We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close walking distance to town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Briarwood Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Briarwood Inn to your Saves list
Briarwood Inn
San Carlos Street, Between Fourth and Fifth avenues, P.O. Box 5245, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
Antelope, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Close walking distance to town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Briarwood Inn is a quaint little Inn. We stayed in the Stafford room #40. It is on the bottom level and sits between two other rooms. We were thankful our neighbors were quiet. Others have said the decor is dated and I would agree. Our room was clean and in good repair. The room included off street parking which is a plus. The breakfast is nothing more than a continental, coffee, juice, a selection of danish pastries and fresh fruit. It is served from 8:15 to 9:30. I would say all in all it is a pleasant place to stay but it is more appealing on the outside than inside. I will also mention that we were not allowed to check in before 3:00pm. It's not a big deal to us but may be helpful knowledge to some.

Room Tip: Not all rooms come with off street parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    46
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
27
66
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed 5 days in "Dolores St. Cottage I (#99)". This small house is specious (over 750 sqft) and very cozy. It has open space living & kitchen, good size bedroom w/ king bed and small size bedroom w/ double bed. The carpet in this cottage was nice & very clean and looks new. The king size bed I slept in was comfortable. There are one full bath and a half bath. The kitchen and baths are old but clean enough for us. There are dining table and two chairs but wasn't enough chairs for family. I hope there are 3-4 chairs. We didn't really cook but big space kitchen was nice to prepare breakfast. There were plenty towels and sheets in the closet (no housekeeping service in cottage). Towels were very good quality!

Parking was behind the house and enough space to park bigger size car. The parking has 2 space and share with cottage next door (downstairs cottage next to us). It has small patio with table and chairs in the back of the house which access from kitchen door. There are satires from parking to patio and door to kitchen. There is a front entrance on Dolores St. Street is quiet and you can have good night sleep.

The rate was good for specious 2 bed room cottage in Carmel.

Our cottage doesn't share with anyone. It's a private home. Another cottage next to us share with upstairs & downstairs but it has own entrance & parking. 3 bedroom cottage (Dolores St Cottage II) is upstairs. I took a peak this 3 bedroom cottage and it looks nice. The parking this unit is side of the house which is little narrow and it might be hard for big car. Downstairs cottage might be dark (not sure) but it has easy access from parking, no stairs.

Some Cons: 1) There weren't enough storage space for clothing. There was a closet but No hungers to hand our clothes. There was also small drawer but not useful. Small bedroom has also closet but there were big vacuum, big iron board, etc inside so there is no room for storage.

2) One blind in the king bedroom didn't close completely. Also blind above the bed was dirty. Lots of dust so I cleaned up.

3) We arrived past 2pm and we couldn't get in which is okay check-in is 3 but we asked if we could park. The lady said "No" and asked us street parking. The front lady was not rude or anything but it was nice if she let us park (it was already past 2pm and just one hour park extra we asked)

We checked in at Briarwood Inn this time and last year we stayed one of small cottage called "Cambridge" at Fireplace Inn - They are sister Inn's. I felt Fireplace Inn provides better customer services. It's fanny I wrote review at Fireplace Inn last year but somehow changed to Briarwood Inn. Now some of cottages were switched between Fireplace Inn & Briarwood Inn. Dolores St. Cottages are closer to Briarwood Inn and Cambridge cottage is closer to Fireplace Inn - you can access from/to side alley to the office at Fireplace Inn. When I booked this room it was from Briarwood Inn and checked in at Briarwood Inn office but now it looks like it's in Fireplace Inn? (it's little strange). Cottages don't include breakfast and not housekeeping services. Cambridge had included breakfast.

Overall experience in this cottage was very good. I love the space and comfort of the house. Location is very good and quiet. I recommend to anyone who like private, specious room and doesn't mind no housekeeping service and no breakfast. If you want updated & modern room then this is not for you.

There aren't many reviews for cottage so hope this will help.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Lake, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Roomy for family of 5! Very quaint, beds are awesome comfy, two bathrooms and just enough kitchen to keep kids happy at breakfast and snack time at night. Price is right considering we would have needed two rooms for us in a hotel. Walking distance to anywhere in Carmel. If you need room for 5 this is awesome. Pictures on website are exactly what you get. Refreshing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great room with small kitchenette. Not expensive and near everything. Friendly and helpful staff. Tasty breakfast. Clean room. Comfy bed. Great shower. We had a great stay and wish allllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll our rooms were like that. Now I still have some character left sooooo

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We spent two nights here on a Living Social deal, and were really happy with our experience. When you reserve rooms through a discount broker you don't know your room number until the day you arrive, but we really lucked out with ##48 the "St. Anne" upstairs room, complete with king sized bed, flat-screen TV, and large jacuzzi tub.

Check-in was quick and easy. Like other Yelpers mentioned, the parking spaces are a bit tight, but the location was such that we rarely moved our car. We were within walking distance of many great restaurants and shops, and only drove to go to Point Lobos, which is only 5 miles away and the highlight of our trip.

The St. Anne room is super-spacious. The king sized bed was comfortable, and as the staff pointed out, you can watch the TV from the bed, the easy chairs, or the jacuzzi!

Included in the room rate was a bottle of wine from a local winery, 2 wine-glasses and a couple of Ghirardelli chocolate squares, which were a nice, welcoming touch.

We loved the gas-burning fireplace which made the room quite warm and cosy. The jacuzzi tub was perfect for relaxing after a long day.

The only complaints we had during our stay were 1) almost no hot water the first morning. I think there may have been too many people showering at the same time right before breakfast. I let the front desk know and they said they would look into it, although it was fine the second morning. and 2) loud popping noises (which woke us up) that came from the fireplace a couple of times during each night We mentioned it at the desk when we left, and they said they would have it checked out.

All of the different people who worked at the desk were very friendly and helpful, and quite responsive when we brought up our two concerns. They are a wealth of information for local restaurant recommendations and they have quite a few brochures in the office for local businesses, some of them with discounts included.

Breakfast is continental - juice, tea/coffee, bagels, sweet breads/muffins and fresh apples/orange slices. For those looking for a big hot breakfast, there are good places nearby. We appreciated having a light breakfast so that we could save our appetites for the big meals we planned for later in the day. One morning we brought a tray to our room, the other morning we found space in their small reception room.

We managed to go to both port/sherry hours and found it a great opportunity to chat with the other guests, as well as the Briarwood staff, to hear their recommendations for restaurants, shops, and tours.

The Wi-fi worked perfectly and was included in the price. We found our room to be a wonderful respite and great place to relax during our stay. The location can't be beat! We would definitely love to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed in a beautiful roomy suite with garden view. The maids cleaned room prompt ly in morning. The front desk clerk, Carol, made an original personalized welcome card to make us feel extra special. We will plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Great Location, Spotless, Friendly Staff, Good Vibes! If you are looking for a place to stay in Carmel....It's difficult to improve on this "Friendly Inn"...We truly enjoyed the ability to walk, with ease, to many wonderful Carmel locations. Our rooms were very clean and the over-all ambience was unmistakable! The Bed was very comfortable and the bathroom facilities were clean and efficient with an outstanding shower! No dissatisfaction here!! A Great Experience and something we would do again......for sure!

Room Tip: Front units are quiet! Good Bed! Nice Shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Briarwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarwood Inn

Address: San Carlos Street, Between Fourth and Fifth avenues, P.O. Box 5245, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Briarwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarwood Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Briarwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.