We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candle Light Inn

Save Saved
You added Candle Light Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candle Light Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   San Carlos Street, Between 4th and 5th Avenues, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 29 Carmel B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Charming and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at the Candlelight Inn for three nights in June. The staff were very friendly at check-in and provided us with some restaurant suggestions, maps etc. We were very happy with the size of the room, it was larger than most of the places we stayed during our trip, with a king size bed, desk area, and plenty of space for luggage. The room and bathroom were both finished to a high standard. The only minor criticisms about the room would be the lack of mirrors, the only one was in the bathroom, which made getting ready a little tricky when the other person was using the bathroom, and the room would have benefited from some brighter or additional lighting. The main window in the room overlooked the hallway and car park so for privacy we kept it shut which meant the room was quite dark and the lighting wasn't sufficient.

Breakfast is left outside your room in a small cool bag, if you hand a breakfast request to reception the night before, and consists of cereal, fruit, pasteries, juice etc. It's a nice idea but to be honest it wasn't very good quality which is a shame. I'm of the opinion that if you are going to offer your guests a breakfast, even if it is just a continental breakfast, it should be done properly or not at all. I would recommend going out for breakfast instead.

This hotel is in a perfect location for exploring downtown Carmel and heading out into Carmel Valley for wine tasting. There are a number of restaurants nearby and many offer a discount for Candlelight Inn guests if you show your key- the receptionists will provide you with a list at check-in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    69
    23
    12
    3
See reviews for
41
111
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband and I just got back from a trip to California. We wanted to go to Hearst Castle in San Simeon and decided to stop in Carmel by the Sea for the night before heading down to San Simeon. We found a beautiful and charming Inn by the name of Candle Light Inn. We met Helen when we registered and she is knowledgeable, funny and totally delightful. We enjoyed our stay in Carmel so much that we decided to stop back in Carmel for a couple of days before heading back to San Francisco. We liked the Inn so much that we decided to stay there again. Both rooms we had (and the bathrooms) had been remodeled. They are not only beautiful rooms but incredibly clean as well. The Inn has a great outdoor fireplace that was certainly enjoyed in the cold nights we were there. The Inn has a great location, close to shops and restaurants and free parking. They also provide you with a continental breakfast of your choice (brought to your door). You can also enjoy a cup of coffee or hot chocolate (in the office) throughout the day and cookies later at night!!! Carmel by the Sea is a beautiful and romantic place. If anyone decides to go to Carmel, I would highly recommend staying at the Candle Light Inn. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FelinaSmith, Operations Manager at Candle Light Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hello Adriana! Thanks so much for sharing your experience, we're thrilled you had a great time and it was our pleasure to have you with us at the Candle Light Inn. I hope we'll see you again some time!

Warm wishes,
Felina Smith
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Big rooms, clean and cozy. Great bed!
The bathroom is very clear and has a good hote shower.
The breakfast is served on a small lunch box early in the morning, placed outside your door.
Walking distance from the beach. Nice location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Quiet comfortable accommodations in the heart of beautiful Carmel by the Sea. The staff is friendly and helpful. Large clean room with updated bath and beds. Very reasonable price, close to beach and shopping. Great weekend getaway location!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Ah beautiful Carmel! We always love to visit this little town, but the prices can be daunting. We found this hotel on TripAdvisor and it delivered. Easy check in, free parking, and a meticulously maintained property with beautiful plantings and flowers a gorgeous outdoor fireplace, and a very large, nice room! We especially liked little touches, like coffee/tea and goodies with a fire in the fireplace in the little lobby, breakfast that you select and they deliver to your doorstep in the morning, nice quality toiletries and a clean and nicely decorated bathroom. Very comfortable clean bed and a Kuerig coffee-maker in the room. I would definitely stay here again. Only negative was slow to non-existent wi-fi. You could link to it, but it didn't work.Otherwise, really, really nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I am trying to book 6+ rooms for a surprise 50th in November. The property is a prime location, pricing is reasonable, rooms are updated, and the reviews are above satisfactory. My travel agent called on Thursday and was told that she would need to speak with Helen--the Manager--but she had left for the day and to call back tomorrow--Friday. She called back on Friday and was informed that it was Helen's day off...why didn't they tell her that originally??? She left a message for Helen as did I as well.

Today is Sunday. Both my agent and I awaited a return phone call from Helen and received nothing. This afternoon she attempted to contact Helen to find out that she had already left for the day. ARE YOU KIDDING ME?

This is an extremely disappointing experience! I would think that any hotel/inn/resort would jump at the opportunity to have 6 or more rooms reserved...NOT HERE?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Came in town for the weekend to enjoy some time off with my honey. We stayed at this hotel for two nights. A small but unique hotel situated in a nice location. In Carmel-by-the-Sea what not to enjoy! Anyhow just wanted to thank everyone for their hospitality, especially MJ who is a very kind and friendly girl. I also thank her for all her recommendations while in town.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candle Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candle Light Inn

Address: San Carlos Street, Between 4th and 5th Avenues, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candle Light Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This romantic Tudor-style inn located in the heart of Carmel offers charm and warmth with a friendly staff providing gracious and personalized service. Candle Light Inn features 20 large guest rooms and suites and a variety of amenities including continental breakfast, daily newspaper delivery, off-street parking, and in-room gourmet coffee service. All guests will also enjoy staying connected with free local phone calls and in-room wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Candle Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candle Light Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candle Light Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.