We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond's House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Vagabond's House Inn to your Saves list
Vagabond's House Inn
Dolores St & 4th Ave, P.O. Box 2747, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
Olney, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Picture Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife and I spent two days at the Vagabond House during our early October honeymoon. The second we walked into the courtyard area, we knew we picked the perfect place. It looks exactly like the pictures you've seen here on tripadvisor. Impeccable and serene stonework, gardening, and water features. It's like they took a snapshot of a peaceful dream and brought it to life. The room we stayed in was equally impressive. A mix of cozy and comfortable, peaceful and functional. The breakfast that we had each morning was simple and delicious. And the innkeeper, Thomas, was a kind and knowledgeable host. He was an ideal compliment to this inn.

We can't wait for a return visit to the Vagabond. It was the bee's knees.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    63
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
45
209
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel is very nice and clean. The staff is very friendly.
The room had a fireplace and it is very romantic.
The bed linen and towels were the best I had in my trip!!!
It is pet friendly.
I recomend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Vagabond's House Inn is located in the charming village of Carmel-by-the-Sea on California's Central Coast and is just a few blocks from Carmel Beach but within easy walking distance of all the shops & restaurants in the village. Top notch accommodations, location & service plus a delivered to your room breakfast each morning.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 10, which is an upper room which had very recently been updated and was extremely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Just returned from our annual R&R trip to our favorite spot, The Vagabond Inn, in beautiful Carmel By The Sea. At check-in we were warmly greeted by Randall who went above and beyond to provide us with the best service for a successful stay. The Inn has thirteen delightful rooms and we have stayed in many of them but our favorite is room three. It provides a lovely view of the enchanting courtyard as well as the sounds of the soothing waterfall. The fireplace gives us coziness we can't experience in Houston. We especially enjoy the Happy Hour with wine and cheese from 4 to 6 daily, It gives us a great opportunity to chat with other guests. Thomas and Randall, the greatest innkeepers ever, are knowledgable, warm,friendly and able to fulfill almost any request. We have been staying at The Vagabond Inn for over 20 years. After Thomas and Randall took over as innkeepers we saw a great improvements in all aspects of management. We had a wonderful 11 night stay and look forward to booking our room for next year.

Room Tip: I did this in my comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed one night at the Vagabond Inn on our way down Highway 1 to Los Angeles. It was great and I cannot praise the staff enough for their willingness and charm to make our stay delightful. They were a wealth of information and helped us with a dinner reservation and even suggested a great cafe to stop at on our way down the coast the nest day. In regard to the room it was huge with a comfy bed and a large sitting area, small kitchen and bathroom - you could have stayed for a week and been very comfortable. The small touches like a bowl of fruit in the kitchen and sherry in the sitting room make such a difference when you are travelling. The inn is decorated with care to create an atmosphere of comfort - we felt very welcomed and relaxed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the property away from the road if slight road noise disturbs your sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

It's difficult to try to capture the uniqueness of this property. It is in perfect harmony with Carmel, different, beautiful, relaxed, quirky, romantic, comfortable

Staff are very helpful and their recommendations for restaurants were accurate the location is excellent for exploring Carmel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Very comfortable and charming, convenient to everyplace. The "and breakfast" part is sort of lacking, if you have stayed at places which offer a full breakfast. Here, it's a boiled egg, a piece of toast, some packaged butter and jam. That's it entirely. They have no business charging for that when other places offer sumptuous breakfasts. That was our only disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondsCarmel, Owner at Vagabond's House Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you kindly for your mostly positive review. I will take this opportunity to clarify details about our included breakfast. Guests specify what time they would like their breakfast delivered. Breakfast is always delivered to the room for "breakfast in bed". Our breakfast is considered to be expanded continental as it has been for 70 years. We update to the best options available within our menu and add items that are often requested. I am including below the items available to guests. Guests are asked to select the items they would like and are not restricted to the amount they may order.

Fruit: a mix of fresh cut fruit and berries each day
Juice: orange, tomato, apple
Hot Beverages: coffee, decaf, hot cocoa, hot tea (earl grey, english breakfast, green, herbal)
With 1/2 & 1/2, 2% or soy
Cereals: Granola, Special K, Grape nuts
Milk and Yoghurt for cereal: 2%, skim, soy, strawberry, peach, vanilla, plain greek
Eggs: hard boiled or soft boiled to order
Bread: Pastry, Bagel, Whole Wheat Toast

Pastries are fresh baked in house each morning.
Jam is prepared weekly in house from local organic berries
Each mornings fruit is obtained as locally as possible and prepared in our kitchen.
Juice is Odwalla
Eggs are silk textured local free range from Bob at the MPC Farmer's Market
Breakfast trays are delivered with all items served on china and glassware, not prepackaged and no plastics
We offer UDI's when gluten free is requested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vagabond's House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond's House Inn

Address: Dolores St & 4th Ave, P.O. Box 2747, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming English Tudor-style Bed & Breakfast Inn situated in the heart of Carmel Village, 8 blocks from beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Vagabond's House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond`s House Hotel Carmel
Vagabonds Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond's House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.