We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, Homey, Great Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candle Light Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Candle Light Inn to your Saves list
Candle Light Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   San Carlos Street, Between 4th and 5th Avenues, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cozy, Homey, Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Candle Light Inn. I loved that it's not located in the main street (Ocean Ave.) so it is a bit more private and quiet but at the same time it's not that far from Ocean Ave. It is near restos, delis and shops as well. Although not that near to the beach, I was able to walk to the beach at the end of Ocean Ave. from the Inn. It was a comfortable walk. I love Carmel-by-the-Sea! And Candle Light Inn was our home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    76
    23
    12
    3
See reviews for
44
117
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Loved staying at this inn. Beds super comfortable. Location was perfect. Staff was awesome. Plenty of parking. We made use of the fire pit each night and loved it! Couldn't have had a better experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel is right downtown. Very clean, well sized rooms. They only have double beds, not queens, so if you're very tall, it might be tight. The outdoor fireplace is well setup with little alcoves so you can have private conversations.

The breakfast provided each morning was perfect for someone who just wants yogurt, cereal, milk and some fruit.

I think JT was the front desk guy, who was very helpful in recommending restaurants and places to go.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Second time at the Candlelight Inn. Carmel is a beautiful little town with lovely shops , very good restaurants and a lovely position on the Pacific coast. The rooms are very clean, breakfast is simple but delivered to your door by 07:30. The staff are excellent very friendly and with the log burning fires (Gas) in the garden its great to sit out in the evening with a few beers and nibbles. would certainly stay again and recommend.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are pretty much the same with no problems with noise in any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is a property I wanted to book last year, but it was being renovated. So I was very glad to get a room/suite for us this year. The accommodation was perfect for us. A little kitchen, had everything one would need for a few days. The Inn is quiet and the guests like to keep to themselves so no partying, at least not when we visited. The office staff are very polite and helpful!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns by the Sea C, Operations Manager at Candle Light Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and I hope we will see you again!

Felina Smith
Operations Manager
Candle Light Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed at Candlelight Inn at start of April.....loved it. Carmel is a beautiful little town with quaint shops and friendly locals. The staff are very helpful, the breakfast is simple but perfect and the fire pit is lovely to have a cold beer or wine in the evening. The rooms are spacious and clean with all the mod-cons needed for a happy traveler.

Room Tip: Lower floor near fire pit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns by the Sea C, Operations Manager at Candle Light Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! I'm so pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Candle Light Inn. I hope we can welcome you back to Carmel in the future, happy travels!

Felina Smith
Operations Manager
Candle Light Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The location was ideal, the rooms very clean and the building quaint and safe. I would definitely book here again, great value and offers everything you need. Rooms were quite large and the Inn was quiet. Staff at the front desk were very accommodating and helpful.
We plan on staying here again next time we visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns by the Sea C, Operations Manager at Candle Light Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for posting such a lovely review, I'm thrilled that you had a wonderful time. We're looking forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Felina Smith
Operations Manager
Candle Light Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candle Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candle Light Inn

Address: San Carlos Street, Between 4th and 5th Avenues, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candle Light Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This romantic Tudor-style inn located in the heart of Carmel offers charm and warmth with a friendly staff providing gracious and personalized service. Candle Light Inn features 20 large guest rooms and suites and a variety of amenities including continental breakfast, daily newspaper delivery, off-street parking, and in-room gourmet coffee service. All guests will also enjoy staying connected with free local phone calls and in-room wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candle Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candle Light Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candle Light Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.