We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twenty years of staying at the Vagabond House Inn and still enchanted and pleased.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond's House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Vagabond's House Inn to your Saves list
Vagabond's House Inn
Dolores St & 4th Ave, P.O. Box 2747, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Twenty years of staying at the Vagabond House Inn and still enchanted and pleased.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

My husband and I just completed our 20th annual Carmel vacation and we couldn't have had a more perfect stay. During the past 20 years we have stayed at the Vagabond House 15 times. We have tried other inns and hotels but none compare to our special place, the Vagabond House. From the moment we arrived we were met by the friendly innkeeper, Thomas. He gave us a warm welcome and was available to meet our every need with a smile. We have stayed in several rooms and they are all lovely. We love the cozy fireplace but one of my favorite extras is the sound of the running water outside my window. There is nothing better than having my window open and being able to fall asleep listening to the sound of the water. It is so relaxing. We also love the wine and cheese happy hour. We find it so interesting to meet and mingle with the other guests. Having a nice fire in the office area adds to the already warm atmosphere. We highly recommend the inn to anyone who is looking for a perfect place to stay. If you need anything at all Thomas will be there to fulfill your every need. Go and enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    67
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
47
235
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

My wife and I fell in love with this hotel. You can really tell that they put a lot of effort into keeping their guests happy and maintaining the property.
When we checked in; we were greeted with wine and cheese, given a tour of the room by the manager and placed our breakfast order for the following morning.
The room was very different from a typical hotel room. Had nice wood flooring, a window-bed, and glass jugs with complmentary water and sherry.

The stay was very pleasant and would stay here again!!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Not only is this place beautiful and cozy down to every last detail, but the staff, headed by the inn's manager, provides nothing short of exquisite hospitality with personable attentiveness and no pretension whatsoever. Every special request was graciously provided for and you get the feeling that the Vagabond House Inn is the last of a dying breed of hospitality providers. We were delighted to have found this gem of a place and couldn't be happier with our recent stay and everything that was done to make it such a memorable and pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

My husband and I came here from New York City to get a breath of fresh air and this is exactly what we got. This timeless inn welcomed us just the way we hoped to be and some. The detail in the rooms was something from a novel. Adorable and highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Where to begin?

My partner, my dog and I took a long overdue trip to Carmel, specifically to check out some hotels we had been told about, and to reacquaint ourselves with this magical, one of a kind place.

The Vagabond is a beautiful, classically "Carmel" mini-resort and the embodiment of what people love about Carmel.

Its in the heart of the town, meaning you can walk anyplace. Its beautiful without being precious or snobby.

Its friendly -- the people who stay there and the people who work there are all happy to be there, and it shows.

The gratis breakfast is lovely and delivered to your room when you want it (gratis is for free-- hello?).

I spoke with other guests and every single one of them was a repeat. In each case this resort was their tradition. People have been coming here for decades.

And our cottage (a few hundred a night) was the stuff of which traditions are made.

I can't say enough about this place, or Carmel. If you haven't been go there. If you go there, Stay at the Vagabond.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

We were married in the courtyard 16 years ago and just celebrated our anniversary at The Vagabond's House for the 15th time. I didn't think it could get any better than what we return for all these years but it just did! We always enjoy the little things we can't find elsewhere (real fireplaces, real kitchens, real breakfast and the wonderfully interesting clientele of artists and fellow travelers). Lots of beautiful updates this year and an obvious change in management. The best massage ever in the new spa, in room orchids and fruit baskets, tray service, the best dinner reservations....Thomas is proof that true customer service is still alive! If you're lucky you can visit while an artist reception happens in the courtyard, complete with Thomas' unbelievable hors d'oeuvres..

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

We stayed at the Vagabond's House Inn in Carmel and were thrilled with the service, the amazing food - and the fact they bring the food to your room in the morning. Rich, dark-roast coffee, homemade pastries, soft-boiled eggs, fruit, yogurt, etc. The wine and cheese during Happy Hour.. the thoughtful hosts, beautiful grounds.

Vagabond's House is a historic inn for writers and artists. As a writer of books and TV shows, I was inspired by this place. I felt a special magic here

Gorgeous twinkly lights, waterfall, wonderful people. Our suite had a large eat-in kitchen, great bathroom, fireplace (!!) and huge King bed with another bed.

The Inn is just a block away from all the shops and art galleries. And great walk to Pebble Beach.

Love the manager Thomas. He's fantastic!

Love, love, LOVE this place. Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 450 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#4 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.3 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#6 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carmel Country Inn
Carmel Country Inn
#2 of 28 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond's House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond's House Inn

Address: Dolores St & 4th Ave, P.O. Box 2747, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming English Tudor-style Bed & Breakfast Inn situated in the heart of Carmel Village, 8 blocks from beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vagabond's House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond`s House Hotel Carmel
Vagabonds Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond's House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.