We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owners are trying but not sure it's there yet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Resort Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Resort Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Resort Inn
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Carpenter Avenue between First & Second, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Owners are trying but not sure it's there yet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel setting is very nice and front desk people are accommodating as well. There is evidence of renovations, but there is a long way to go. Carpets are dirty and baths, although clean, are totally outdated. It is definitely an affordable place to stay in very expensive Carmel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    49
    35
    13
    18
See reviews for
18
72
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madera, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This place was quite cozy and affordable !!! spacious bathroom and tub! comfy beds! hidden away from everything but close to everything at the same time! it was PERFECT the man at the front dest was nice and helpful! so were the house keepers! we will be going back next summer to escape this madera heat! THANK YOU CARMEL RESORT INN!! perfect getaway!

Room Tip: I think any room will be just right! not to many roomas and not to close together!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is a perfect hotel if you are in search of a place where you can just get away from it all. The cabin style accomodation is nice for someone in search for privacy. It is also situated a little off the town centre so you are clearly away from everything. This however could be the downside for some (including me). Carmel by itself is a quaint town and the Carmel resort inn really epitomizes it. There are no street lamps in Carmel so searching for this hotel during the night can be a great challenge. It has no big billboard and its almost pitch black in the area at night. Worse there is no mobile phone signal in this hotel.

We got one of the cabins at the end of the inn. So we were in a fairly quiet place. There was supposed to be a free wifi but unfortunately it doesnt seem to reach our end of the hotel. The rooms were huge in fairness. We even had a small bar fridge and a microwave oven. There was a cozy fireplace and the bed was spacious enough. The TV however was not working and there was no one answering in the reception to fix it at night. The rooms come with a breakfast basket which was nice- simple but filling. They gave us fruits, coffee, yoghurt, a croissant and 2 halves of a blueberry and poppy seed muffin.

I like the hotel but it is just way to remote for me.

Room Tip: rooms near reception get better wifi signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This cabin style accomodation was perfect for our 3 day vacation in Carmel. It fit our budget and our desire to travel with our dog. The room was surprisingly roomy and well-appointed and, while others complained about the heat source being from a gas fireplace, I loved it. Our front desk host, Ricky, couldn't have been nicer or more well-organized. We had called ahead to request a room at the back of the resort in order to be further from street traffic noise and he had exactly what we wanted available when we checked in at 3:00 pm. We also got the refrigerator in our room that we requested (not all the rooms have refrigerators) - and it was the a very quiet one and didn't bother us at night when it turned on.
There were a few issues but the good things about this hotel really outweighed the bad things. When we first went to our room it was not yet made up so we went for a walk and came back. There were two light bulbs out in the bathroom but there was plenty of light and they seem to be short staffed on maids so we didn't complain. The grounds are in need of attention and, while I enjoyed the hot tub I was a little nervous about how frequently it gets maintenance.
The pet fee is reasonable and our well behaved dog had a great time here. No room-next-door noises to make him bark and his own little yard.
I stay at hotels that include breakfast and this one delivers it right to your room - what a wonderful idea! I loved that and I loved the fact that there was so much food we actually had lunch sometimes too!

Room Tip: Important to request the rooms that are away from Carpenter St which can be a little noisy in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Love this place! We were in Carmel for a wedding and all of us stayed here. It was so nice having our own cottages, great twist on a hotel stay. They were priced affordable too. Its close to the highway and grocery store. The gardens are beautiful and there is a nice community area with tables, a stone grill and a fire pit. The customer service was excellent! They were very nice and accomodating and breakfast was brought to the door each morning. I can't say enough good things about this place...we will definately be back!

Room Tip: Rooms with a frig and microwave seem to be a bit larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

A couple of other reviewers have commented that this place was "inexpensive" or "good value." It must cater to a pretty wealthy clientele if they consider $182.50 for a dingy, dark, rundown room "inexpensive." To call this place a resort was totally misleading. There was nothing resorty about it. Besides being dark and dingy, the room, or "cottage," was totally uninviting: the floral carpet clashed harshly with the bedspread. The so-called fireplace was in fact a gas burner, which was the only source of heat in the room. Finally, the motel is in a residential neighborhood, more than a mile from any business or restaurant, and thus not in easy walking distance. The one saving grace was the breakfast, delivered in a basket to the room, consisting of muffins, a croissant, yogurts and canned juice. Coffee was self-service in the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We loved our room at the Carmel Resort Inn because the bed was comfortable and the room was inexpensive. However, customer service was not o.k. We arrived at 11:35 on April 29, 2013 and the guy at the front desk told us to return between 1:00 - 2:00 p.m. When we got back from visiting the beach, we were tired and he said that we may need to wait another hour. About ten minutes later he had a room ready for us. "Mind You". We booked this room in advance. We finally got into the room and it was cute. We had a comfortable queen bed, nice bath tub and facilities, and a fire place. On April 30, 2013 we were not sure if the room came with a breakfast because the guy at the desk did not tell us about it. I had to rely on my cell phone and I looked up the booking and "behold" it came with breakfast. We waited to about 8:30 a.m. and the breakfast was ok delivered in a basket.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Resort Inn

Address: Carpenter Avenue between First & Second, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Carmel Resort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmel Resort Inn is a unique and truly affordable B&B offering a collection of old fashioned "artists" cottages once belonging to individual land owners. Some as old as 100 years, each of these hand crafted cottages have different floor plans and early 1900's construction. It's all part of the original Carmel charm that makes CRI and the village of Carmel-by-the-Sea a charming and yet popular place for visitors from around the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Carmel Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Resort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.