We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“24 hours in Carmel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Briarwood Inn

Save Saved
You added Briarwood Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Briarwood Inn
San Carlos Street, Between Fourth and Fifth avenues, P.O. Box 5245, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“24 hours in Carmel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Having never been to Carmel before I did my search online for a B&B one night stay mid week in July. While I was traveling with my sister, my niece and her two year old we were pleased to find two queen beds. The beds were comfortable and it was nice to have complimentary Wi Fi connection. This location was perfect to park our car off the street and it was convenient to walk to everything. I appreciated that their website offered views of the rooms and it was exactly as it was pictured. It also had a small refrigerator in the closet that was perfect for a few items that needed to be chilled. We stayed in room #42 on the ground floor and this unit had a four chair patio table just outside that seemed to add that simple touch of outdoors and make the room feel just a little bit more spacious. The breakfast was simple as I expected with only cold items and the breakfast room is tight with limited seating. It likely would have been a better option for us if we'd taken our breakfast tray back to our patio table than to feel we were a part of everyone's conversation in the room. The staff that attended to our check in and check out were friendly and offered us discount cards for restaurants that we may wish to consider. One recommendation was The Forge in the Forest and it was a perfect dining spot for lunch and only a few blocks from the B&B. As others posted they offered complimentary videos and had port and sherry complimentary at the end of the day which we did not partake in. We completed our day with a quick visit to Point Lobos and on to Carmel Beach to watch the sunset and enjoy California wines, cheese, crackers and fresh strawberries. A perfect 24 hours in Carmel!

Room Tip: Check out their website and view the rooms online. I found it to be quite accurate for unit #42.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    43
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
26
58
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nevada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at this inn for 2 nights (wish we could have stayed longer!). We were greeted warmly and made to feel very welcomed. Our room was an upstairs unit. Large, very clean and quiet. This inn is in a great location. We parked our car and walked to everything during our stay. Breakfast was just enough to get our day started with a nice selection of fruit & breads. We would definitely stay here again when in Carmel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed here for 3 days July 2 to 45th, 2012. Family of five had the 2 bedroom suite. Lots of space to stretch out. Kitchen, which we did not use, dining area and living room area as well as 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. High vaulted ceilings.
The bedrooms and bathrooms were excellent, The rest of the suite was also excellent. The kitchen appliances could use updating, but were functional.
The front desk was helpful and friendly. Excellent location in Carmel. The weather was clowdy and cold, but not their fault. Breakfast was included, continental. The coffee was good and so were the bagels. Not a great selection would of liked to see a fresh croisant but it was enough to get the day started.
If you are ever in Carmel you can't go wrong here, and parking is included.

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We went to Carmel as a family to celebrate my birthday, and found the place to be a poor value, with a bossy hostess who directed the breakfast room like a field marshal, pushing around the troops. i wanted to use my laptop in the dining area, and was told that the password was in the room, she refused to give it to me there. When I returned from the room with the password, she told me I needed to wait for my wife to join me before taking a table, and that there was no place for my computer in the dining room. Others came in, to be ordered to take a tray and return to their rooms. I have never been so uncomfortable in a breakfast situation in my life, My neighbor at the next table mentioned the same thing as well.
Breakfast was another disappointment as well. Breads and coffee, with a pitcher of concentrated OJ. I got reprimanded by the hostess for turning up the toaster to the setting I liked, so having medium toast was out of the question. (I stayed in a cheap chain motel a month earlier, and their breakfast included milk, tea, fresh fruit, cerial, pastries, etc..., and for $200.00 less per day...).
The room was described as being large, but was tiny and very poorly laid out. The bed needed to be moved in order to use the desk, there was a twin bed in place of a sofa, and the carpet and bedspread were stained. The bathroom was tiny and just shy of disgusting, the main feature being a 30 year old plastic 30"X30" shower stall with stains and the lovely smell of mildew exuding from it's walls. We were not allowed extra towels, even though we had to pay $60.00 per night for our daughter and her friend to share the room with us. No folding bed was available, either.
The Thing that got to me the most, aside from the repugnant hostess in the dining room, was their "pet friendly" accommodations. We called and asked about their dog policy, and were told they were welcome, no charge. We entered the office to register with the dog in my daughter's arms, the clerk saying how pretty the dog was, and then, two days later as we were leaving, we got a call from the hostess saying we needed to pay an additional $100.00 for the pet fee. she said she had no idea why we weren't charged, but we needed to pay now, or she wouldn't let us depart. Seriously! $60.00 for two extra people in the room, $100.00 for a teacup poodle who slept in her cage.
In summary, if you are traveling to see Carmel, don't have any pets, kids, taste in food, or class, and don't mind being bullied by a ferocious cur, then this is the place for you. Carmel is a pretty town and it is a shame to have suffered such a disappointing experience in this idyllic setting.

