We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Briarwood Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Briarwood Inn to your Saves list
Briarwood Inn
San Carlos Street, Between Fourth and Fifth avenues, P.O. Box 5245, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 29 Carmel B&B and Inns
San Jose, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quiet and Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This B&B was very walkable to dining and shops in Carmel. Its a quaint and laid back area. The room was very spacious! The fireplace is soothing and creates a relaxing atmosphere. St. Anne has a jacuzzi tub that is the best we've experienced! There is a strange nook where the closet and fridge are, but oh well. All in all, a very delightful time at Briarwood.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    44
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
27
62
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Quite nearly everything about the Briarwood -- from its location to the most wonderful and friendly staff -- is a winner. We stayed in the Chelsea; it was like having our own little cottage with a kitchenette. Our dog, who travels with us always, was warmly welcomed, and the staff could not have been sweeter and more helpful. Tastefully decorated and very clean. Such a lovely property and a wonderful experience. Wonderful location. The plumbing is in need of an update, but really the only drawback.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALIFORNIA
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We used a Living Social voucher for 2 nights in a King room with fireplace. The room was very large with a very comfortable bed. It was clean and the private, covered parking space was nice. The $185 price included a bottle of decent wine and chocolates. Breakfast included orange juice, coffee, tea and assorted pastries, bagles and cream cheese. Our only suggestion is to add some protein to the breakfast (egg, cheese, yogurt, etc.). The manager was very helpful. The location in Carmel was perfect ... very quiet and peaceful but close to dining and shops. The weather was absolutely perfect (sunny and warm) for our stay which is very rare in January.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Wow what a find! The Briarwood was a last minute choice.What a great choice it was. They have a new manager who is doing a great job. The room was so nice I wanted to stay forever but had to get back to LA. The Room was so clean I felt bad even walking on the carpet. There was even music playing when I got to the room.I really want to go back and its only been a week.

Room Tip: Go see the Christmas lights on Ocean ave around Christmas time
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The location is very good. Can walk to everything. Our room was large and comfortable and the king bed great for sleeping. We had room 43 which seems to be a former motel with another name. It is showing wear and the carpet needed cleaning. I like fresh air in the room but you could not open the windows. All had shutters that were blocked with furniture. We had a nice stay but I thought it is kind of high priced for what it is.

Room Tip: Maybe rooms in another building are better than ours was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was a return visit to one of our favorite "dog friendly" hotels, and what was great already was made better by a few special touches they had added. We like the M2 "Chelsea" room because of its patio out front and kitchen, which helps save $$ when we cook our own dinners...The dogs love this B& B, and it is even better now that the Inn provides a "baby gate" to put up so we can leave the door open and let the dogs roam in room and on to the patio...Carmel is a very special "dog friendly" destination with beaches and restaurants that let dogs be "part of the family!"

Room Tip: M2 - Chelsea is our favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My partner from Australia came to town during busy weekend (we didn't realized there was Monterey Jazz Festival going on). The first 2 nights we stayed in another inn, and the last 2 nights when I thought the whole town would have sold out, I called visitor center and Lisa informed me about this availability.. and so there we stayed - in room M-5. Since the minute I called the inn, saw the room, and checked in with Mimi - I think that was her name. She was very nice and helpful throughout our stay - we feel happy already. The room was located on the second floor with private stairs and entrance, kind of setting back from the front of the house. The room doesn't share wall with others, and right below is housekeeping area. Shower in the bathroom.. small, but surely enough for us. Q size bed, 2 chairs and coffee table, electric fireplace, wall-mounted flat screen TV, DVD player, and... small kitchennette equipped with oven and stove, tea pot, coffee maker, all cooking utensils, fridge, bar stool. The housekeeper does a great job by keeping everything in the shipshape (we met her during our stay and she was friendly, too bad I forgot to ask her name). We spent a lot of time exploring Carmel and surrounding area, and we got back to the room we felt like going back home. My partner Steve was on his 2 months vacation visiting 9 states and stayed in many expensive hotels throughout the nation..but he said he never felt this cozy and comfortable. We both had amazing time. I know for sure that next time he comes back to visit me, we'll stay in that room M-5 again.

Thank you Briarwood Inn for making this stay wonderful.


Inge and Steve.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Briarwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarwood Inn

Address: San Carlos Street, Between Fourth and Fifth avenues, P.O. Box 5245, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Briarwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarwood Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Briarwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.