We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Most Lovely Stay in Carmel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Briarwood Inn

Save Saved
You added Briarwood Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Briarwood Inn
San Carlos Street, Between Fourth and Fifth avenues, P.O. Box 5245, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A Most Lovely Stay in Carmel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Quite nearly everything about the Briarwood -- from its location to the most wonderful and friendly staff -- is a winner. We stayed in the Chelsea; it was like having our own little cottage with a kitchenette. Our dog, who travels with us always, was warmly welcomed, and the staff could not have been sweeter and more helpful. Tastefully decorated and very clean. Such a lovely property and a wonderful experience. Wonderful location. The plumbing is in need of an update, but really the only drawback.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    42
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
26
57
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CALIFORNIA
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We used a Living Social voucher for 2 nights in a King room with fireplace. The room was very large with a very comfortable bed. It was clean and the private, covered parking space was nice. The $185 price included a bottle of decent wine and chocolates. Breakfast included orange juice, coffee, tea and assorted pastries, bagles and cream cheese. Our only suggestion is to add some protein to the breakfast (egg, cheese, yogurt, etc.). The manager was very helpful. The location in Carmel was perfect ... very quiet and peaceful but close to dining and shops. The weather was absolutely perfect (sunny and warm) for our stay which is very rare in January.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Wow what a find! The Briarwood was a last minute choice.What a great choice it was. They have a new manager who is doing a great job. The room was so nice I wanted to stay forever but had to get back to LA. The Room was so clean I felt bad even walking on the carpet. There was even music playing when I got to the room.I really want to go back and its only been a week.

Room Tip: Go see the Christmas lights on Ocean ave around Christmas time
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The location is very good. Can walk to everything. Our room was large and comfortable and the king bed great for sleeping. We had room 43 which seems to be a former motel with another name. It is showing wear and the carpet needed cleaning. I like fresh air in the room but you could not open the windows. All had shutters that were blocked with furniture. We had a nice stay but I thought it is kind of high priced for what it is.

Room Tip: Maybe rooms in another building are better than ours was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was a return visit to one of our favorite "dog friendly" hotels, and what was great already was made better by a few special touches they had added. We like the M2 "Chelsea" room because of its patio out front and kitchen, which helps save $$ when we cook our own dinners...The dogs love this B& B, and it is even better now that the Inn provides a "baby gate" to put up so we can leave the door open and let the dogs roam in room and on to the patio...Carmel is a very special "dog friendly" destination with beaches and restaurants that let dogs be "part of the family!"

Room Tip: M2 - Chelsea is our favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My partner from Australia came to town during busy weekend (we didn't realized there was Monterey Jazz Festival going on). The first 2 nights we stayed in another inn, and the last 2 nights when I thought the whole town would have sold out, I called visitor center and Lisa informed me about this availability.. and so there we stayed - in room M-5. Since the minute I called the inn, saw the room, and checked in with Mimi - I think that was her name. She was very nice and helpful throughout our stay - we feel happy already. The room was located on the second floor with private stairs and entrance, kind of setting back from the front of the house. The room doesn't share wall with others, and right below is housekeeping area. Shower in the bathroom.. small, but surely enough for us. Q size bed, 2 chairs and coffee table, electric fireplace, wall-mounted flat screen TV, DVD player, and... small kitchennette equipped with oven and stove, tea pot, coffee maker, all cooking utensils, fridge, bar stool. The housekeeper does a great job by keeping everything in the shipshape (we met her during our stay and she was friendly, too bad I forgot to ask her name). We spent a lot of time exploring Carmel and surrounding area, and we got back to the room we felt like going back home. My partner Steve was on his 2 months vacation visiting 9 states and stayed in many expensive hotels throughout the nation..but he said he never felt this cozy and comfortable. We both had amazing time. I know for sure that next time he comes back to visit me, we'll stay in that room M-5 again.

Thank you Briarwood Inn for making this stay wonderful.


Inge and Steve.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed here simply because the one I wanted was already booked. It had gotten mixed reviews, but had a good location. The woman checking us in was stressed and very short with everyone from her guests to booking us a reservation for dinner. The room was okay, but not great. The morning person was much nicer. Not a very warm and cozy place. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Briarwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarwood Inn

Address: San Carlos Street, Between Fourth and Fifth avenues, P.O. Box 5245, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Briarwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarwood Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Briarwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.