We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable for Carmel but may not appeal for all travelers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Resort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Resort Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Resort Inn
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Carpenter Avenue between First & Second, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Affordable for Carmel but may not appeal for all travelers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here 6 or 7 years ago during the winter and liked it except that the heater did not warn up the room enough for us. After reading all the current reviews, we were a little reluctant to stay here again. However, we got a good deal on the One-Bedroom King Cottage and stayed for 2 nights. It is a RUSTIC place and may not appeal to a lot of travelers. Since there are a number of cabins, each experience can be different. In our case the room was huge, clean and the bathroom looked like it was recently remodeled. A coffee maker with coffer was in the room as well as a refrigerator and microwave. The WiFi worked well for us and was faster than in many other places we have stayed. The breakfast was simple and delivered to our room between 8 and 9 AM. It consisted of yogurt, canned juice, croissant, muffin, banana, and orange. This was fine for us but may not be OK for others. We did NOT have a problem with noise from neighbors on either night. However, this may be because they were considerate. Our check-in was fast and easy. Our experience this time was great. However, if you plan to stay here be aware that it is rustic and a little too far to walk downtown. Each cabin is different and each person’s experience can be different. Good luck.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    51
    43
    17
    20
See reviews for
24
79
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DANVILLE
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We arrived right at check-in time and were quickly directed to our little cottage of two bedrooms, two queen-sized beds, and a living room and kitchenette. We were pleased with the space, although all the rooms need to be updated with newer furniture, newer materials and fixtures. However, were this to be done, the price would be much higher. For our purposes, we found our stay comfortable and affordable.

The breakfast basket, while appreciated, was composed of all ingredients we purchase regularly from Costco: Yogurt, fruit, croissant, and Danish-type pastry. No juice. The cottage guests would benefit from an upgrade in the quality of the food items, given this is a visit to Carmel, where fine baked goods are readily available. The fruit, too, was unripe and not ready to be consumed.

On the plus side, the cottages are located in a very quiet part of town, and are convenient to the town center. A bit of a walk, but it can be done. Parking is somewhat hard to find even on a weekday in the summer.

We would recommend a stay here to friends as long as they aren't looking for luxury. We thought it was perfect for the type of short vacation we wanted.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were spending a few nights in Carmel on our trip down to the big sur,it was different from your usual hotel room,a cottage with your own entrance/driveway and patio.We mad our way to our cottage after arriving later than expected,a nice room with fire,television could be more updated,the only disappointment was a pile of bark dumped on the front garden not yet spread out! It turned out it wasn't warm enough to sit out so it saved us sitting next to it.We liked the idea of breakfast being delivered in a basket to your room,though they could of pushed the boat out and given us two croissant rather than one! Carmel is a lovely place although our resort is hard to get back to without a map/good memory and a torch after 8! The cottages were very quiet and calming place to stay waking up to just the sound of birds was heaven.A nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Don't book if you want to be right in the heart of the town centre,if your looking for peace and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This place needs a major overhaul, including the unprofessional staff... Our stay began as we walked in a very musty , tiny room. We had requested a fridge, which of course was not there. When I went to the office to ask for one , They looked at the computer and said" oh yes u requested one, however, they said "this doesnt mean you would get one " . NO customer service skills. .
When we called the front desk to say that we were having trouble operating the shower , and that it was difficult to turn on , the response waw " not really"
ALso, about 50 feet from our so called room "converted shed" there was a full dumspser, not enclosed or hidden , next to a huge stack of empty cardboard boxes. It was there all weekend.
This place certainly should not have the appealing name "Carmel Resort Inn" . It put a damper on our visit to Carmel...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, Maryland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Carmel Resort Inn. Carmel is extremely expensive and this was one of the least expensive places to stay. The cottage was quaint and clean, but the rest of the property needed some cleaning up. It could really be a nice place to stay and I am sure the owners (who were very nice) are trying to do just that. Our cottage had a gas fireplace, which was very cozy in chilly Carmel. I needed WiFi, which they offer, but it was not working that day which was frustrating for me. They deliver a continental breakfast to your door between 8-9, which is a bit late for my husband and I, but it worked out okay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel setting is very nice and front desk people are accommodating as well. There is evidence of renovations, but there is a long way to go. Carpets are dirty and baths, although clean, are totally outdated. It is definitely an affordable place to stay in very expensive Carmel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This place was quite cozy and affordable !!! spacious bathroom and tub! comfy beds! hidden away from everything but close to everything at the same time! it was PERFECT the man at the front dest was nice and helpful! so were the house keepers! we will be going back next summer to escape this madera heat! THANK YOU CARMEL RESORT INN!! perfect getaway!

Room Tip: I think any room will be just right! not to many roomas and not to close together!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,278 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
1.7 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#20 of 23 in Carmel
3.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.6 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#17 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Resort Inn

Address: Carpenter Avenue between First & Second, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Carmel Resort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmel Resort Inn is a unique and truly affordable B&B offering a collection of old fashioned "artists" cottages once belonging to individual land owners. Some as old as 100 years, each of these hand crafted cottages have different floor plans and early 1900's construction. It's all part of the original Carmel charm that makes CRI and the village of Carmel-by-the-Sea a charming and yet popular place for visitors from around the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Carmel Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Resort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.