Room Tip: if you are traveling to see Carmel, don't have any pets, kids, taste in food, or class, and don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BriarwoodCarmel, Front Office Manager at Briarwood Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
The Briarwood Inn strives to meet all our guest’s needs with the goal of ensuring everyone has a pleasant vacation in Carmel-by-the-Sea. Countering a guest’s opinion is not something we practice, but we would like to clarify some things regarding this particular review. The desk clerk working at breakfast gave this guest a business card with the complimentary Wi-Fi password circled for his convenience. There is also a laminated info sheet in every room with the password listed. It is our policy to ask guests coming in for breakfast if they would like to have a table in the breakfast room or if they would like to take a tray back to their room. Unfortunately, if all tables are occupied there is little option but to take a tray or come back to take a table when one becomes available. This room has one king and one twin bed, making the maximum occupancy three people. Had we been informed of the fourth person prior to arrival, we would have suggested another room or another Inn that could accommodate the party. The guest declined our help to find another Inn with a large enough room for their party, and after being shown the room, told the desk clerk that it would be fine. We have never refused to give a guest extra towels upon request, and in this case none were asked for. The extra persons and pet fees are laid out under the hotel policy, that are printed on every guest receipt given at the time of check in after the guest signs saying that they agree to the terms within. In this case, it was $30 per night, not $60 per night as reported, and the pet fee is $25 per night (making the total $50, not $100 for the pet.) A housekeeper noted that there were dog biscuits in the room, and that is how we became alerted to the dog’s presence. The extra cleaning a room needs when a pet has stayed is the reason for the fee. The desk clerk working at the time of this arrival states that no dog was brought in, nor was any comment made regarding the dog’s appearance. We have been taking pets, in certain pet friendly rooms, for a long time and have always had the same policy; $25 per night pet fee, and asking that pets not be left alone while the owner is away. Waiving a pet fee is never offered unless the dog is proven to be a service dog; all desk clerks are aware and comply with this policy. If we are informed of a room being unsatisfactory in any way, we will work to correct the problem. In this case, we were not informed of any stains or mildew smell that needed to be addressed, and none were noted after check out. We hope that guests will be comfortable while staying with us, and have certain policies set in place such as maximum occupancy and pet friendliness so that we might attain this goal. The Briarwood Inn is sorry to fall short of our guest’s expectations, and readily work so that this may not be the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I've been here several times. The rooms are clean, good sized, and well maintained. For some of the units (most of the units in Briarwood 2) the parking is a little funky in that you don't have an assigned spot, and there's one more room than there are parking places. If having parking is important to you, you should check on the parking status of your room.

The local is terrific -- right in downtown Carmel. There are places closer to the beach, but it's maybe a 15 minute walk from Briarwood, so no big deal.

The breakfast is pretty modest -- bagels, muffins, fruit, etc. -- not the fancy breakfasts that you get in some places, but for what it aspires to be, it's fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The room was smelly, a bit like sewer gas, but ok if the windows were kept open. The gas fireplace worked well enough to keep the room warm with the windows open. Construction was going on at the adjacent property during the day.
The Toilet was child size, uncomfortable for larger people. The remainder of the bathroom was good. Rugs on the floor in the living area interfered with the opening of the front door. The dresser was some sort of useless creation. The desk was a miniature, couldn’t fit the laptop on it. The laptop settings had to be changed to get it to work on their Wi-Fi.
This lodging is supposed to be dog friendly; actually they are merely dog tolerant. They get you over a barrel, they make you swear that you won’t leave the dog alone, this seems to be to their advantage because the free breakfast is held in a room with only two tables. You can’t bring the dog to breakfast, and if you come without it you’re asked where the dog is. This forces one to take their breakfast back to their room on a tiny unstable tray to enjoy on a too small table. The breakfast menu was minimal, the hours it was offered were also less than convenient. The whole breakfast thing is awkward and somewhat underhanded. We said we would take responsibility for any damage our older well behaved dog would do, they would have none of that. The cordials in the evening were a joke, the time span that they were offered was also inconvenient. Cordials were during the dinner hour resulting in low attendance. It seemed like the offerings were intentionally placed in a way that made them difficult to use.
Parking is for the brave, tiny alleys, small parking spots, don’t bring a nice car as everyone will be rubbing against it getting through the cramped parking area.
The staff seemed inflexible, and was not available during certain hours.
In general, this property is overbuilt and cramped. It seems to have been constructed without proper planning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed in one of the smallest rooms at the briarwood inn which was actually a really good size. The rooms were nicely decorated in a homely way with separate entrances, good parking and nice and private. The inn is on a lovely street in a great location about 5mins from the beach and a few mins walk from lots of lovely restaurants, cafes and shops. Breakfast was pretty basic but apart from the all good!

Room Tip: We stayed in the smallest (cheapest) room which was fine for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Briarwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarwood Inn

Address: San Carlos Street, Between Fourth and Fifth avenues, P.O. Box 5245, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Briarwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarwood Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Briarwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.