We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candle Light Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Candle Light Inn to your Saves list
Candle Light Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   San Carlos Street, Between 4th and 5th Avenues, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
Manhattan Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is a very comfortable medium size property in a great location in Carmel. The room was clean, nicely appointed and roomy for two people. Parking was readily available. All of Carmel is within easy walking distance, including going down to the beach for sunset. The outdoor fireplace set up is spacious and thoroughly enjoyable. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    75
    23
    12
    3
See reviews for
44
117
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Spent two nights in Carmel and enjoyed our stay at the Candle Light Inn. The Inn is centrally located in Carmel, parking, wireless internet and continental breakfast included. Some of the rooms have been upgraded so it is worth checking out which rooms you are getting. We had one of the upgraded rooms, very nicely appointed, clean and with lots of room. The rooms can be a little noisy with footsteps upstairs coming through. We would recommend this location to other travellers. The breakfast delivered to your room in a little cooler bag is healthy and more than adequate. For a fun day we had a drink at Mission Ranch (Clint Eastwood) and hors d'ouvres at Cypress Inn (Doris Day.) Mingling with the stars.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We were in Carmel for a one night getaway and found Candlelight Inn on another internet site for a good deal. It had really great rating even though it was supposedly only a two star place. Both couples agreed that this was a perfect place for us to stay. We were really close to everything, the room was comfy and clean, service was warm and inviting. They have a fire going in the front where we came back and sat for a bit - nice touch. I'd 100% recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My Husband and I have stayed at the Candle Light two times now, and will be going back. It is nice and quit for a romantic weekend.The rooms are very clean and love the 2 person jetted tub.The breakfast that waits for you outside your door in the morning is just enough to start your day. The people working there are all very nice and helpful and seem to really like working there. We will be going back as soon as we can!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a newly remodeled upstairs room that was very spacious and a nice bathroom. It's a perfect location to restaurants and shops and a good walk down to the beach. The breakfast in a cooler was a nice little treat. The staff was friendly and we enjoyed the cookies in the lobby.

Room Tip: Reserve a room on the second floor and bring your own pillow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

At first, I thought it would be a nice place to stay, but it is just average.
The room was clean, but outdated . My husband and I stayed just one night in a deluxe king room, which had a jaccuzzi . He almost slipped because the one stair to the tub isn't nonskid , so I would recommend not to get this room.
It is nice that they have free breakfast in a basket , delivered in the morning , but we didn't take advantage of that as we wanted to try one of the many restaurants in town that are open for breakfast.
I also think it is not a good motel for families...
Front desk lady was pleasant , and eager to help us with any restaurant reservations.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the room with jaccuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

lots of room ( we had a sitting area, fireplace, and kitchen) and easy walking to the heart of town or any restaurant. Staff was friendly and attentive. On the plus side: off street parking, an outdoor fireplace, cookies in the afternoon, beautiful flowers outside, quiet, a cute little (cold) breakfast delivered to your door. Only down sides were no good lighting for reading in the sitting area and the breakfast is limited in options.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candle Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candle Light Inn

Address: San Carlos Street, Between 4th and 5th Avenues, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candle Light Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This romantic Tudor-style inn located in the heart of Carmel offers charm and warmth with a friendly staff providing gracious and personalized service. Candle Light Inn features 20 large guest rooms and suites and a variety of amenities including continental breakfast, daily newspaper delivery, off-street parking, and in-room gourmet coffee service. All guests will also enjoy staying connected with free local phone calls and in-room wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candle Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candle Light Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candle Light Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.