We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway; Total Relaxation at the Refuge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Refuge

Refuge
27300 Rancho San Carlos Road, Carmel, CA 93923
831-620-7360
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 29 Activities in Carmel
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Refuge is the first American facility dedicated to Hydro-thermal therapy and offers the ultimate in relaxation that is one of a kind! Truly the best 3 hours in Carmel! Through heating up in our Co-ed Sauna and Steam bath, cooling down in our cold pools and relaxation in indoor relaxation rooms or outdoor areas with fireplaces - you will be relaxed! Massages are available as well!
Santa Cruz, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Getaway; Total Relaxation at the Refuge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I completely enjoyed my time at the Refuge. It's not only a great thing to do for your body, the peace of the beautiful natural setting is ideal for a meditative experience. Bring a loved one, or a friend. It's a great way to connect away from all the day-to-day stresses. Renewal is good for the body and the spirit. I loved it.
Enjoy!

Hilary N

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    47
    11
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Hot, Cold, Relax, Repeat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Hot
Cold
Relax

Repeat up to 5 times.

Very clean facilities. Beautiful setting. Towels provided, but robe rental required. Bring flip-flops. Bring a book or magazine. Bring your friend or loved one.

Shampoo, hair conditioner and shower gel provided in shower.

Did not get a massage, but that would be fabulous!

I violated the *silence* rule by laughing/screaming/whooping when I walked into the cold pool. Oops!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Amazing Day Spa, Perfect for Relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was my second visit to Refuge and it did not disappoint! Although I did not have a massage here, I did partake in the relaxation "cycle": Eucalyptus steam room or dry sauna, cold plunge, then relax in a robe by the outdoor firepit. Repeat, with a break once in awhile for a dip in the hot pool. The staff is efficient and courteous, clients are respectful of one another's privacy and the setting is peaceful and tranquil. Hint: if you go on a Sunday afternoon, you can have the place all to yourself! Try this at least once: you'll love it!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana, United States
1 review
“Refuge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed and greatly benefited from the hydro-therapy before our massages. The sauna, steam room, cold and hot plunge pools were clean and welcoming. The staff members who welcomed us and directed us from place to place were friendly and knowledgeable about the facility and amenities. Our only misgivings were with the massages which though relaxing were not as deep as we had anticipated by signing up for a sports massage and a deep tissue massage. We definitely will come again the next time we are in Carmel.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Refuge!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

It was so neat to have the feeling of cold to hot. It was crazy how you felt from cold to hot. I loved sitting by the fire and it was so nice. I would tell lots of people to try it out. I would come back for sure.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Refuge also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Refuge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.