We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a pleasant stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Resort Inn

Save Saved
You added Carmel Resort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carmel Resort Inn
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Carpenter Avenue between First & Second, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
Sun City West, Arizona
Top Contributor
370 reviews 370 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
“Overall a pleasant stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

OK, it needs some updating. If you want marble in the bathroom, forget this place. There are several cabins over a whole city block just NW of the downtown area. We booked two for a family visit on a recent busy weekend. Our room was large, the bed was comfortable and cozy (there isn't good insulation, but our fireplace worked and was very effective), and we could leave our car there and walk down to the restaurants and shops (no sidewalks; be careful). For the price I think it was a decent value in this expensive town. Nice outdoor seating area. Quiet and peaceful.
We were not crazy about the breakfast. Delivered to the door, but pedestrian juice and wrapped baked goods.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    40
    27
    11
    17
See reviews for
15
60
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I made a booking and the only room available was the more expensive King room. When I arrived at the room and saw that I was not in a "king" room I complained at the front desk and was told that I was wrong that that be bed in my room was a King bed. I had many problems during my stay and never did the staff try to be helpful to solve the issues. I would definitely not recommend this place nor stay there again.

Room Tip: If you can check the rooms before.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

This was such a nice place to stay. The managers are so sweet. They allow dogs and since we had one with us, that was great. We had a one bedroom/living area/bath and it was perfect. We wanted to stay there again on our way home, but they were filled up. Not surprising. I would stay here again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeryville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

The cottages are very cute, and the area is a quiet one just outside of Carmel Village. The electric fireplace was a hoot--throwback to the 1970's! It took about 15-20 minutes to walk downtown, just as the staff had mentioned. The walk can be steep at times, FYI.

There was some confusion about the breakfast time. They said it would be delivered at our cabin at 8:30 AM. We raced back from our morning walk by about 8:20 to be in the cabin on time. No sign of the tray, so about 9:15 AM we called the front desk. They claimed they had attempted delivery at 8:25, but that can't be accurate. They did nothing to set the situation right, not even if we walked to the offices ourselves to pick up another tray. I was one hungry and pissed off hotel patron. We checked out ASAP and went back to Carmel Village again and found a delicious roll in a bakery.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin away from Carpenter Road, which can be busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at this great little place for 1 night, it's not right in town but a few blocks away in either direction to the town centre and beach. The cabin's are are cute and quaint, they have everything you need, large spacious lounge/bedroom and adequate bathroom. The fire place is a it wrong but I can see what they were aiming for! Overall I would definitely stay again if I was passing through

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I stayed a night here in December. The room was clean, well maintained, and well stocked with towels, amenities (soap, shampoo, lotion). Breakfast came promptly and was more than ample -- two yogurts, apple, banana, clementine, muffins, mango and peach juice. Bed comfortable.. Staff were efficient and courteous. Parking ample. Easy to find in the somewhat confusing street layout of Carmel. The cottages are veterans, and some of the furnishings a bit worn, but no substantive defects. At the price ($70+tax in my case for a single) it's a fine place to stay for a visit to Monterey, Carmel, and the beautiful coast nearby..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We have stayed at Carmel Resort Inn for the last 14 years,the location is perfect,like having your
own private cottage, can sit in front of your cottage look at the stars and very romantic, the managers Anna and her husband very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Resort Inn

Address: Carpenter Avenue between First & Second, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Carmel Resort Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmel Resort Inn is a unique and truly affordable B&B offering a collection of old fashioned "artists" cottages once belonging to individual land owners. Some as old as 100 years, each of these hand crafted cottages have different floor plans and early 1900's construction. It's all part of the original Carmel charm that makes CRI and the village of Carmel-by-the-Sea a charming and yet popular place for visitors from around the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Carmel Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Resort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.