just returned from 2 nights at Carmel Fire Place Inn. We (2 adults and 3 children) stayed in Dolores cottage #2. Before I booked I tried to find a review of the cottage but only found the hotel rooms reviewed.
We were very dissappointed with the cottage and would not recommend staying here. Firstly the fireplace is "plug - in" plastic screen type. Complete waste of space and rather ironic as the cottage states it has a fire place???? The cottage was clean but very old. There is a very small but functional kitchen. The big problem for a family is there is no kitchen table. I cooked a beautiful meal of chilli muscles and we all sat on the floor around a tiny coffee table to eat it! There is an outside area which was dirty and full of splinters and for us unusable due to the weather.
We paid almost $320 per night (not including taxes) for this shack. If we had paid $200 we would have been satisfied. Management did offer to upgrade us when I said how dissapointed we were and how missleading the advertising of the cottage was. The upgraded cottage was newer and bigger and had a proper fireplace but still no dining table. If we upgraded my teenagers would have had to share a double bed so they opted to stay in the smaller cottage.
The location was great for the beach and the town.

Room Tip: would not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at the Carmel Fireplace Inn in March, and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. The Inn is quaint, and bit funky, with pleasant rooms and wonderful staff. The Inn offers a very god continental breakfast, and an average port treat in the afternoon. The Inn is ideally located, and is within walking distance to every restaurant, store, and gallery you'll want to visit. Have a wonderful time in Carmel-By-The-Sea. We always do!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Don't expect a typical B&B. That's not to say that it was bad it was just different. Carmel is charming but nothing is new, That's part of the charm. Even the chain names are the old style motels. With that in mind, this place is out of the fifties. The location is perfect for walking to the village area, just a few blocks. The room was very clean, adequate size. The bathroom in the queen/tub unit is very small and lacking in hooks to hang anything. The gas fireplace makes up for all the inadequacies.It was on everytime we were in the room! The grounds and gardens were just ok. The parking lot had fewer spaces than rooms but there is free parking on the side street. The breakfast room is nice but small. The breakfast had fresh muffins and breads with fruit and juice, no meat. I borrowed a VHS (yes I said VHS) for the VCR and we watched a movie one night. All in all it was a good stay. I didn't notice any other lodging that I thought looked any better than this!

Room Tip: The King rooms may be larger. They only have 4 rooms that have a tub/shower combo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

This is listed as a Bed and Breakfast...well, the so called "breakfast" consists of store bought muffins cut in halves and also sliced to make it look like something different. There was a plate of sliced apples, orange slices, bagels and orange juice and coffee. I was VERY disappointed. There are several nice bakeries near by where they could get some good pastries . They could also get some kind of berry as well. There was nothing to even warm the muffins in.
There is not enough off street parking for the number of rooms and the parking stalls are extremely narrow...your passenger would need to exit the vehicle prior to parking.
The juniper room had a gas fireplace that had NO heat control, so you either baked or froze. The shower was very small and the shower head was mounted about chest level so I had to crouch down to wash my hair. Also, the shampoo and soap was about the cheapest they could find and the towels were very rough. I went here to spend my one year anniversary and told the establishment hoping for some kind of treat, but there was nothing, not even a mention of congratulations.
Needless to say, I most likely won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent two nights and three days with Cody,( our Australian Shepherd/Border Collie mix) in Carmel, staying at the Carmel Fireplace Inn because they accept dogs. The cottage charm in this bed and breakfast lodge was in keeping with Carmel. It was perfect. The room was large and had a fireplace and a full bath. We were on an end unit with lots of white shuttered windows that opened up to a full garden with a riot of colored flowers and shrubs that gave us seclusion. The wainscoting on the walls was a 50's accent but made the room more quaint.
The tub was very small so after one bath, I took showers. Plenty of towels. The innkeepers are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner unit or just explain what you need. They are dog friendly for a limited amount of r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California, USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have stayed at the Fireplace Inn many times and have always enjoyed our stay, not matter
what room we've reserved. Even though it is an older establishment and rooms a little cramped the are clearn and comfortable. The continental breakfast is nice, although it could
stand a little variety and the dining area nicely kept. Big problem - terrible paking. Tight spaces and for anything larger than a Hyundai Sonata risks some serious dings from cars
parked next to you. Also, no handicapped parking accomodations. Can park on the street, if
you can find it, but if you need handicap parking you could wind up half a block away. However, still a nice place to stay and great location for walking around Crmel.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the larger rooms and not face San Carlos, a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Carmel Fireplace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Fireplace Inn

Address: San Carlos St. at 4th, P.O. Box 4082, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carmel Fireplace Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Carmel Fireplace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Fireplace Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Fireplace Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.