We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing like the website pictures!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Resort Inn

Save Saved
You added Carmel Resort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carmel Resort Inn
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Carpenter Avenue between First & Second, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
San Rafael, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nothing like the website pictures!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This place needs a major overhaul, including the unprofessional staff... Our stay began as we walked in a very musty , tiny room. We had requested a fridge, which of course was not there. When I went to the office to ask for one , They looked at the computer and said" oh yes u requested one, however, they said "this doesnt mean you would get one " . NO customer service skills. .
When we called the front desk to say that we were having trouble operating the shower , and that it was difficult to turn on , the response waw " not really"
ALso, about 50 feet from our so called room "converted shed" there was a full dumspser, not enclosed or hidden , next to a huge stack of empty cardboard boxes. It was there all weekend.
This place certainly should not have the appealing name "Carmel Resort Inn" . It put a damper on our visit to Carmel...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    41
    29
    11
    16
See reviews for
15
58
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Airy, Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Carmel Resort Inn. Carmel is extremely expensive and this was one of the least expensive places to stay. The cottage was quaint and clean, but the rest of the property needed some cleaning up. It could really be a nice place to stay and I am sure the owners (who were very nice) are trying to do just that. Our cottage had a gas fireplace, which was very cozy in chilly Carmel. I needed WiFi, which they offer, but it was not working that day which was frustrating for me. They deliver a continental breakfast to your door between 8-9, which is a bit late for my husband and I, but it worked out okay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel setting is very nice and front desk people are accommodating as well. There is evidence of renovations, but there is a long way to go. Carpets are dirty and baths, although clean, are totally outdated. It is definitely an affordable place to stay in very expensive Carmel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This place was quite cozy and affordable !!! spacious bathroom and tub! comfy beds! hidden away from everything but close to everything at the same time! it was PERFECT the man at the front dest was nice and helpful! so were the house keepers! we will be going back next summer to escape this madera heat! THANK YOU CARMEL RESORT INN!! perfect getaway!

Room Tip: I think any room will be just right! not to many roomas and not to close together!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is a perfect hotel if you are in search of a place where you can just get away from it all. The cabin style accomodation is nice for someone in search for privacy. It is also situated a little off the town centre so you are clearly away from everything. This however could be the downside for some (including me). Carmel by itself is a quaint town and the Carmel resort inn really epitomizes it. There are no street lamps in Carmel so searching for this hotel during the night can be a great challenge. It has no big billboard and its almost pitch black in the area at night. Worse there is no mobile phone signal in this hotel.

We got one of the cabins at the end of the inn. So we were in a fairly quiet place. There was supposed to be a free wifi but unfortunately it doesnt seem to reach our end of the hotel. The rooms were huge in fairness. We even had a small bar fridge and a microwave oven. There was a cozy fireplace and the bed was spacious enough. The TV however was not working and there was no one answering in the reception to fix it at night. The rooms come with a breakfast basket which was nice- simple but filling. They gave us fruits, coffee, yoghurt, a croissant and 2 halves of a blueberry and poppy seed muffin.

I like the hotel but it is just way to remote for me.

Room Tip: rooms near reception get better wifi signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This cabin style accomodation was perfect for our 3 day vacation in Carmel. It fit our budget and our desire to travel with our dog. The room was surprisingly roomy and well-appointed and, while others complained about the heat source being from a gas fireplace, I loved it. Our front desk host, Ricky, couldn't have been nicer or more well-organized. We had called ahead to request a room at the back of the resort in order to be further from street traffic noise and he had exactly what we wanted available when we checked in at 3:00 pm. We also got the refrigerator in our room that we requested (not all the rooms have refrigerators) - and it was the a very quiet one and didn't bother us at night when it turned on.
There were a few issues but the good things about this hotel really outweighed the bad things. When we first went to our room it was not yet made up so we went for a walk and came back. There were two light bulbs out in the bathroom but there was plenty of light and they seem to be short staffed on maids so we didn't complain. The grounds are in need of attention and, while I enjoyed the hot tub I was a little nervous about how frequently it gets maintenance.
The pet fee is reasonable and our well behaved dog had a great time here. No room-next-door noises to make him bark and his own little yard.
I stay at hotels that include breakfast and this one delivers it right to your room - what a wonderful idea! I loved that and I loved the fact that there was so much food we actually had lunch sometimes too!

Room Tip: Important to request the rooms that are away from Carpenter St which can be a little noisy in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Love this place! We were in Carmel for a wedding and all of us stayed here. It was so nice having our own cottages, great twist on a hotel stay. They were priced affordable too. Its close to the highway and grocery store. The gardens are beautiful and there is a nice community area with tables, a stone grill and a fire pit. The customer service was excellent! They were very nice and accomodating and breakfast was brought to the door each morning. I can't say enough good things about this place...we will definately be back!

Room Tip: Rooms with a frig and microwave seem to be a bit larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carmel Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Resort Inn

Address: Carpenter Avenue between First & Second, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Carmel Resort Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmel Resort Inn is a unique and truly affordable B&B offering a collection of old fashioned "artists" cottages once belonging to individual land owners. Some as old as 100 years, each of these hand crafted cottages have different floor plans and early 1900's construction. It's all part of the original Carmel charm that makes CRI and the village of Carmel-by-the-Sea a charming and yet popular place for visitors from around the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Carmel Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Resort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.