We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Briarwood Inn

Save Saved
You added Briarwood Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Briarwood Inn
San Carlos Street, Between Fourth and Fifth avenues, P.O. Box 5245, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 29 Carmel B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great room with small kitchenette. Not expensive and near everything. Friendly and helpful staff. Tasty breakfast. Clean room. Comfy bed. Great shower. We had a great stay and wish allllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll our rooms were like that. Now I still have some character left sooooo

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    44
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
27
61
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay Area
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We spent two nights here on a Living Social deal, and were really happy with our experience. When you reserve rooms through a discount broker you don't know your room number until the day you arrive, but we really lucked out with ##48 the "St. Anne" upstairs room, complete with king sized bed, flat-screen TV, and large jacuzzi tub.

Check-in was quick and easy. Like other Yelpers mentioned, the parking spaces are a bit tight, but the location was such that we rarely moved our car. We were within walking distance of many great restaurants and shops, and only drove to go to Point Lobos, which is only 5 miles away and the highlight of our trip.

The St. Anne room is super-spacious. The king sized bed was comfortable, and as the staff pointed out, you can watch the TV from the bed, the easy chairs, or the jacuzzi!

Included in the room rate was a bottle of wine from a local winery, 2 wine-glasses and a couple of Ghirardelli chocolate squares, which were a nice, welcoming touch.

We loved the gas-burning fireplace which made the room quite warm and cosy. The jacuzzi tub was perfect for relaxing after a long day.

The only complaints we had during our stay were 1) almost no hot water the first morning. I think there may have been too many people showering at the same time right before breakfast. I let the front desk know and they said they would look into it, although it was fine the second morning. and 2) loud popping noises (which woke us up) that came from the fireplace a couple of times during each night We mentioned it at the desk when we left, and they said they would have it checked out.

All of the different people who worked at the desk were very friendly and helpful, and quite responsive when we brought up our two concerns. They are a wealth of information for local restaurant recommendations and they have quite a few brochures in the office for local businesses, some of them with discounts included.

Breakfast is continental - juice, tea/coffee, bagels, sweet breads/muffins and fresh apples/orange slices. For those looking for a big hot breakfast, there are good places nearby. We appreciated having a light breakfast so that we could save our appetites for the big meals we planned for later in the day. One morning we brought a tray to our room, the other morning we found space in their small reception room.

We managed to go to both port/sherry hours and found it a great opportunity to chat with the other guests, as well as the Briarwood staff, to hear their recommendations for restaurants, shops, and tours.

The Wi-fi worked perfectly and was included in the price. We found our room to be a wonderful respite and great place to relax during our stay. The location can't be beat! We would definitely love to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed in a beautiful roomy suite with garden view. The maids cleaned room prompt ly in morning. The front desk clerk, Carol, made an original personalized welcome card to make us feel extra special. We will plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Great Location, Spotless, Friendly Staff, Good Vibes! If you are looking for a place to stay in Carmel....It's difficult to improve on this "Friendly Inn"...We truly enjoyed the ability to walk, with ease, to many wonderful Carmel locations. Our rooms were very clean and the over-all ambience was unmistakable! The Bed was very comfortable and the bathroom facilities were clean and efficient with an outstanding shower! No dissatisfaction here!! A Great Experience and something we would do again......for sure!

Room Tip: Front units are quiet! Good Bed! Nice Shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We were in Carmel twice in two weeks, and decided to try a new (to us) b&b. No cell phone or internet on hwy 1 meant we just drove into town at 4pm with the AAA guidebook for an address. At first glance Briarwood is like many other b&b's here, but their garden view room was of a small plot of ground.
The room we had fronted the street, and people who came out to smoke cigarettes were in the driveway talking next to our windows. In the morning at 445AM the guests in the next room showered, and the noise was right behind the head of our bed.
The owner/mgrs were nice, but for the same bucks The Green Lantern was a much superior stay. No comment on the breakfast as they are not up to prepare it yet.

Room Tip: room was spacious suite, but too noisy. Other reviews suggest they were satisfied, so perhaps I am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

our family of 4 stopped off here (2 adults and 2 kids) on our way from San Fran to LA - the b&b is delightful located in the beautiful town of Carmel - we had a great room where we all slept wonderfully well after a great Italian meal in a nearby charming restuarant - breakfast the next morning was lovely and we hit the road well satisfied

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I had a livingsocial deal to go here and was pleasantly surprised at the experience.

I was in room M-2 (Chelsea):

* Great staff (Jordan is a cool guy and knows a lot about the area).
* The room was quiet so it's a nice place to rest away from home.
* The decor is a dated but it gives a nice artsy/boutique feel to the place. (I think it was intentional)
* The bed was a bit stiff and a tad small for me.
* Breakfast was mostly carbs, I wish there were some eggs and bacon/sausages.
* Afternoon port & sherry was cool (5pm-6pm) and it's a good time to socialize in the office/lobby to chat with other folks staying there to get dining tips.
* Close to lots of restaurants and a couple blocks away from the local grocery store (Brunos).
* I didn't use the kitchen in the room, but it seems like it's pretty useful. Next time I go, I'd buy some eggs and bacon (and frying oil, spices, etc, etc) to bring along with me to add to the free morning continental breakfast in the office.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Briarwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarwood Inn

Address: San Carlos Street, Between Fourth and Fifth avenues, P.O. Box 5245, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Briarwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarwood Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Briarwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.