We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great girl trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond's House Inn

Save Saved
You added Vagabond's House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vagabond's House Inn
Dolores St & 4th Ave, P.O. Box 2747, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 29 Carmel B&B and Inns
Weatherford, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great girl trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My daughter, grand daughter (5 years old) and I stayed here for 5 days and had a truly delightful visit. It was our third time to Carmel by the Sea, but our first time to stay at Vagabond's House Inn. The location was very quiet and convenient, just off Ocean, but close enough to walk to shopping, restaurants, etc. The courtyard was lovely - we especially enjoyed the sound of the fountain at night. Breakfast was delicious and delivered on time each morning. The staff was very knowledgeable and friendly - the wine and cheese hour was fun and sherry in the room was a nice touch. My grand daughter loved having her own little nook and window just her size! We will definitely recommend to friends and plan to return next summer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    57
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
43
188
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I, together with our 14 year old daughter stayed here for one night in June 2103 and loved it! We booked Room 5 which has a super comfortable king-bed and a cozy single-bed tugged away in a corner (complete with a curtain between the 2 for privacy). We selected our room based on the pictures and description on their website and weren’t disappointed at all. It was a very pleasant room with lots of character and lovely little touches to make it feel like someone’s home. I loved the fireplace and had it lit the whole time we were there although it wasn’t that cold :). The sound of splashing water from the fountain/“waterfall” just outside our room didn’t bother us- in fact we found it rather therapeutic and comforting.

The staff/management was very helpful and upon hearing that we would be setting off very early the next morning, suggested that a simple breakfast be brought to our room and kept in the fridge the night before (as breakfast wouldn’t be served until about 8.30am). When we returned to our room after dinner, we found that bagels, cream cheese, hard boiled eggs, cereals, juices and yoghurt had been delivered to our room. Nice!

Carmel is a lovely little town and Vagabond’s House Inn is well situated and convenient. The only sad part for us was that we arrived very late in the day and had to set off early the next and didn’t get to enjoy the inn/room fully. I would definitely love to come back and stay for a few days next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Awesome rooms, very clean, charming personnel, perfect for a romantic getaway, also ok with small children (there is a little kitchen). Vagabond's House is quiet but still within walking distance to all winetasting bars, galleries and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

From the moment we arrived in the charming courtyard to the friendly check in we knew we had made a good choice to stay here, but when we got to our room we were really blown away by how nice it was. As the old Buick ads used to say "This isn't your father's Vagabond House!" We were in room #10 which had just undergone a complete renovation. The room is farmhouse modern with great touches like a wood-burning fireplace, heated bathroom floors, USB plugs for your devices, an amazing shower head that plays music streamed from your phone, a smart TV with free Netflix movies and the most beautiful tub I've ever seen! The bed was super luxurious with great sheets that somehow managed to be soft and cushy and firm at the same time. Breakfast is brought to your room and it was delicious - yummy croissant with house-made jam, granola and yogurt, OJ, a perfectly cooked soft boiled egg and good coffee. We also enjoyed the evening wine and cheese in the lobby. On our next visit to Carmel we will definitely come back to Vagabond House!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the new renovated rooms - they're amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed in room 7 on the second floor and enjoyed the view of the tree tops from the window. It is notmone of the newly remodeled rooms, but very lovely with an antique dresser and desk. The bed was extremely comfortable and we liked the fact that breakfast was delivered to the room (my boyfriend dislikes communal breakfasts). The location was very convenient and parking was easy. We also enjoyed wine and cheese in the late afternoon and sitting in the beautiful courtyard. Our room had a gas fireplace which we used because it was a little cool the first 2 days we were there. The coffe maker and fridge in the room and the robes were a nice touch. Overall we had a great experience in a very relaxing environment.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The Vagabond's House Inn is a neat place. The hotel is a series of small buildings that surround a courtyard that is outside.

The room we ended up in was #3 and it includes a small kitchen (we didn't use it because we prefer to eat at local restaurants when we travel) and a wood burning fireplace - a nice touch which we enjoyed. This was an upgrade given to us due to renovations and availability. The rooms were clean and neat and the furniture was nice. The owners had just finished replacing the beds so they were nice and very comfortable.

Stays include a delivered-to-the-room breakfast but we ended up just going out to a local coffee shop because we wanted to get an early start on our day. If you want to take advantage of the included breakfast, you need to place an order card and specify a time - the earliest option was 08:30, I think.

This hotel is located right in town so you can easily walk everywhere you'd want to go. It is also easy to get to the 17-Mile Drive entrance from there.

Overall, this hotel was well kept and clean. The owners were nice and helpful and you can tell that they take great pride with this Inn.

Regarding value - given the room upgrade and the going rates in the Carmel area, I would say that the value is very good. To give it a more accurate assessment, I would need to see the room we actually booked and compare it to the rate that we paid.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any 'bad' rooms - just choose one that has the space and ameniti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We booked room 5 three months in advance. We chose this room because we wanted something large, on the ground floor, since we were traveling with two dogs. One was a 4 month old puppy who had to go out frequently. So we didn't want to deal with stairs.

When we arrived, we were told we were in room 7, due to some construction not finishing on time. The manager said we were sent an email informing us of the room change, but we never got it. It would have been better if they phoned us. Room 7 is on the 2nd floor, and was not acceptable to us. After some discussion with the manager, we were moved to room 5A, which was on the first floor, although smaller (but also cheapter) than roon 5.

In order to compensate us for our trouble, they comped us one night's stay, and cancelled the extra charge for the dogs. We thought that was fair.

Once we got over the check-in problems, we loved our room and the Inn. I liked that breakfast was brought to the room; that made it much easier to eat with dogs. The location is great; in a quiet neighborhood, but still just a couple of blocks from the main part of town.

One complaint about the breakfast: the earliest it was served was 8:30AM. This was a problem for me since I had an 8AM appointment in Carmel. I solved it by ordering a late breakfast and eating it after my meeting.

Although there were lots of dogs staying at the inn, all were quiet and well behaved.

In spite of the issues mentioned above, I liked the inn, and would definately return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vagabond's House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond's House Inn

Address: Dolores St & 4th Ave, P.O. Box 2747, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming English Tudor-style Bed & Breakfast Inn situated in the heart of Carmel Village, 8 blocks from beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Vagabond's House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond`s House Hotel Carmel
Vagabonds Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond's House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.