We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Tacos

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Island Tacos
173 Crossroads, Carmel, CA 93923
(831) 624-8454
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 152 restaurants in Carmel
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
California Hot Springs, California
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Excellent !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Great food, great service! Staff was amazing... Even the manager made the rounds to confirm everything was ok! Have lunch here... Then go wine tasting!!! Soooo much better than NAPA!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    3
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Old Saybrook, CT
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Grilled mahi burrito”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We love fish tacos since a trip to Hawaii, so we were attracted to this little place tucked away in the Crossroads Shopping Village. While looking at the menu we decided on the grilled Mahi Mahi burritos instead. Great choice. The burrito was huge and tasted great. Prices very reasonable. They also have a salsa bar with mild, med, spicy and hot salsa to add to your tacos or burritos. The staff was friendly and helpful. They have seating both inside and outdoors.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Mahi tacos are very very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is a great stop for cheap quality Mexican style food! Not traditional Mexican but has a fun Hawaii theme and great salsa too. Staff was friendly and food was ready super quick. Worth the stop for sure!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“order the grilled mahi mahi tacos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

A friend told me about this place. He said, "Just order the grilled mahi mahi tacos and you can't go wrong." And he was right.

Every time I come here, I order the grilled mahi mahi tacos, each of which consists of chunks of fish served with an aioli sauce, pico de gallo, cabbage, and lime juice on two fresh corn tortillas. And they are consistently delicious. The veggies are fresh and plentiful. The mahi mahi tastes fresh. The tortillas are fresh. The sauce is terrific.

Last time we went, which was at the end of December 2011, two tacos filled me up. My son took three tacos.

The side salsas here are nice, but the tacos don't need them. If you must have salsa, I recommend the green sauce and the mild red sauce.

Five tacos, including tax, cost $24. For a tasty, nutritious, and filling meal for two in Carmel, that's a great deal. Service is always friendly and relatively quick. Atmosphere is tropical surfer, colorful and pleasant.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Tacos also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Island Tacos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Tacos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.