We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in Plain Site” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Harvest Fish Market and Restaurant

Sea Harvest Fish Market and Restaurant
The Crossroads Shopping Village, Carmel, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 151 restaurants in Carmel
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Plain Site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our friends live in Carmel, so they know all the great places to have a delicious meal without the hype and high costs. We had a delicious dinner the other night - Dinners ordered: Their Salmon, Scallops and two Tunas.. Cooked to perfection, delicious sides, fresh bread, great (inexpensive) wine list...
Yes there is a fish market and if you see a piece of fish in the case you'd like - they will cook that for you too.
Only downside for me is that the bathrooms are in the back of the restaurant - a little bit of a walk - but for the quality of the meal.. well worth the little inconvenience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    27
    28
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“More Clams please!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We ate here over July 4th weekend for lunch before shopping on Ocean Avenue. We wanted to stay within budget for lunch and the locals eat here, so we decided to try it. We had the house green salad and the clam chowder. We enjoyed the warm bread and butter. Yummy sourdough. The green salad was delicious with a mixture of lettuces (not just iceberg) and had a tomato wedge a few slices of cucumber with shredded carrots. I had ranch dressing on the side. The chowder broth was excellent and had a good texture with the potato and not too salty. But the clams were minced so small that you could barely see them. The chowder needed bigger chunks of clams and it would've have been a really good clam chowder. My friend also had the clam chowder and agreed, more clams would have been better. They have a fresh fish counter that was in the restaurant and didn't smell bad "fishy." Overall, it was a nice ambience and I would come back to try the other items on the menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good but overpriced and hyped”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Thought I would try a different seafood joint - should've stuck with Vivolos. Their chowdah' and seafood portions are tastier and more plentiful. For the same cost, got twice as much at Vivolo's and it tasted better. For example, got two king prawns at SH vs five at V (same size). The tempura style breading is tastier at Vivolo's than SH. Only plus for SH is that it has wider selection of items to be cooked.to order vs Vivolos.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Well prepared”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Halibut and Swordfish was cooked perfectly and the service was very good. A Halibut dinner and Swordfish dinner plus drinks at $50 for the table is unheard of in this part of California and they certainly deserve their good reputation with locals. It is however a fish market first, restaurant second. So if the odor of abundant fish bothers you...choose and outdoor table. Nothing fancy here...just good fish!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hunter
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Harder and Harder to Find Fresh Seafood...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

These days at reasonable prices even near the coast. So, if you want some at reasonable prices, this is where to go. This is an unpretentious place in a glorified strip mall - everything is glorified in Carmel. The resturant is an add-on to the fish market counter space......even the restrooms are outside the building. While we ate in an otherwise uncrowded seating area, locals came and went ordering fish by the pound from the fishmonger to take home. Like I said, west coast wild salmon and halibut and other more exotic fish species are becoming a rarity even on menus offered in expensive restaurants, so it's becoming a special treat to find a resturant that specializes in it. May the fleet's catch continue to be fruitful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Harvest Fish Market and Restaurant also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Sea Harvest Fish Market and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Harvest Fish Market and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.