We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond's House Inn

Save Saved
You added Vagabond's House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vagabond's House Inn
Dolores St & 4th Ave, P.O. Box 2747, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Call 831.624.7738
Ranked #3 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
Scotland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Really nothing to complain about this place. Everything is done well and as everybody says the reality matches the photos. It is very pet friendly and we did miss our dog who was at home on the other side of the Atlantic when we met all the other dogs at the wine reception in the afternoon. Not too sure about the breakfast being delivered form your order which you do when you arrive as I changed my mind but as they don't have any space for anything else that's ok. Lovely fire in our room. Recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    56
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
43
183
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This was our second stay at the Vagabond's House Inn. We were there two years ago, and the
room was very nice and comfortable.The room we stayed in this time however,(#9), was amazing.
It had been totally remodeled with a Carrera Marble shower and heated bathroom floors.
It had double vanities with all the amenities you would expect at a five star hotel.
The bed was great and the fireplace was an added bonus. We also thought the breakfast
delivered to the room each morning (you fill out your preferences the night before) was
wonderful. Can't say enough nice things about this place. Great staff and location. The pictures
don't do it justice!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with one of the remodeled rooms, but honestly, they are all extremely nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My wife and I spent a weekend at the Vagabond's House Inn for our wedding. The service is incredible, the people are extremely friendly, and the property is wonderful. The room was nice, very spacious, and had everything we needed. The wine and cheese in the evenings was a nice touch, and the front desk recommended several excellent restaurants and made reservations for us. Absolutely perfect weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife and I spent two days at the Vagabond House during our early October honeymoon. The second we walked into the courtyard area, we knew we picked the perfect place. It looks exactly like the pictures you've seen here on tripadvisor. Impeccable and serene stonework, gardening, and water features. It's like they took a snapshot of a peaceful dream and brought it to life. The room we stayed in was equally impressive. A mix of cozy and comfortable, peaceful and functional. The breakfast that we had each morning was simple and delicious. And the innkeeper, Thomas, was a kind and knowledgeable host. He was an ideal compliment to this inn.

We can't wait for a return visit to the Vagabond. It was the bee's knees.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel is very nice and clean. The staff is very friendly.
The room had a fireplace and it is very romantic.
The bed linen and towels were the best I had in my trip!!!
It is pet friendly.
I recomend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Vagabond's House Inn is located in the charming village of Carmel-by-the-Sea on California's Central Coast and is just a few blocks from Carmel Beach but within easy walking distance of all the shops & restaurants in the village. Top notch accommodations, location & service plus a delivered to your room breakfast each morning.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 10, which is an upper room which had very recently been updated and was extremely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Just returned from our annual R&R trip to our favorite spot, The Vagabond Inn, in beautiful Carmel By The Sea. At check-in we were warmly greeted by Randall who went above and beyond to provide us with the best service for a successful stay. The Inn has thirteen delightful rooms and we have stayed in many of them but our favorite is room three. It provides a lovely view of the enchanting courtyard as well as the sounds of the soothing waterfall. The fireplace gives us coziness we can't experience in Houston. We especially enjoy the Happy Hour with wine and cheese from 4 to 6 daily, It gives us a great opportunity to chat with other guests. Thomas and Randall, the greatest innkeepers ever, are knowledgable, warm,friendly and able to fulfill almost any request. We have been staying at The Vagabond Inn for over 20 years. After Thomas and Randall took over as innkeepers we saw a great improvements in all aspects of management. We had a wonderful 11 night stay and look forward to booking our room for next year.

Room Tip: I did this in my comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vagabond's House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond's House Inn

Address: Dolores St & 4th Ave, P.O. Box 2747, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming English Tudor-style Bed & Breakfast Inn situated in the heart of Carmel Village, 8 blocks from beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Vagabond's House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond`s House Hotel Carmel
Vagabonds Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond's House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.