We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location at Carmel's edge; confusion re: breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Resort Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Resort Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Resort Inn
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Carpenter Avenue between First & Second, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
Emeryville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quiet location at Carmel's edge; confusion re: breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

The cottages are very cute, and the area is a quiet one just outside of Carmel Village. The electric fireplace was a hoot--throwback to the 1970's! It took about 15-20 minutes to walk downtown, just as the staff had mentioned. The walk can be steep at times, FYI.

There was some confusion about the breakfast time. They said it would be delivered at our cabin at 8:30 AM. We raced back from our morning walk by about 8:20 to be in the cabin on time. No sign of the tray, so about 9:15 AM we called the front desk. They claimed they had attempted delivery at 8:25, but that can't be accurate. They did nothing to set the situation right, not even if we walked to the offices ourselves to pick up another tray. I was one hungry and pissed off hotel patron. We checked out ASAP and went back to Carmel Village again and found a delicious roll in a bakery.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin away from Carpenter Road, which can be busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    50
    38
    13
    19
See reviews for
20
73
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at this great little place for 1 night, it's not right in town but a few blocks away in either direction to the town centre and beach. The cabin's are are cute and quaint, they have everything you need, large spacious lounge/bedroom and adequate bathroom. The fire place is a it wrong but I can see what they were aiming for! Overall I would definitely stay again if I was passing through

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I stayed a night here in December. The room was clean, well maintained, and well stocked with towels, amenities (soap, shampoo, lotion). Breakfast came promptly and was more than ample -- two yogurts, apple, banana, clementine, muffins, mango and peach juice. Bed comfortable.. Staff were efficient and courteous. Parking ample. Easy to find in the somewhat confusing street layout of Carmel. The cottages are veterans, and some of the furnishings a bit worn, but no substantive defects. At the price ($70+tax in my case for a single) it's a fine place to stay for a visit to Monterey, Carmel, and the beautiful coast nearby..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We have stayed at Carmel Resort Inn for the last 14 years,the location is perfect,like having your
own private cottage, can sit in front of your cottage look at the stars and very romantic, the managers Anna and her husband very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keystone, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed here with my dog for 6 nights while waiting for the condo I rented to be ready to move in. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I appreciated that it's pet friendly. Each cottage is different and unique. Please remember this isn't some ritzy Carmel hotel and keep in mind the cottages were built in the early 1900's, so don't be so critical. The value for the money is good, a European style breakfast is hand delivered to your door every morning, and the access to Hwy 1 is great. It is walking distance to town contrary to the comments of others, but not super close either, just consider it exercise. Carmel has unlit, windy streets all throughout. This isn't the Carmel Resort Inn's fault by any means. It is very relaxing, has nice grounds and it's safe. If I needed a hotel stay in the area again I would stay here, and because my new condo is small I will recommend Carmel Resort Inn to my out-of-town guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We liked the location and the breakfast was decent.

However, this is probably one of the most poorly maintained hotels I have ever stayed at in in my life. When we arrived at 8PM, there was a wet bath towel in the bathroom. There was a wet hand towel in the sink that had been used by someone to wipe up coffee. The TV was not plugged in and we couldn't find an outlet. We then went to the hot tub - it was about 8 inches low on water, it sprayed everywhere when we turned it on, and it was an infection risk. The water in the hot tub was gray and dirty - there was no chlorine or bromine in the water.

we reserved this on Priceline for $170 + tax. We would have been better off reserving the Motel 6.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Comfortable and cozy room with gas heater, microwave, small fridge and coffee machine... The room isn't big but enough for a couple. Breakfast is delivered every day around 8:30 am and is good and fresh!
Good choice for 2 or more days... The bad side is its location: not walking distance from downtown / around 10min by car.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Carmel Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Resort Inn

Address: Carpenter Avenue between First & Second, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Carmel Resort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmel Resort Inn is a unique and truly affordable B&B offering a collection of old fashioned "artists" cottages once belonging to individual land owners. Some as old as 100 years, each of these hand crafted cottages have different floor plans and early 1900's construction. It's all part of the original Carmel charm that makes CRI and the village of Carmel-by-the-Sea a charming and yet popular place for visitors from around the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Carmel Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Resort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.